We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #20 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel was clean. It is right across the street from the beach. We had an ocean view room which was perfect. We didn't eat at the restaurant onsite. We ate at the restaurants on the strip. We really loved this place called the Rock Bar. We ate there twice in one day. Bubba Gumps was good too. FYI, there is a liquor store up the street and alot of the restaurants/bars on the strip have 2 for 1 deals. Don't spend all of your money at the pool bar. This was our first time in Fort Lauderdale. We're definitely going back next year and staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KianTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2011

We are honored that you chose the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale for your first stay in Fort Lauderdale! It’s always uplifting when a guest shares that they will return for another visit. Next year when you visit, we hope you’ll stop by our Blue Water Restaurant for a delicious meal and great atmosphere. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 1,741 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have stayed at this hotel about 7 times over the past 45 days. I keep coming back because they have the friendliest staff. The best rooms for the price and you are a stones throw from the beach. I don't think any of the rooms have a bad view either.

Every time I have checked in or out the front desk and valet have been spot on and extremely polite. This is my go to hotel in Fort Lauderdale. They have always made me feel special and even when checking in at 4am, I have been greeted with a warm smile and hospitality. This specific Marriot has a leg up on all other hotels around the world when it comes to service. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderLone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had some Marriott rewards points that we thought we would use for a little get-away in Fort Lauderdale. Upon arriving at the hotel we were met by Ian, who was the valet, he greeted us with a warm smile and explained that overnight parking was $28 per day! I guess they figured they would have a nice guy break the bad news to new arrivals to ease the pain. When were were checking in, we asked for a front room with a view of the beach, the nice person checking us in was pecking away at the keys and then walked into the back room. Upon emerging she said "we're booked up and the manager said we don't have any front rooms." I may be wrong, but I would think she found one while she was pecking away at the computer and thought she better ask the manager before she gave it to us as we were not cash paying customers, just point cashers. My reasoning is why would she not have told us before she went into the back office that none were available? I guess being a Marriott Rewards member does not have enough clout to get a room with a great view, we members will have to settle for the rooms with the okay views.....Speaking of rooms, the rooms are mediocre, nothing great and nothing terrible. The bed was pretty good, the A/C worked well, the sink clogged up, the shampoo smelled alright and the room was fairly clean for a well used hotel, the elevators worked well and they had 4 free computers and 2 printers to use, when you could get on. We met the gal that made up our room and she always had a big smile on her face and was very, very pleasant. We had room service one morning and the server was bubbly as she brought in the food which was a great way to start the day. Come to think of it, everybody at the hotel always gave you a smile and said hello, and it seemed sincere; we liked the staff. The mean old manager in the back room that would not give us a front room for our member points was the only person we never got to see. They have a little pool, but who cares being that the beach is 100 yards away. They have a nice outdoor bar and all the servers were great, especially Tony who was very professional.
The location of this hotel is fantastic for those that want to be in the heart of the beach front action. You can walk to everything with ease. The beach is right across the street and there are a dozen or so restaurants and bars within 1000 yards.
If you go down the back steps and make a right, there is a little restaurant called St. Barts, that is great, especially for breakfast. Very reasonable and it seems like all the locals go there.
In conclusion, great location, fantasitc staff, average accomodations and a manager that could have made a good experience a great one......but didn't.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. Please know that our front desk staff does not have the ability to upgrade or overbook any type of a room without approval from a Manager. Marriott Rewards Members are eagerly upgraded when there is availability. We are sorry that when you arrived, we were fully booked for the type of room you requested, but are glad to see that you enjoyed the room you received and that our staff made your stay even more enjoyable. Please don’t hesitate to ask for the Manager at any time if there is problem. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

INTRO:

As a Chase Marriott Platinum card holder, I receive a 1 night award certificate every year. The certificate is good for any Marriott up to a category 5, but it does expire in 6 months if not used. Since I got a 3 day weekend during the Independence Day holiday, I decided to take my dad to an oceanfront hotel. We found that the Courtyard at Ft. Lauderdale Beach was a category 5 hotel, so I immediately called Marriott reservations and booked an Inter-coastal View room with a king bed for 2 nights.

ARRIVING AND CHECKING IN:

The drive to the hotel from Ft. Lauderdale beach can be a bit of a maze. If you traveling northbound, you will cross the A1A drawbridge, then drive beach side to the hotel. From that road, you will see the hotel, but there is no entrance. That is because the entrance is only at Seabreeze Blvd, forcing you to make a U-Turn at Las Olas to reach Seabreeze Blvd. Once you are at Seabreeze Blvd, then you turn left to the hotel. It is much easier if you go Southbound and take the Las Olas drawbridge, which will take you to Seabreeze Blvd and to the hotel.

Once you approach to the hotel, you must valet park as there is no self parking at the hotel. Valet parking is quite expensive at 28 dollars per day. However, they do give you unlimited check-in/check-out privileges. We approached the lobby and gave the agent our reservation information. The agent immediately found our reservations and immediately upgraded us to an Ocean View suite with a king bed and sleeper sofa, which was a very nice gesture. She also answered all of our questions regarding our room and the hotel. Within 5 minutes, we were checked in!

THE ROOM:

We were given room 801, which was near the elevator lobby. Even though it was near the lobby, the room was pretty quiet. The room was quite small for a suite (maybe about 225-250 sq ft.), but it was well kept and had great amenities. There was a king bed with the signature Courtyard Marriott bedding. The king bed very big enough to sleep 2 people comfortably. There were plenty of pillows with a choice of either foam or feather. There were two 32 inch LG LCD televisions (one in the bedroom and one in the living room) which had a good selection of cable channels. There was a small fridge, but no microwave. There was a coffee maker with free Toulouse Coffee. The iron and board are inside the closet. The cabinet inside the bedroom had drawers large enough to fit our clothes. The AC was centralized and controllable with a digital thermostat. We had no issues of the room being too hot or too cold. In the living room was the sleeper sofa with a table next to it, a desk for business work, and some kind of a lounge chair. Missing was an office chair, possibly due to accommodate the bed in the sleeper sofa. Another thing missing was the blankets and bed sheets for the sleeper sofa, but after notifying front desk, a maid quickly gave it to us. The sleeper sofa wasn’t too difficult to convert into the bed; however we did have to move the table and chair to accommodate the bed space. It did feel cramped in the living room with the bed, but the bed was still quite comfortable. Internet via WiFi was free, but we did not take advantage of it. There was no balcony in our room (or any of the rooms), but our floor to ceiling window gave us a nice view of the beach and a partial view of the Inter-coastal Waterway. Plus, the girls would have loved the view of the macho men working out in the outdoor gym next door of the hotel.

The bathroom was clean with the shower on the left, toilet in the center, and the sink on the right. The toiletries included a shampoo, conditioner, lotion, hand soap, and body soap (all from Davies Gates Seeds and Grains Collection). The bath/shower combo provided good water pressure and temperature. Housekeeping did a good job cleaning the room, however they were oblivious with the tip I left them. Overall, a decent 3 star/3 diamond room.

THE LOBBY AND OTHER PUBLIC AREAS:

The lobby was quite nice with 2 levels (lobby and mezzanine). At the lobby level was the main entrance, front desk, and concierge area. The mezzanine level contained the business center, fitness center, Seabreeze restaurant, pool area, and a TV area. There was a small amount of meeting rooms as well. The business center contained 4 computers all with free internet; however, the internet can be slow at times. The fitness center contained various stair climbers, upright and recumbent bikes, treadmills, weights, a yoga mat, and a 75 inch exercise ball. All were quite modern with TVs you could watch while exercising. The fitness center was open 24 hours and free by scanning your room key. Going through the double manual doors led to the pool area. The pool was pretty small, but the beach was only across the street. There was also a giant chess set where the kids and some adults enjoyed playing. Climbing some stairs led to a pool bar that served some drinks and small appetizers. Going downstairs from the pool bar led to A1A sidewalk, containing various restaurants, bars, and shops. The public areas did play some jazz music, which made it feel quite welcoming. Elevators were a little on the older side and can take a while to get when the hotel is crowded. I also noticed that the back doors are kept open during the night, but was told that they lock them from 12AM – 6AM (though those doors can be opened with your room key).

THE STAFF:

Majority of the staff were really helpful and friendly. The valet people were welcoming and friendly when parking and getting our cars. We were able to call them in advance for them to have our cars ready when we reach the lobby, but we had to still wait most of the time (normally 3-5 minutes which wasn’t a big deal). The front desk was also nice and helpful. They gave me some good suggestions for a seafood restaurant when I needed it. There was also a concierge, but she is available only on certain hours (not during the evenings). However, she was very friendly and helpful as well in finding out places to go and stuff to do. Security was present and patrolled the areas. However, one guard who looked like the bystander from the AFLAC commercial acted indifferent when a kid had an issue during the late hours (it looks like the kid dropped some money on the deeper end of the pool and wanted one of the staffs to get it).

THE FOOD:

Breakfast is not free at the Courtyard, thus the first day we ate outside another restaurant. However, I did try their breakfast buffet at the Seabreeze during the second day. The buffet was expensive at 16 dollars per person, but had plentiful food including pastries, fruits, cereals, sausages, hash browns, scrambled eggs, and omelet station. The highlight was the omelet station, which had a chef who would prepare the omelets with any topics you wanted (various vegetables, meats, and cheeses were available). The omelet was pretty good and fluffy as well. Had some apple cinnamon pastry and it was pretty good. The fruits included pineapple, cantaloupe, orange, and grapefruit. All were pretty fresh. The breakfast included coffee and orange juice. Service was pretty prompt and friendly. What was funny though is they have a coffee area at the lobby level which you have to pay for the coffee, however, in the mezzanine level, the coffee is complimentary near the lobby area. I think the difference was the mezzanine level had the standard coffee while the lobby level had some upgraded brand coffee.

There is also a Bubba Gumps downstairs, but we did not eat over there. Instead, we did eat at Coconuts which was across the street. Their seafood is pretty good as well as their cocktail drinks. The wait for Coconuts can be long, thus it is best to make a reservation. Another restaurant we ate for breakfast was Casa Del Mar, which was oceanfront. I had a chicken omelet, which was really good for about 8 dollars. My favorite restaurant was the 15th Street Fisheries, which was 10-15 driving minutes away. From Sunday to Thursday, they offer a 3 course pre-fix menu for 35 dollars…a pretty good value. However, the highlight was the wonderful view of the Inter-coastal Waterway.

THE LOCATION:

The Courtyard is located in between Seabreeze Drive and A1A, which is across the street from the beach. There are various shops, night clubs, and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. During our walk, we encountered some festival going on where vendors were selling their goods near the beach parking lot. We did not actually walk on the beach, but there seemed to be a good crowd during the afternoons and then less during the evenings. It seems to be safe to walk during the night time, but there are the occasional drunks near the night clubs. There is a CVS Pharmacy store within 5 minute walk from the hotel. This is the best place to get your snacks, drinks, and beach items. Plus, there is a Hagan Daz adjacent to that store. 

OVERALL:

The Courtyard Ft. Lauderdale Beach provides a great oceanfront hotel for its value. While it is not as fancy as the main Marriott or Ritz Carlton brand, it provides a great accommodation for the mid scale traveler. While the rooms are in the smaller range, the amenities are plenty. Instead of swimming in the small hotel pool, just walk across the street to the beach. While their breakfast buffet provides great food, there are plenty of cheaper options within walking distance. The service is the typical friendly and helpful Marriott standard. Finally, the abundance of shops, night clubs, and restaurants within walking distance makes it a great location. Highly recommended for the mid scale traveler and families.

To view more photos of the hotel, please visit copy and paste this link:

http://community.webshots.com/album/580553013pcyOMm

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArunKrishnamurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

What an amazingly detailed review! Kudos to you for being so attentive to your surroundings, and for describing it so succinctly. Thank you for taking what certainly was a large amount of time to let us know, and other readers of this review, all the qualities and amenities that the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach and the Fort Lauderdale area have to offer. We will review the door locking schedule and ensure that it is running the correct program. Thank you again for such a tremendously detailed and informative review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed for the weekend of July 9th-10th, they were very nice at the check in and we were able to check in early, the rooms are comfortable and clean and location is very convenient since the beach is across the street.....Now the issue is this hotel is valet only besides the $28.00 overnight charge they bill you on this very weekend the valet team lost my house keys and various other keys which will be costly to replace after going back and forth with what seem to be the manager I got no where so just make sure when you valet strictly give them the car key and keep your house keys with you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirtydsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

We are glad to see that you enjoyed the hotel and its convenient location. Our staff makes it their priority to ensure our guests receive the best in service and hospitality. Unfortunately, we see that your experience with the valet service was not up to our standards and it could have been handled better. We truly regret this situation and it will be further discussed with our management associates and staff, thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Great hotel, clean, friendly staff, parking was expensive but comparable to others in the area, valet parking was fast and efficient. Hotel is in a great area, across the street from the beach, and is near shopping and several restaurants.

The concierge didn't really know the area, or at least couldn't point us to a decent sushi restaurant. Some of the recommendations she made were average places at best.

The pool and gym were nice. The front desk staff was nice and helpful, and the valets were excellent. Some of them recognized us and got us our cars even without looking at our tickets.

Overall a great stay, and would recommend them highly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoplee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Your recommendation and kind comments are truly appreciated! We’re so glad to see that your interaction with our staff and valet was amicable and that you had a chance to enjoy the local area around the hotel. The Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach is conveniently located near some of the best places to eat and shop in Fort Lauderdale and so we regret that the suggestions from the Concierge did not meet your preferences. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel from June 25th through to June 29th. I found the attitude of this hotel very curt, esp. Lillian [--], the Front Office Manager. She promised to have my room cleaned, but she never followed through. The hotel is very filthy. The housekeeping staff mixes their nose when they deliver you towels, shampoos and conditioners, etc. The Towels in the room are hardly changed. The bed sheets and the pillow covers were never changed, furthermore, they were not even ironed upon arrival to the hotel. The room was very dusty, as if it was never cleaned. The carpet in the room was very filthy. the valet parking guys are very unprofessional. We had to wait forever to get our vehicle, even though we were required to call the front desk to ensure that they inform the valet guys to bring our car. Upon arrival to the hotel, the valet guys told us that it is their hotel policy that we were to have them park our car. So, we were stuck to pay for the valet parking, although we were not interested. Each time they expected a tip. The pool bar is awful. They took a long time to serve you. Paula, the bartender who works at the pool bar – when serving food she often licks her fingers and never washes her hands before serving it to the customer. The only good thing about the hotel - it is close to Las Olas and the beach. Apart, from that, I don't value this hotel. On the contrary, it is very poorly managed. All the staff in this hotel is very unprofessional and they lack customer service. I repeat, the hotel is very filthy and I would never consider it. I am ashamed to say that this is managed by 'Marriott'. I thought that Marriott carries a high standard. It is such a shame! Lillian [--] should be replaced, as she too does not care for customer service, nor does she deliver what she promises. In addition, the front desk staff are very rude and will never allow you to speak to the General Manager for any issues. When you go to the Restaurant for breakfast, the servers refuse to bring you milk. So, not only the housekeeping staff are bad, but obviously, the General Manager, Bill [--] also does not care about providing good service. I am also thinking of removing my rewards membership from Marriott, as even Customer Care does not want to do anything about their hotel services. .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shoushig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

We would like to begin with how truly disappointed we are that your stay was so unpleasant for you. This is not the experience we want for our guests, however we would like to offer some clarity from our perspective. We verified that our Executive Housekeeper did change all the linens and continued to maintain new linens through the duration of your stay. Any concerns that were brought to the attention of our staff were handled fittingly as dictated by the situation and our hotel policy, it’s apparent that we were not able to meet all your expectations. We value feedback from our guests, positive or negative so that we may continue to improve our guest’s experience and thank you for sharing your viewpoint with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,821 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,019 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,393 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,628 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#17 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#39 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £139 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Fort Lauderdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing