We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great precruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #37 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The accommodations were okay but it was boat show time so the prices were outrageous. Way too much for what we got. Don't get me wrong, the cocktail hour and snacks are nice and the breakfast was quite delicious but for the price we paid we should have gotten much more. Having said that, the hotel is very close to the port. Close to a nice liquor store and grocery store, Walgreens down the street to pick up last minute items. Just wished it wasn't so expensive! You can see the cruise ships from the top floor off the back side just go out the door to the left of the back elevators and you can take pictures, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,254 - 2,260 of 3,255 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here on 2nd Nov 2013 for one night after booking a King Suite w/Managers Reception before our ROyal Caribbean Cruise out of Fort Lauderdale.

The hotel was nice - slightly dated but fairing well and some nice water/stream feature in the middle of the hotel where breakfast was served. Didn't realise how huge the hotel was - like a big apartment block with many floors!

Upon arrival we checked in and a very helpful female clerk assisted us. Sadly, there was neither sight nor sound of the proprosed managers reception which was quite disappointing after a very long journey from the UK so wasn't best pleased. I hate to moan but if you have paid for something and it includes it - you should get it.

The room was massive with a separate seating area and sink. Everything you could need. The bed was huge and am pleased to report that everywhere was clean and neatly made up so no complaints there and we slept well.

The breakfast was at a good time and you could join 3 queues to get it so the wait was not long. I'm fussy about the quality of my food and it had the usual offerings of a full breakfast like eggs, omlette, bacon etc - mediocre quality although it was edible I can't be doing with this fake and very fatty/overly crisp bacon/sausages etc - far too different to UK food. They also had cereal and juices, coffee etc but the staff worked hard serving the food and clearing the tables.

Overall, the stay was ok but just annoying did not get the complete services paid for but good service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_jay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This is a typical embassy suite at least in my experience with 2 exceptions. On the positive side the rooms are large, clean and quiet. The staff was great and the breakfast was very good, especially considering its free. It's in a good location with shopping and restaurants all around. The lobby was bring remodeled while I was there, but it was managed well and wasn't obtrusive. On the down side was the parking and the Internet access. I drive a Ford truck and parking it was challenging. The spaces are very small and the lot is usually full. In light of the fact that thy charge $18.00 a day to park I think they need to accommodate the guests better. When you enter
the hotel property you have to go thru the porte-cache at the main entry. This operation is a complete circus. Cars, busses and people milling around to the point it's almost impossible to get thru. As far as the Internet is concerned, after a while I gave up. I'm a Hilton Honors member so I tried accessing that way but never could get past the home screen. I switched to AT&T wifi but that was hit and miss and I had to pay for it. It kept dropping out.

I think my biggest complaint is that if you are going to charge for a service, such as parking and internet, please make sure they work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shoeboxrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very efficient staff, great and great location with easy access to shops and the port of fort Lauderdale. If your an international guest take your adaptors for electrical devices as the hotel does not provide them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a two night stay here prior to our cruise. After staying in hotels in New York City and Washington DC which had European size rooms, it was a refreshing and welcome change with a spacious suite. Breakfast was included in our tariff and it was more than adequate with plenty of choice. The Atrium area is lovely and we enjoyed sitting in there. The location was great, with a shopping centre next door from where we caught a trolley which was a short ride up to the beach. We caught a return shuttle through the hotel to the port for our cruise and upon returning to Fort Lauderdale, this same shuttle transported us to the ahirport. This service cost $16 each which we thought was more than reasonable. Linda at the tour desk was great at organising this for us. We enjoyed our short stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karleigh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel was very nice and well maintained, I would recommend it to Business travelers. Free Buffet Breakfast was outstanding one of the best I have ever had at any hotel. Rooms were very large and well appointed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
1  Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Embassy Suites brand has been taken over by Hilton and they have done a great job of renovating the rooms and are working on the bar area in the atrium (hence some construction noise). Parking is $18 self-park and $21 valet. Wi-fi not free, but there is a business center with printer which is free. Many, many restaurants within walking distance.

The breakfast is phenomenal - omelets made to order, eggs, pancakes, french toast sticks, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, cereals, muffins, danish, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea -- and probably some items I've missed! The pool area is beautiful - also has a hut tub. The evening "reception" is nice -- free alcoholic beverages (Wednesday featured drinks: Bahama Mamas and Margaritas, along with beer and wine), as well as tortilla and potato chips, gold fish, pretzels, Chex-type mix, salsa, dip, and popcorn. While construction is going on, reception is held in the hotel restaurant, which has a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,383 reviews
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,315 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,890 reviews
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#57 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,954 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#31 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £121 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing