We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Embassy is just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #40 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Older Embassy is just ok”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. This is an older property. You can tell they try hard to keep it looking nice but the wear is definately showing. I had a room on the 10th floor. My room faced the ocean but i little too far inland so see much except a good view of the cruise ships. I did like the balcony. My biggest complaint was the bed. Rock hard like hard sand. I amost decided to use the pull out sleeper in the living room thats how bad it was. For $150 a night it wasn't up to par. The reception was pretty much popcorn and chips but the cocktails are always nice. I would stay elsewhere next time due to the bed. Restaurants and grocery 1 block away which was nice.

Room Tip: Upper floor may have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,192
    1,002
    502
    239
    137
See reviews for
1,036
926
94
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Proximity is good to airport and cruise terminal. Easy 5 minute walk to restaurants, shopping and Total Wines ;p Typical embassy suite hotel with living area and large bedroom c/w king bed and 32" LCD. Wifi reception was good, however I can't believe they charge 10 bucks a night! Did not enjoy the breakfast as long lines and poor quality turned me off. Managers reception was good, however appy's we long gone by the time we arrived at 615p. Found the bed to be comfortable and the A/C worked well and it was quiet.

Room Tip: Pick an east facing room if possible as they are quieter and face port Everglades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6ixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very well placed near Port Everglades and other facilities, shopping and restaurants. Friendly staff ready to help cruisers. Note: rooms at top floors are quieter.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermesbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The day before leaving for Ft Lauderdale I found out my reservation had been cancelled by a woman at a Hilton call center who barely spoke English in a foreign country- OM Golly! Thanks to Hilton Honors for intervening on my behalf. They called the manager ES and got my reservation re-instated at the same rate I had booked. When I arrived Vanessa & Diana couldn't have been nicer. I arrived early they offered me breakfast & checked me right in about 10am. They had my packages waiting for me at the front desk. I had requested a room on a high floor near the elevator facing the port. And they made sure my requests were met. They gave me a great recommendation for lunch -Gilberts. The pool area was clean and gorgeous.
The manager's reception hit the spot! I have to admit my room was a bit tired and could have been a little cleaner. I asked the maid 3 times for coffee stirs and never received them. I was very impressed on how the breakfast area had improved. There was the friendliest and hard working crew keeping up with the big weekend crowd I had ever experienced . A very friendly upbeat gentleman at the omelet station kept everyone happy. The food was good & kudos to the very nice woman with the long dark hair that was working so hard to keep all the tables cleaned. She quickly cleared and cleaned a
Table for me to sit down. I did not receive a wake call and missed my hair appointment. Diana made an adjustment on my bill since I wasn't called. When checking out Diana & Vanessa were so busy but took the time to get
me help with my luggage and transportation to the port. They are amazing at the front desk always personable and extremely busy on the weekends with all of the cruise passengers. They both provided me with outstanding customer service.
I had a late flight the following Saturday after debarking the ship. I went back to Embassy Suites. They took care of my luggage I sat by the pool and had lunch before catching my 5 pm flight. Such a pleasant way to end the cruise. And ofcourse when I walked through the door there was Diana & Vanessa welcoming back! You can't wrong staying here before or after a cruise. The manager just needs to get the cleaning staff to do a better job & update the rooms, then it would really be a 4 star property.


A



T

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmlindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The hotel staff goes the extra mile to make your stay extremely pleasant. The hotel managers, Don and Rosalie, work tirelessly to make sure that each guest feels catered to. For example, they assist staff in the morning during the hotel's complimentary breakfast by bussing tables and greeting all guests to make sure they have everything they want - I have stayed at many hotels and have never seen such care and respect that the Embassy Suites managers and staff at this hotel show their guests. Bottem line - this hotel is the best hotel in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterWrigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel was just fine for a pre-cruise stay. The room could have used a makeover, but it was still worth it considering the location and area. The room had a living area and sleeping area. That was nice. It was noisey though. You could hear every car, truck, and police siren. It was not very well insulated. It is within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. We walked over to Outback Steakhouse for dinner. (didn't care for that restaurant) After dinner we walked over to Ross to browse the store. The neighborhood felt comfortable.

There is a happy hour at night. That was a nice touch. It also included chips & dip, popcorn, pretzels, and one other snack. The breakfast was really good. It was more than I expected. So much to choose from. If you couldn't find something to eat you must be very pickey. The only problem was there were not enough tables to sit at, so we brought our food to the room. No big deal.

We took a cab from FLL to the hotel and I think it was @ $15.00. (I think) Going to the ship we did use the hotels shuttle and it was fine, @ $15.00. They grouped you as per cruise line you were going to. That made sense to me not having to stop at all the other cruise lines that are of no interest to me. We only had to wait 10 minutes for the shuttle. No problem there. I'm on vacation and have nowhere to be in a hurry to get to.

All in all - a good hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4qqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auburn ny
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I would disagree with anyone who calls this property rundown, unless other rooms were not in the same great shape as ours. We had a view of the port, and it was a treat to awake in the morning and see our cruise ship clearly across the way. I like Embassy's idea of a sink in the main bedroom (giving you 3 sinks in 3 separate places. Also nice that, while my DW was still asleep in the morn, I could go into the living area and watch Sports Center.

The manager's reception: held every night, snacks, decent assortment of drinks (beer, wines, sangria, some mixed, sodas of course). Good breakfast with cooked to order omelettes.

Had a Grilled Mahi Mahi sandwich (excellent) from Gilbert's 17th St Grill, located right behind Embassy. As others have mentioned, department store, dollar store, grocery store, wine store all close by along with other shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a port view, especially if you're cruising. We were just around the corner from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kickerAuburnNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,762 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing