We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from good to miserable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #40 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“from good to miserable”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I've stayed here for several different business trips this year. My first stay was pretty good. In fact there was nothing whatsoever to complain about. But things didn't go so well on subsequent stays. On my second stay I was awakened very early in the morning by construction crews installing new utility services all around the hotel. I also started to notice that the room wasn't particularly clean or all that well maintained. On this stay my feelings have been completely confirmed. The construction outside the hotel continues on two sides. Unfortunately my room for this trip overlooks 17th Street (don't even think about it) and the almost constant noise from traffic makes it nearly impossible to get a decent night's sleep. Add to that the fact that the sliding glass door to the balcony doesn't completely seal and you wind up with a pretty unpleasant situation - even on the 12th floor. I've always gotten a king bed and I can tell you that they are miserably uncomfortable. Parking is now a problem as construction vehicles, trailers and equipment are everywhere, even blocking access to the parking lot. A huge part of the parking area has been dug up, so you can't park there. I prefer to self-park (which still costs $16 per day) so that meant that on a particularly rainy day I had to make a few attempts to get into the lone entrance to the parking lot and wait for a space to open up. For a tired business traveler, this is far from ideal. The cleanliness issue is also a problem. After a few stays you begin to notice that nothing in your room has been dusted in a while, the floors are only getting a quick vacuuming (grit under your feet, heaps of dust along the baseboards, in corners and under furniture). The living room furniture isn't at all confortable and the lighting is harsh. The sink drain in the bathroom barely flows. Little things like not exchanging the glasses you used the night before, not replacing the baggie on the ice bucket from one night to the next, having to scrounge around in the room to find out why the power supply for the clock is't plugged in, etc....these annoyances start to add up. Right now the television reception isn't working at all, so after the traffic noise woke me up at 4:30 AM there is absolutely nothing to do except write a review on tripadvisor. Since I have to come to Fort Lauderdale weekly for work, I think I'm going to be looking for a new home away from home.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 17th Street side, don't stay near either of the 2 elevator towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wpguy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,197
    1,003
    502
    240
    137
See reviews for
1,040
928
94
562
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed 3 days pre-cruise in mid-April. The suite was fine, and breakfast (included) was acceptable, but the managers happy hour was a disappointment. Too many people trying to get as many drinks as possible, and the hors d'oeuvres consisted of popcorn and chips..YUK

Across the street is Waxy O'Connor's Pub and Restaurant which is a great place for a beer and the "Bangers and Mash" were great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Returned from 9 days in the Keys here for our final destination point before departing back to the grind. Enjoyed the overall atmosphere and layout of the Embassy. Very unique both from the inside design and exterior architecture. We arrived in a raging short term rain storm, had the luggage brought to the room (9 bags with scuba gear - "ya, you can carry my bags"), valet parking for the car (well worth the $3 extra bucks, ok $8 with a tip) and took advantage of the large pool since everyone else slipped inside to avoid the down pour. Savored some tasty burgers from the hotel restaurant outside by the pool when the sun came out. There are a multitude or restaurants also to choose from within walking distance. Had to take off bright and early the next morning so we didn't get a chance to take advantage of the complimentary made to order breakfast, but as they were getting things started it smelled good. Seems like most places hook you for extra charges on every time you sneeze, didn't feel that here. Printed our tickets form the free kiosk internet in the lobby and grabbed the boarding passes off the lobby desk for free, I like that. Took us about 10 minutes to get to the Airport in the morning. We will definitely be back for a stay on our next journey...

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was the second year that my husband and I stayed here for two nights prior to sailing from the nearby port--and we were equally pleased with the accommodations and the service.

Both times we booked the transportation package that includes pick-up at the airport and transfer to the port, which is very reasonable. Last year they sent a private limo driver to get us at the airport, and this year--as our flight arrived very late--they told us to simply get a receipt for the taxi and they'd reimburse us, including tip (which they immediately did in cash on our arrival).

Transport to the port takes five minutes and is always ready--and there's a huge Publix market right behind the hotel in a nice little shopping center and across the street is a Ross and a Dollar Store for last-minute cruise items.

The reasonable fee also includes full breakfast and free drinks at their nightly happy hour. As Hilton Gold members, we also received a complimentary bottle of water and soda and other perks. All the staff members--from front desk to restaurant and cleaning crew--are genuinely friendly and helpful, and the large suites with microwave and refrigerator are handy for soda and leftovers from the great restaurant (which always goes out of its way to provide my vegan meals). It's our pre-cruise home!

Room Tip: We phone ahead to get advice on the best available location. They're happy to help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOriginalDrFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked 5 rooms for 18 of us going out on a cruise. We paid a reasonable rate as we did the "pay in full", non-refundable booking. We were able to enjoy the managers reception of free cocktails and munchies. We grabbed a quick dinner that was pretty good. (most of us had salads after eating the free munchies, we weren't that hungry). The included breakfast had anything you would want and was very good. Although crowded, we were able to find seats near each other and were done with breakfast in no time at all. Because it is located within blocks of the cruise port, the atmosphere was almost party-like, yet rooms were still very quiet. The set-up of the hotel was very unique in that all rooms face the inside courtyard where the places to eat are below. Our balcony only had room to stand, but faced the pool below and was very pretty. Yes, the elevators were very slow, but that seemed to be because everyone was leaving for the port at the same times. We thought it was the perfect place to stay for our pre-cruise night and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmh760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Convenient, attractive, great breakfast, nice reception, roomy, but they just gotta get you for this and that: parking, internet, transport even though you pay enough to get these things included. No complaints, there's a 5-guys burger place in the plaza nearby that's a great place to stuff your face for a few bucks. So's you can afford the WiFi.

Room Tip: If you're cruising, you can get a room that faces the port and see your ship arrive. Of course y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epipk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I was surprised by the Embassy Suites. Great little architecture details that todays hotels just do not even try to duplicate. The iron railings were very nice to see. Rooms were great. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leroyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing