We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #24 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Almost Heaven
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

First, the good. It's close enough to the beach that you can walk across a busy street to be there. Great restaurants are within walking distance, as well. Coconuts, across the street, had a delicious lunch for our group. The hotel's breakfast buffet is tasty, but you pay $14.00 pp. We ate two meals besides breakfast; both the fish and the marinated flank steak were delicious at a catered dinner. The spinach salad at lunch was average. The hotel's customer contact staff is very friendly, courteous, and helpful.

The bad: Parking at the hotel was very expensive for a moderate hotel like Courtyard. Housekeeping was uneven, at best, and came very late in the day. Some days the supplies were replenished, but the next day, they were not. A dirty cup was left behind, toilet paper was not restocked, the coffee bar was partially replenished, and so forth. The air conditioning worked really well the first couple of days, but another day or two it had trouble cooling the room--even overnight. The mattress was a little soft and probably needs replacing: the duvet seemed to be rather tired and thin; but I always enjoy having five pillows on the bed--even if they are all too soft.

The worst of the trip was their internet service. Try as we might, both our computers could not send email from our work domains, probably due to firewalls since this was not an issue with Yahoo, Comcast, etc... We could receive email, thankfully, but we had to find a Panera Bread midway through our trip so that our outgoing email messages could be sent. When we inquired of some of the other guests, some were able to make it work, but others were not. The hotel connected us to their Global Suites help line, but those folks just told us we'd just have to set up a public IP address on our computers to make this work. We were unwilling to do that. Having been a corporate road warrior for more than a decade, I've never seen a worse hotel internet situation except in some international locations. We were supposed to have to log on every 24 hours, but it required a new log-in much more frequently than that. Frustrating, frustrating, frustrating if you need to do some work while there! I ended up emailing clients from my personal email address, in fact. I expect more and I expect better in 2012. At least, it was complimentary, but I would have paid to be able to work more efficiently.

Bottom line: I would stay here again, but I would lower my expectations. I certainly wouldn't plan on getting much work done.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite room facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heavenlyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
All feedback from our guests, both positive and otherwise, is appreciated. Thank you for mentioning the hotel staffs' friendly and courteous demeanor as we strive to provide our guests with exceptional service. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the issues sending emails from your work domain. All of your comments will be shared with management as we are continuously working to improve our guest's experience and to provide the best possible services to all. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    685
    265
    55
    36
See reviews for
477
587
62
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Location is ok. On main strip, but across the street from beach. Pool area is old and needs cleaning. Room was updated within last 10 years. Air was not very cold, service could not fix it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDWCM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for sharing your view point with regards to our hotel; we value all feedback. Our guest rooms were recently renovated and we are currently in the process of freshening up and adding features to our pool deck. We're sorry that our maintenance personnel were not able adjust the air temperature to your desired level and hope any inconvenience was minimal. The next time you are in the area, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed recently at this hotel for business. While not a 5 star resort, it is a very nice place for a business meeting/conference. The room was a nice mini-suite with a separate room with a sleeper sofa and TV

Pros:
- Room (while not luxurious) was spacious and quite comfortable.
- Breakfast and lunch served during our meetings was very good
- Staff was friendly and courteous
- Location...Directly across from beautiful FT Lauderdale beach, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, etc

Cons:
- Found some hairs in the tub...Ewwww!
- $28 for valet parking when there is a $15 self parking lot directly next door. Might want to reconsider that pricing.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. A nice break from the cold New England winter. I would stay here on a personal vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoxfanCT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Whether it be for business or for pleasure, we would love to welcome you back again to the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. Thank you for mentioning our convenient location. We are situated between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway in Fort Lauderdale and adjacent to the fine shops, restaurants, and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard! The next time you feel as though you need a break from the cold New England weather, remember the sun is always warm and shining in Ft. Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel and it's wonderfully warm and can do staff is well located to enjoy the local tourist attractions, is close to a beautiful beach, has great views and is a good value for this expensive neighborhood. No question I would use this place on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgreenleaf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
We are extremely pleased that you found your recent stay at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach to be a good value. Knowing that our staff made such a positive impression and that our location was perfect for your time in Fort Lauderdale makes us smile from ear to ear. We'll be looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
256 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We were lucky to get a corner room on an upper level of the hotel. We could see the sunset, the cruise pier, the beach, and many other great views from several directions. The pool is kind of small, but you can sit on the "deck" and watch the beach view and the city traffic. There's a little bakery/coffee shop next to the hotel that was great and the prices were reasonable. The service was great and the staff were friendly. When we visit the area again, we will definately stay here.

Room Tip: Try to request a top floor in a corner outside room to get a great view and lots of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
We're so glad that while staying with us you appreciated the beauty of the views from your room. Each of our guest rooms feature amazing water views of the sparkling Atlantic Ocean or the Intracoastal Waterway. We can’t wait to welcome you back to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We are FL residents (Davie) and were looking for a place to stay one night to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We come to Fort Lauderdale beach a couple time each summer to enjoy a nice day at the ocean but have never really needed to 'lodge' there.
I booked a reservation within 24 hours of when I wanted to stay and they were able to accomodate. We stayed Thur 1/12. We checked in around 6pm and checked out Friday at 11am - so our stay was not very long.

Pool - we didn't have a need to use it so I can't comment.
Sundeck - nice & large. We used in for about 2 hours (after checkout on Fri) before we headed home. It was cold that day so we just read our books in a normal clothing. Some tiles are broken and wobbled under your feet so be careful walking around. The lounges could also use a cleaning because of the bird poop.
Checkin - Checkout - Smooth process - no issues
Location - can't beat it - walking distance to everything we needed for the short period we were here.
Parking - I high recommond the public lot next door. Its $15 for an overnight ticket. Which basically means you get a ticket when you enter the lot and it ends the next day at 11:30. Since checkout is at 11am that gives you plenty of time to get car loaded up. So depending on when you 'enter the lot', it could be $15 for a 24 hour period. We took our ticket at 6pm Thur and it lasted until 11:30am the next day. The ticket gives you ONE in/out privilage so be cautious if you are planning on taking your car out often - this would not be an option for you.
Room - we were 7th floor and booked an ocean front room since we wanted to watch the sunrise at 7am Friday morning from our bed. Room was spacious, had 2 queen beds, large bathroom, nice TV, clean carpet, plush bedding. The ocean front windows were floor to ceiling. Excellent view of ocean, You can see the roof top's of lower ocean front restuarents which are not the most attractive - but it didn't take away from the wonderful ocean view.
Only compliant (and I didn't register it with hotel since we did not have a long stay) was the bathtub water was very 'yellow'. I think they need to change the filter on their water heater system. Our home water gets rusty looking when the filter needs changed.

This room / hotel suited our immediate needs and if I had friends/family in town who were in need of a room in Fort Lauderdale I could recommond this place comfortably.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenn123444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Happy 5th Anniversary! We're delighted that we were able to accommodate your request for an ocean front room so that your special time with us could include seeing the beautiful sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean. Thank you for your recommendation of the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach and for sharing your experience with us. We always appreciate guest feedback. We will address those couple areas of concern you mentioned as well as share your many kind comments with our staff. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

As far as January's go this one will last in memory. Breaking from New England winter, 80degF & Sunny FL was truly 'exotic'. Ft Lauderdale beach is clean, well maintained, and friendly to all.

Courtyard by Marriott Ft. Lauderdale Beach is a nice hotel. However, it's location will be the quality that anchors it in long term memory. I have no major complaints of the hotel. Some suggestions for improvement I have:

- valet parking - at $28/day not a good value with public pay lot directly next door at $15. Maybe this is a function of the season and the public lot is not an option during peak - if so, consider reduced valet charge in off peak.
- elevators are slow
- pool water did not seem to be fresh filtered and treated water. I sympathize with previous reviews citing 'salt water' pool. Frankly it tasted like a heavily urinated kiddy pool
- pool area and sun deck could use some modernizing and decor. It is rather institutional in its current state. Perhaps add some color to the floors and walls, sculpture or other artwork, potted trees and planters, and fresh and heavier furniture. Also a few of the bar area floor tiles were broken and unstable, a potential safety hazard. Oh and a umbrella and table turned over on me under a moderate gust - an anchoring solution needed there.
- room 1224 was a southwest corner with partial view of ocean and entertaining view of marina and Intercoastal waterway. Yacht watching was fun. Room was average size, average cleanliness, average decor, fixtures, and furnishings. The Ethernet cable did not work and the Wi-Fi wasnt very strong. I'd consider adding more range extenders - overkill would be worth the investment now as demand on wireless will only grow in the future. A few ants were spotted in the room, but other than that no problems.

Now a few compliments:
- staff were friendly, everyone encountered greeted me warmly. I didn't have any special needs so I didn't get to 'test' their commitment to service, but I got a good feeling about it
- conference room service staff were on the ball, quickly and quietly servicing our needs
- accessibility to parking, A1A, and beach was great. You can be in your car, on the beach, or at a wide selection of restaurants and bars quickly with no obstacle.

Overall my stay was good value. Again without the location this would have been an average experience, but again no major complaints. Bottom line: I would return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bn_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
We would like to thank you for providing us with such a detailed review of your recent stay with us. The convenience to the beach, shopping and dining puts our guests in a wonderful central location to enjoy Fort Lauderdale Beach and we're delighted that you found it to be a great value. Your comments and suggestions will all be shared with our management team in an ongoing effort to improve our services and our future guests' experience. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Fort Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard
Fort Lauderdale Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing