We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cockroaches!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Florida Beach Hotels
Ranked #99 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights but woke up the 3rd night to use the bathroom and saw several cockroaches in the bathroom, at that moment I packed as fast as possible and checked out right away! The location was great, the staff was friendly but when I told the front desk guy about the roaches he didn't even seem surprised, I got stuck in the elevator my first night there and the lady working said that several other people had gotten stuck that day alone but it had happened a lot lately. While being stuck in the elevator there was several bugs that I don't know what they were in their mating it was hot and disgusting. The room itself wasn't cleaned very well spills on the wall not wiped down, sticky floors, there was a section of carpet that was cut out and just sitting in place, electrical covers hanging off the wall, broken sliding glass door the locks were broken, rust all around the room and there was a bad mildew smell in the room when we walked in so we went to the store to get candles which helped a lot. The roaches really freaked me out though. This place has a great location to be a great place with a lot of improvement. It rained when we was there so the lobby ceiling was leaking and a garbage can to catch the water. Housekeeping walked in on us in the morning when we were sleeping so I suggest using the inside security lock.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize for your issues that you have encountered and I want you to be sure that they are taken seriously. We will work to see that if you were to come back we can offer you a much better accomodation.

Have A Wonderful Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

:
This was our 4th time staying at this hotel. One of the main reasons why we stay here is because of their fabulous location. Despite some minor issues (things missing in our room) we enjoyed our stay once again. The front desk staff especially Misty and Cheyenne were very friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay and we enjoyed the pool and beach. We also noticed the newly renovated tiki bar.

This hotel is also a very unique hotel. This is one of the only hotels that has 2 buildings, 5 floors and a spacious pool area and pool in the area. All the other hotels on the beach are only 2 floors and generally have a smaller pool area and pool. Plus, the high rise hotels that are further have busy streets between the hotel and the beach but this hotel has a quiet street with joggers (El Mar Drive).

That is why we have returned to this hotel. We believe that it is very unique, has a nice location and would really deserve a renovation! This place has potential period!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room as they are starting renovations soon. Rooms ending in 22, 23, 24 & 25...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italiano56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again at Lauderdale Beachside Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again and again to create more memories with us.

Have A Nice Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this location for four nights which we were given a hotel room facing the street and would not exchange. We ended up getting a flight in early which they said it would be a $30 charge to get into the room early, even with a four night stay! We got to the room and it was NOT clean, there were Q-tips on the floor and the floors were still dirty. The hotel lobby was leaking and actually had garbage cans to catch the water! The elevator did NOT work and the maintenance man stated it has been broke for THREE years! I would have to say this is one of the WORST hotels I have EVER stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing a response on Trip Advisor. I want to apologize for the issues you have come across and we will work to help make them better. Hopefully, you may come stay with us again to have a better experience.

Have A Wonderful Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in the beach building but did not have a view of the ocean. No balcony, the mattresses were so old they caved in, marks on the walls, broken lampshade, the A/C unit in the room was so loud it woke me up often, rust on the bathroom door, popcorn ceiling, it was 100 degrees in the hallway, the elevator seemed to be extremely old and barely working but taking the stairs was a disgusting experience (I didn't want to touch the hand rail), several rooms on our floor had a taped sign stating it had been condemed by the city, the fire alarm went off two nights in a row in the middle of the night but nobody who worked there seemed to be aware of it so it took forever for them to turn it off, overflowing trash cans in the pool/ bar area every morning, really old tube TV with horrible reception, no chanel guide even... Basically it is depressing having to be in the room and the in the building. The location is great, however. Is right on the beach and across the street from Publix grocery store, close to many places to eat and shop. When we checked out we expressed how BAD the room was and were told that the building is set to be taken down next year. If you can get this room for around $25 a night it might be okay, any more than that you should keep looking.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieC691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and maybe you can return to stay with us sometime in the future to have a better time.

Have A Wonderful Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Check-in time is at 3:00pm., and when we got there it was about 6:00pm. Our check-in was very smooth, however, the front desk staff was not very friendly. The woman that checked us in barely made eye contact with us and was very short when we asked questions. We had a two full bed hotel room that looked fairly decent but a bit rundown with cockroaches. We were on the fifth floor with a great view of the Atlantic Ocean, so overall we were pretty satisfied with our room but the big downfall was the cockroaches, microwave not working and that the elevator by our room was out of service, nor did anyone seem to care about those issues. We also wanted the ocean view room so we had to pay an additional $22.00 for the two nights we were there. Not the worst hotel but not sure if we'll ever return....

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aleopard_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing a review on Trip Advisor. It is nice to hear you thought that your stay went fairly well and I want to assure you that the issues you did mention are definitely cared about. We hope to see you again in the future for another trip.

Have A Nice Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I liked this place a lot. It's not the Taj Mahal, but the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and cheerful.
Summer and her people at the newly opened Tiki bar were a lot of fun.
Also, my room was directly on the beach for less than $200. An unbelievable deal as far as I'm concerned !!
All and all I'll definitely stay there again !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Kenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and Tiki Bar. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Have A Wonderful Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed again for a month at this hotel last November and requested the same room facing the sea and stepping right on the beach. The location is unique. Just open the sliding doors and take a dip.
I hope the hotel reinstates the morning breakfast.
Staff are as usual charming (Felicia at the front desk is a star) and there has been considerable improvement in housekeeping.
Forget the rest.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frenchteddywww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, General Manager at Florida Beach Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We appreciate all the kind things you have had to say and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Have A Wonderful Day

Andrew Sampat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
218 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,094 reviews
Royal Beach Palace
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
847 reviews
Universal Palms Hotel
#104 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,425 reviews
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Beach Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Beach Hotels

Address: 4660 N Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-3620 (Formerly Lauderdale Beachside Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £65 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florida Beach Hotels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Florida Beach Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale Beachside Resort
Clarion Fort Lauderdale
Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing