We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #37 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The breakfast is outstanding with tons of options, and there is a nightly manager's reception with free wine and beer. The service staff were very friendly and helpful. There isn't an airport pickup shuttle but the taxi ride is around $12. There is a sun trolley (50 cent ride to the beach!) stop close by in front of Publix, and there are several restaurants along 17th st and in the Harbor Shops next door, including our favorite Gilbert's 17th St. Grill :o). The closest water taxi stop is good walk from the hotel, so we didn't do that this time.The internet isn't free, but you have 3 kiosks in the lobby and 2-4 computers in the computer center with FREE printing. The rooms are clean and spacious, we liked the door for the bedroom. If you're traveling with another couple, you have 2 completely separate sleeping areas with their own TVs and sink @ the wet bar, but the bathroom is in the bedroom. The beds are very comfortable, but we would request extra pillows next time (they were a little too small and soft). We had a great stay and even got a later checkout when we asked . We will definitely stay here again when we're back in Ft. Lauderdale.

Room Tip: The hallways on the hotel room floors are open to the atrium below, so if you're afraid of heigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kmaddix915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,787 - 2,793 of 3,371 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We travel often and have stayed at numerous hotels over the years. This was our first stay at an Embassy Suites. Hotel was very old and rooms were not cleaned well. Half of our plug ins/light fixtures didn't work and kept flickering on and off. The carpet and floor was disgusting - not cleaned well when we came in or cleaned at all during our 3 day stay. The wifi charge is outrageous at $15/day - considering most hotels we stay at offer free wifi! Parking charge is $16/day to park in a lot that has construction all over the place and it feels like an obstacle course. Walls are very thin and therefore you can hear everything through the walls. We requested pillows for our daughters' pull out sofa and were told they could only spare a couple very flat pillows as they were short. We always had to call down for towels as well as there were not the required number put in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trini152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager1100, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet expectations and based upon your review I am actively participating with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not happen again. I’m also working with our maintenance team to ensure that all our fixtures and appliances are in great working order! Please accept my apologies for the construction in our parking lot. The City of Fort Lauderdale is doing that renovation and we have no control over it. I apologize that the contstruction was taking place during your stay. That construction should be completed by next week. I hope that if your travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us again. Thank you again; I appreciate your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I almost hate to share how much we enjoyed staying here pre-cruise because we want to keep it all to ourself but this truly was the best hotel we've stayed at in Fort Lauderdale pre-cruise. The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were nice, the pool was great and the happy hour made us very happy!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
6  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager1100, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us and choosing our hotel for your pre cruise. We look forward to having you back on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

A traditional Embassy Suites property with the center atrium, every room a mini-suite, free breakfasts and free happy hour in the evening, and so forth. Not a new hotel but very well maintained, in a good location, and very friendly, helpful and professional staff. A good value and strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager1100, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for your response. My team and I work very hard to maintain our hotel and make our hotel, Your Home Away from Home, when traveling to Fort Lauderdale. Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Very convenient for that pre-cruise night. Very good amenities. Excellent proximity to shopping, restaurants. Excellent value. Check to see if you have points! Full hot breakfast is a major plus. Cab to port was more convenient than shuttle, imo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rwny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Perhaps it was just overbooked, but our one-night stay at the Embassy Suites was unpleasant in every respect. The hotel staff seemed disorganized. The lobby and public areas looked and felt dirty. Our specific complaints: a brusque desk clerk at check-in who gave us keys that didn't work for our room which was as far from the desk as possible; large, aged muffin crumbs on the chairs at the table in the room; no waste basket in the bathroom; a restaurant with no one except an overworked waiter to tell us that a table might open up in a couple of hours; a breakfast with watery orange juice, dirty tables, and unappetizing eggs and bacon. Clearly we would never return to the Embassy Suites in Fort Lauderdale, but our experience has caused us to be sure that we never again stay at a hotel in the chain.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager1100, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the service you experienced at our hotel. I see that your stay was in December. My team and I have worked very hard this year in improving our service levels and making every guest's stay enjoyable. I hope that we have the opportunity in the future to show you that we can meet your expectations. Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I am a return guest to this hotel, because the group I travel with every summer stays here!

I stayed here for 6 days this June/July 2012.

The Embassy Suites does a really good job at this location.

The rooms are very nice. Beds are very comfortable.
The free "hot" breakfast is expansive and very good. I believe it is the best "free breakfast" on the market.

The staff is friendly and helpful, across the board.

The shuttle to/from FLL is $7.00 per person. Depending on how many are in your party, you are probably better off by getting a taxi. We were 4 people, and the taxi was $16.00, including a tip.

Embassy Suites, I am a little sad that you discontinued your flavored (individual sizes) creams for the breakfast. Only half/half is now provided.

There is a Publix (grocery store) within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Lots of restaurants, including The Outback. Also, a Marshalls.

We were there for the 4th of July. We watched fireworks off of the balconies that are at the outside stairwells. WHAT A SIGHT!!!!

The restaurant in the hotel is very good. Try the pizza! Desserts are very good as well.

You won't go wrong with this hotel. The sofa is a sofa-bed. You can fit up to 6 people in a suite, if the suite has 2 queen beds.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GraceAlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#13 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,215 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#10 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#59 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
5,084 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#16 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £130 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing