We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Ranked #52 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad place to stay”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

the staff geat, elevator slower than slow, sheets on the bed had sex stains from previous guest, shuttle service way over booked on busy days, a taxi was faster and a couple of dollars more. seemed to be some issues between house keeping and management. was not a happy place.

Room Tip: choose your hotel carefully this one is not the greatest place in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Your review troubled me and I would first of all like to apologize for the problems you had. I have, of course, passed your review along to our Manager and to our Housekeeping Manager so that they can look into both the sheet situation and the perception you had regarding the "issues" . I have a feeling you were here on a weekend when the hotel was full of people going on cruises. There must have been a lot of people and a lot of luggage on the elevators at check-out time. The transportation company does the very best they can to transport everyone to and from the Port and the airport in a timely manner. I am glad you enjoyed our staff. As I've said before on Trip Advisor, we take great pride in our staff. I do hope you will give us another chance.

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    360
    170
    70
    68
See reviews for
308
394
64
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Das Comfort Suites Hotel ist fuer einen Kurzaufenthalt durchaus empfehlenswert. Sonderraten fuer Mitarbeiter aus Reisebueros und mit AAA bzw. ADAC Karte erhaeltlich. Wenn moeglich lasst Euch ein Zimmer mit Blickrichtung zum Hafen geben. Fenster koennen geoeffnet werden. Wenn es nicht zu warm ist kann man dann beim Schlafen auf die Klimaanlage verzichten. Kostenfreier Shuttle zum Hafen und zum Flughafen. Ebenso ist Fruestueck inklusive. In fusslaufiger Entfernung eine kleine Shoppingmall (hinter dem Embassy Suites Hotel) mit Restaurants und netten Geschaeften.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaPrincess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
I apologize for not responding in German but hope you can read this. Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. You're correct - we have a great location and we also offer travel agent rates an AAA and ADAC discounts. I'm glad you had a chance to experience our hotel. Please come back and send your clients as well.

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I selected this hotel because it was close to shops, restaurants and the Airport.

Turned out to be a great choice - very friendly check in staff couldn't have been more helpful.

The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Add in free WIFI, computer for guests, free breakfast, free shuttle bus to the Airport and you're on a winner.

Terrific value stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBugged2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thanks, Travelbugged - in just a few words you were able to give us a great review and cover all the highlights of our hotel. It is very much appreciated. Come back to visit soon.

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We arrived very early, 7:30 am, the day before our cruise was to leave Ft. Launderdale. We had flown in from San Francisco on a red eye. Karina Morales, front desk, found an available room for us. After a delicious hot breakfast, we trundled upstairs to a newly remodeled room. Great reccommendations for walking distance restaurants, another luscious breakfast and seamless shuttle service to the cruise port the next day.
On our return, we were offered a free upgrade to a premium room; very nice.
All of the staff was excellent but Karina Morales made our stay extra special. She was kind, knowledgeable, patient and positive.
This is a basic hotel conveniently located to the cruise port and airport with very reasonable rates for rooms and shuttle service. We loved that we could turn off the a/c and breathe fresh air from our window. This is not a resort or shopping location, Just a nice, clean, well located hotel for cruise travelers.
The only negative I had was the color scheme: lime green, torquoise and brown. Rather than being relaxing, it was vibrating! Also, the glue and paint smell was bothersome. They were finishing up some major renovations.

Room Tip: Due to the recent renovations, I believe all the rooms were good. Request a room facing the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emelie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Your comments about Karina have been relayed to her Manager and to her. I happen to agree with you - she's very special. We're proud of our renovations - which aren't finished yet - but the major work is done. New pillows are a part of what is still to come. I wish you a Happy New Year and hope you'll be back to visit us soon.

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Needing a hotel near the cruise port on Friday, I researched several hotels in the area and found this one to be a relatively decent price. After free transportation from the FLL Airport to the hotel, we checked in and found the property to be a bit dated. The room had a bit of a musty smell to it, perhaps due to the refrigerator leaking. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. In the morning we enjoyed a good breakfast before catching a $5 hotel provided ride to the cruise center.

All in all, it was a safe, decent hotel that is in need of a bit of updating. However, for the price, it was adequate.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_asumtneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thanks for your review. I am wondering if you reported the leaking refrigerator to our Front Desk so that we can have our Maintenance staff look into it. We are renovated - except for the furniture in the rooms and, yes, it is "dated". The new furniture will be arriving in January and it is stunning. I hope you'll come back to see it.
We appreciate your taking the time to write the review.

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcon, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Saw a bunch or reviews for this hotel. I encourage everyone to take the time to call the hotel with any questions if you are unsure about booking a room there. I called Ellen and she told me all about their renovations, etc and I felt comfortable booking 3 rooms.
Arrived at hotel 3 Dec with about 20 other random people on a bus from airport.
1st - Only one person at the counter to check in everyone, waited about 45 minutes. This is ridiculous! I spoke to both the day and night front desk staff and both ladies said that the manager will just not put more people on the front desk. Front desk staff was under extreme pressure answering phone calls about reservations, phone calls from the airport for pickups, and trying to check in a steady flow of people until about 9pm.

2nd - When I finally did check in at 2:45pm only one room was ready and I had to wait until almost 4:30pm to get the other two rooms. They stated that they had a completely booked hotel the night before and a lot of people checked out at the last minute.

3rd - One of two elevators broke Sat night and everyone in the hotel had to wait up to 15-20 to get an elevator to take all their bags down Sun morning

I stood at the front desk and watched at least 5 people complain and they received a 10% DISCOUNT but since I booked rooms with Choice Rewards points, I didn't receive any discount for all the issues.

On the good side, hotel is almost done with renovations, bathrooms are completely new, and new furniture will be coming soon. Rooms I booked were large, clean, and nothing was broken. Sound from main road on 6th and 7th floor was not noticeable as far as i was concerned.

Breakfast was average and nothing to brag about but the staff kept the eating area clean and stocked and were friendly.

If the manager takes the time to take care of the front desk issue I wouldn't have any problem staying here again. Many places to eat and get last minute things are within a 5 minute walk and neighborhood didn't seem to bad at all to me on the several walks I did at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on parking lot side are quieter if you can get one. If you book a room before renovations are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuck t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
Thank you Chuck, for your detailed review. WE HEAR YOU!!! First of all, we have hired additional Front Desk staff and starting on December 9th we now have 2 people at the Front Desk from Thursday to Sunday - our busiest days.
Secondly, on Tuesday and Wednesday of this week we will be doing major upgrade work on both of our elevators.. That will resolve our elevator issues.
The next time you are planning to come here, please call me personally. Remind me about this and I will be happy to do something "special" for you.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do appreciate it.
Happy Holidays,

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain ...... but Scottish
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Really worried on reading some previous reviews but our experience was very good!
Welcoming check-in.
Hallway on top floor freshly decorated in very bright colours but our large room, also freshly decorated was more subdued :-)
Spotlessly clean bathroom and comfortable bed.
Fairly standard complimentary breakfast.
Shuttle to Port everglades worked well for us.
Many restaurants & a 24hr CVS pharmacy nearby.

Room Tip: High floor at front has view over buildings towards cruise terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellenkarin, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review. We appreciate it. You're right - our location is great with so many restaurants close by and having CVS next door is really convenient for last minute purchases before a cruise. I hope you'll come back to stay before your next cruise out of Port Everglades.

Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,172 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
475 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn

Property: Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Address: 1800 S Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located near airport, cruise port, convention center, beach and Las Olas. Shuttle to/from Port Everglades at a nominal fee. In-room coffee makers, refrigerators and 42-in. TVs. Free internet access and free parking. Interior corridors with elevators. Handicapped rooms available. Entire hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Comfort Suites Airport And Cruise Port
Comfort Suites Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing