We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel and exceptionally great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Ranked #50 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean hotel and exceptionally great staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with the overall service and friendliness of the staff. Greg assisted us with our checkin. He was very courteous and helpful in handling our accommodations. He did an outstanding job.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cochaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thanks for your nice review of the Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port. We appreciate your noticing the cleanliness of the hotel and our great service. I have passed along your nice comment about Greg to both him and his supervisor. We hope to see you here again soon.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    357
    167
    69
    65
See reviews for
305
391
62
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was in Ft Lauderdale on business when one member of my party became very ill, I was not able to make the correct check out time dealing with getting assistance for my friend. Once I was able to convey my difficulties to a manager, I was not charged for an extra day. I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast, The lady in the breakfast room was extremely helpful. I had a suite that was very nice. The WIFI was very fast, so fast that I stayed up most of the night on the internet. The staff was also helpful in helping me find my way. I did not have a reservation when I arrived after midnight and was pleasantly surprised with my room and the service that I received at that time of night. They were also attentive to my ill associate. I shall return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leslawlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review of the Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port. I am so pleased that our staff was able to help you out and make a difficult situation easier for you. We do have a wonderful, caring staff. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here on business before flying home from FLL the following morning. Very close to airport, shuttle is available I believe (I had a rental). Eagle Rider motorcycle rental is at end of block. Right on a major highway US1 so not particularly scenic, but close to many things. 17th street restaurants were within walking distance. 15th Street Fisheries on the ICW was 1.1 miles away. Neighborhood did not seem at all "sketchy" while out walking (stumbling back from the bar, so I may not have been too observant). One elevator was out and the other had evidence of some "retrofitting" to make it work. It did always work though. Breakfast was only OK. Toaster had also been "modified" to work. No injuries or fire though. I think this would be a very good place to start or end your journey for one night. I would probably look elsewhere for a longer stay. I was only there one day and only used the room and the walking distance convenience to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadBob66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you, Bob, for your recent review of our Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port. You're right, we do have a great location close to a wide variety of shops and restaurants. Also, we are currently installing all new elevators and they do need to take one out of service at a time in order to accomplish this. Thank you for understanding this. I hope you'll come back again so you can enjoy the new and much improved elevators.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

After a horrible experience in Hollywood Beach trying to get a room for the night, I decided to head toward Ft Lauderdale. I pulled in the Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise, and what a welcome I received. The front desk clerk could tell I had a hard day, she had a smile of welcome, a bag
offering of fruit, water, protein bar and offered to do anything to make my stay easier. I got in my room, to a nice cool room, big flat screen tv, microwave and refrigerator. I was only sadden to realize this was for only 1 night. When I left the next morning, everyone had a smile, breakfast was ready and off I went to get in my car, that wouldn't start. Ellen the sales manager and one of the transporters gave me a jump and off I went. I will certainly stay here from now on when I am in the area...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you, Lu, for your nice review of the Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port. I'm so glad Melvin, our Engineer, and I were able to get your car started for you so you could get out and make your sales calls. Thanks for your comments about our wonderful staff, nice rooms and overall enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I wasn't really sure I want to stay at this hotel after reading all the past negative reviews. But the more recent reviews suggests that this hotel did change recently for the better so I took a leap of faith and booked it. And I'm pleased to report that the 5 stars I gave to this hotel is well earned.

Being a gold member of Choice Hotel, I was given a special gift at check in. It includes a bottle of water and some shaving cream. That was a very welcoming gesture so thank you again (1 star here). The front desk clerk was very hospitable and welcoming. She even called me at my room shortly after I checked in to make sure I was happy with the room. That's a big plus for a hotel this size (that deserves 2 stars). I didn't use their pool but did notice that they have one. I used the fitness room and it was very clean and adequate. Clean towels and water was readily available and all machines were working. They advertised that breakfast is available at 7am. When I arrived at the breakfast room at 6:30am, breakfast was served by a very nice lady. She, like the rest of the staff, is very welcoming. Fitness center and breakfast combined for another star. I boarded the shuttle to the airport to pickup a rental car at 7am. The driver was extremely friendly. I felt as if I were in a 4+ star hotel with the wonderful service they offer. (another 1 star)

The room itself is nice. I was expecting it to be a "suite" but it's really not a suite. We had a room with 2 beds and it was adequate. The room was very clean...I checked the sheets for possible bed bugs or other dirt but found none. The bathroom was also very clean and bug free. (1 more star).

Ask for a room that faces the parking lot since the other side faces a main street so possibly can be noisy.

Location is great. It is within walking distance to CVS, Denny's, Taco Bell, and other restaurants in the area.

The only complain I have, and it's shared with most people, is the elevator. One of the elevators is not working so everyone had to wait a long time for the elevator. The trick is to get in the elevator while it is on its way up because it does not make any stops on the way down. We learned that the hard way the first time around. At one time, we had to wait for about 5-7 minutes at the lobby. So, that can really use some improvements. I really should take a star away for this inconvenience but will give them the benefit of the extra star for making such a great come back from what other travelers reported in the past. Kudos to everyone at this hotel for making it a success story. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

BTW, do yourself a favor and do not eat at Southport Raw Bar unless you are looking for some mediocre seafood with terrible service. You can see my review of that restaurant if you check my other reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the parking lot instead of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HipHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you very much for your extremely detailed review of the Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port. We pride ourselves on our service, property features, cleanliness, location and amazing staff. I understand your comments on the elevators. We are currently installing 2 brand new computerized elevators. They have to take one out of service at a time in order to accomplish this major improvement. We hope that operating with 1 elevator isn't too much of an inconvenience to our guests; however, the end result is going to be wondeful. Two brand new elevators. Thank you for your understanding. I hope you'll be back to see and experience the new elevators.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Terrible color schemes in the hallways and the bedrooms. Not inviting. Usual hotel breakfast assortment of unattended bread, toaster, scrambled eggs, and a waffle maker. Many of the clientele seem to be less than the average quality of guests that I would hope for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Wally -
I am extremely disappointed to read your review - especially your comment on the quality of our guests. This is a 3-diamond hotel and we host guests from all over our country and all over the world. We do not screen reservations. Everyone is welcome and everyone is treated with respect. We're very proud of our hotel and our staff and our guests.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My stay was very nice and the room was very clean and comfortable. But, my best experience was during breakfast with JoAnn who works in the contintental breakfast area. I noticed how very kind she was when a customer spilled his coffee on himself and floor. She made him feel better that it;'s ok and told him not to worry that she would clean up and she did it with a "cheerful heart and "spirit". She also helped other customers with whatever theyneeded.

JoAnn is great asesst and an extemelyvaluable contributor to make guests feel good and comfortable at your hotel. She deserves recognition and some type of performance reward.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopealana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S, Director of Sales at Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port. We appreciate your compliments on the "nice and clean" room and especially your comments about Joan in our Breakfast Room. I have posted your comments where everyone can see them and, of course, have share them with her supervisor and our General Manager. You're right - she's terrific....as are all of our staff members. Thank you again and please come back soon.
Ellen Serra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,139 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn

Property: Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Address: 1800 S Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2945 (Formerly Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated hotel located near airport, cruise port, convention center, beach and Las Olas. Free hot buffet breakfast and airport shuttle. Shuttle to/from Port Everglades at a nominal fee. In-room coffee makers, refrigerators and 42-in. TVs. Free internet access and free parking. Interior corridors with elevators. Handicapped rooms available. Entire hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Comfort Suites Airport And Cruise Port
Comfort Suites Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing