We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

For the price, this hotel and location cannot be beat. Clean rooms, common areas and hallways have pleasant smell, pool/patio area has plenty of chairs and towels. Pool bar serves good food and drinks. Room had a small fridge. Linens and bedding nice. Free WiFi. All staff were friendly. Beach is directly across the street. Ask for a room on a high floor for best views. I would definitely stay again. The windows in the room are very large and wonderful. Only thing that would make it better is if the windows opened.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joburkholder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

It's wonderful when a guest leaves the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach feeling that the value, location and services matched their needs and additionally that they have been inspired to want to return. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the food and drinks at the Seabreeze Poolside Bar and that you found our staff to be so friendly. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in January. We had a corner room with living area ( fold out sleeper sofa) which worked great with our 7 yr old son. This was a to be a relaxing beach vacation. Upon arrival we were told ( at 12pm) no early check in. We enjoyed an afternoon at the beach instead. The pool itself is very clean but small. The pool is shaded by afternoon. The sundeck is up the stairs from the pool and would remind you of the dated deck of a cruise ship. Maybe fitting due to the crowd at this hotel who were clearly there to pre-party & drink before departing on a cruise. I was put off by the dirty party crowd smoking all around the outside of the hotel - even smoking pot in plain view at 3 in the afternoon. Upon checking into our room on the 5th floor - the smell of pot was so obvious in the air of the hotel hall it was not even funny. By the time we got settled and came back out to go to dinner the smell was gone - thank goodness. For a non-smoking hotel I would think they'd be on top of that a little more.
The end of our stay did get better.
Pros: you could definately stay here without a rental car. The water taxi was about $20 for an all day pass. There are a lot of restaurants and even a 24 hr CVS right down the street
Rooms were clean and comfortable
Beach area was clean
Food at the pool bar was good as was breakfast buffet. Service at both were great. bubba gumps down below the pool was also good and reasonable.

cons: You have to cross a BUSY road to get to the beach. This is a challenge with a smaller child - be warned. No cross walk.
It's a public beach so while I have become used to paying $25 - $30 a day to rent 2 chairs and an umbrella - this place was outrageous. They charge $10 per chair + $5 per cushion + $20 for an umbrella - quick math = $50 for one day to rent two chairs & umbrella? Really??
The hotel is full of cruise people. Expect them to be loud and party well into the night. I heard numerous business people complaining at the desk about it during my stay. I understand the hotel can't control or descriminate who stays there - just be warned!
The pool area could use a major makeover. It was clean - no problems there. Did not feel like I was in a tropical beach setting at all.

No complaints about the staff or service here. We did score a late check out with much pleading at the front desk. I would stay here again but would hope management would make some improvements to the pool area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience and provide feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate your kind remarks about our guest rooms, food and staff as well as our premier location. We certainly want you to know that we don’t condone or permit smoking of any kind in our hotel. We respond to smoking situations as soon as we are made aware. We have an exterior designated smoking area for people who choose to smoke legitimately. I am very pleased that you are willing to return. We are in the process of adding features to make our pool deck more tropical. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed one night pre-cruise and turned out to be a good option as just a $20 taxi ride to the cruise terminal. Asked for a sea view as traveling with my elderly mother who was not bothered to go out but rather relax and look at the view (see photograph) whilst we explored and the reception staff obliged. Didn’t have time to do anything this time in the area but the Concierge was happy to spend time with us and chat about options for future visits. She even emailed me later with all the information we had been talking about. Thank you for such good service Deatra! Good choice at breakfast with eggs cooked to order and like many people ate at Bubba Gump the night before which was fine and right on the doorstep. Were not there long enough to use or comment on the other facilities but did appreciate the free internet access. Decor clean but nothing special - all in all would stay again if needed another pre-cruise deal but this time allow myself an extra night so we do some sight seeing.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Beach adjacent just across a1a from off the pool deck. Rooms are recently renovated it seems and no complaints.Staff friendly. This hotel was loaded full of cruise ship travellers and is rather short on charm and style. Expensive valet parking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeBonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

It was certainly our pleasure having you stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. Our guest rooms were recently renovated and we do have a convenient beach location. Parking is at a premium everywhere on Ft. Lauderdale Beach, There is public self-parking adjacent to the hotel for less money, but you do not get in and out privileges. We hope the next time you are in the area we can welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights while in town visiting a friend and catching a Dolphins game. I only stay in Marriott hotels and this hotel is everything I love about Marriott. Great customer service by all the hotel staff we encounterd (even got a late check out). Very clean. Breakfast buffet was yummy. Pool is a bit small, but since that's not our thing, we didn't care. Sundeck is awesome - spacious, tiki bar is nice, poolside snacks are convenient and tasty. Location is fabulous! Walk right across to beach. If you're not venturing outside Ft. Lauderdale, you dont need to rent a car. You can wealk just about anywhere or hop on the water taxi. Great places to eat (Oasis Cafe, Margarita Cantina, LuLu's). Love Fort Lauderdale!

Room Tip: Stayed in a Intercoastal view room but had a nice view of ocean as well. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finsfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

We can't wait for you to come back too! It delights us thoroughly to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you and your husband had a great time at the Miami Dolphin's game. Our close proximity to shopping, dining and the beach is a favorite of many of our guests so we're glad that you mentioned it in your review and enjoyed the ease of exploring Fort Lauderdale from our location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Fantastic service and accommodations at this hotel. One of the greatest things that stood out here was the overall customer service, especially the Valet Team. They had our vehicles ready in less that 5 mins every time. The guys were knowledgeable about the area and would give suggestions if asked. You could tell this group was well managed in the field of customer service because they made sure you had what you needed and if you didn't they would either get it for you or help you get it. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this place. Great location as well, right across from the beach and walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, the glass windows wrap around on two sides of the room....very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCool23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Yes, They have an outdoor SALT WATER POOL! Strange, this hotel being across the street from the ocean! Other than that, I really have come to rely on the Courtyard Marriott for their unwavering style of service, friendly, knowledgeable & helpful staff, Top notch rooms that feel safe, cozy, clean with beds you just sink into! Not one detail do they forget! (note: even a sewing kit). If you are traveling for business or pleasure, with kids, your partner or solo,,I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE COURTYARD MARRIOTT! (I have stayed at pretty much every Hotel on the beach). WHEN IN DOUBT....stay here at the courtyard. your visit will be so nice. OH! you do have to pay for valet..but the valet's are so nice & the service is great. ( I don't recommend just any hotel. I wanted to try something new & booked with the B Ocean last month. I WISH I WOULD HAVE STAYED WITH WHAT I KNEW..Oh well! hope this helps.

Room Tip: If you book with a traveling sight & not with the Hotel directly, I have found, that the Hotel g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

All of us at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us and that you have provided such a high recommendation to others. Your gracious praise of the accommodations and the staff mean so much to all of us here as we strive to provide each and every guest with an enjoyable experience. We would just like to take a moment to clarify for everyone that our outdoor swimming pool overlooking the beach is not a salt water pool. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we are looking forward to welcoming you back once again at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,904 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,088 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
56 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,504 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#35 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £147 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Fort Lauderdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing