We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Bug Alert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Florida Beach Hotels
Ranked #99 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Was an okay stay, enjoyed the close distance to the beach and pool. Across the street access to the supermarket, CVS, liquor store and cheap restaurants were a bonus. I did not appreciate sleeping with a huge water bug in my room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

My family stayed there for 1 week. The entire hotel from the lobby to the rooms do not look anything like you see on the website.There was an odd smell when you enter into the lobby to check in (that should have told me something).The bedrooms looked nothing like what you seen on the website, all we saw were dirty carpet, roaches and ants. We were told that the roaches and ants were seasonal!!!! No towels in the room we had to go to housekeeping to get them.The mini fridge was filthy and needed to be defrosted. Only had 20 channels to watch on tv.many of the channels showed info commercials and how to use your direct tv remote.we had to go to sports bar to watch Sunday night (nbc) and Monday night football (espn). My husband and brother in law were not pleased. There was no restaurant attached to the hotel as seen on the website, and you definitely did not want to eat at the poolside. did not look as if they clean the grill there.You had to go to the 5th floor to get ice from the ice machine. My sister in law's room got flooded and she had to change rooms where the water temp in the shower could not be adjusted. We had to get our room keys rekeyed alomost daily to egt into our rooms. We were also told that the hotel was used by HOOKERS!!!!!. Will not recommend that anyone stay here!!!!!!!!!! the only thing about this the hotel is located on the beach otherwise for what they charge it is not worth the money!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Its a really nice place that's going through construction and of course it going to be nicer. I really like it, it's not the newest place but it's got a nice pool, location and service!! I would stay here again anytime if I was in the area. Great staff that were helpful! Room was clean, nothing fancy but unbeatable for the price! Free North American phone calls from my room! Wish I know before hand!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Took my wife here. Big mistake! I wanted to surprise her, but the surprise was on me. It was not as their website described it at all. First off, all the ice machines where down but one. We had to walk to their other hotel, and go to the fifth floor to get ice. There was very little toilet paper and no Kleenex in the room. The front door was extremely hard to open and close. The shower squirted water all over the bathroom floor when we took our shower. The website claimed to have coffee pots in the room. There was none. When I asked where the coffee was in the morning they said the new owners had removed all the coffee pots in both buildings. The restaurant was closed too. Went to the pool and it was full of beach sand. Do yourself a favor and do not stay here. It is the pits. I was very embarrassed to have taken my wife to such a dump!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigEater24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed a this hotel for a weekend, it is not expensive but for the room's condition it must be cheaper, there is an unpleasant odor throughout the hotel in both buildings, the room is very old, need repair, the mini fridge was dirty and did not close by the frost, the bathtub was clogged we had to wait almost 2 hour to take a shower because although the maintenance person came quickly it was very clogged.
The staff is very nice and professional, and the place is formidable, that's only the good things of this hotel, it is only steps from the beach, and the beach is wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 000Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel for 8 nights in June 2011 and had mixed feelings about the place.

Mostly the personnel on the hotel were very nice and courteus, especially the young guy at the reception and the older gentleman at the consierge desk (sorry, don't remember your names).

The hotel is just about perfectly situated, right at the beach and along the A1A, so you can just step to the beach from the hotel pool/terrace. If you want to go further, you can drive easily anywhere in greater Miami area, all the highways and main roads are easily eccessibble from the A1A. Also the shops and restaurants of Commercial Blvd are only a short walk (or drive) away. Oh, and the hotel also has free parking for guests right next to the buildings!

Now the pros and cons:

+ Most rooms are renovated (ours was), just like the one in the pic in hotel's website
- the renovation has been made low costs in mind and it shows in some places

+ The room was cleaned every day
- the cleaning mostly consisted of quick vacuuming and refilling toilet papers. Once they forgot to give us new towels after taking the old. The cleaning lady we mostly saw didn't speak very good english, but we were able to communicate.
- The shower in our room didn't always work well and the bathtub was almost clogged.

+ Free WiFi
- That didn't work occasionally (with Galaxy Tab anyway)

+ Nice pool
+ Bar at the pool area
+ THE BEACH!!

- No on-site restaurant, no breakfast
+ Local mall just on the other side of the road. Publix, Subway, Pharmacy, cafeterias etc. You can get breakfast (or supplies) there.

In short I could say, fi you're looking for an affordable hotel on the beach, this might be your place. Keep in mind, this is not a 5 star hotel, it's a 3 star hotel, nothing more. But the locations is superb and all the necessities are in order. We had a few ants and other little critters in our room, but nothing too annoying. Beds were clean and bug-free and AC worked fine, as did the TV.

Room Tip: Main building is propably quieter, beach building is next to the Tiki bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjn000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

was two connected hotels, we stayed at one on the beach, neither ice machine worked
key to room didn't work, had to go back twice before they gave us another room. said
it was smoke free, our floor wreaked of cigarette smoke. we only showered, we would
not take a bath due to rust from neglect. had to walk 3/4 mile for dinner every night.
sheets were changed everyday, nothing was cleaned or vacuumed. the pool was dirty
food was spilled in elevator, it was left for twodays beforeit was swept. no lock on
balcony doors, NO COFFEE MAKER IN ROOM AS ADVERTISED or anywhere on the
hotel premises. spent at least 10.00 a day on coffee. half of dresser was locked, we
were told it used to be bar lock up. help at desk was slow as sh't.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patb5010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#42 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
228 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
4,175 reviews
Universal Palms Hotel
#107 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#24 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,193 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
2,085 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#34 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Beach Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Beach Hotels

Address: 4660 N Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Lauderdale Beachside Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £65 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florida Beach Hotels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Florida Beach Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale Beachside Resort
Clarion Fort Lauderdale
Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing