We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #40 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
South Bethany, DE
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a pre-cruise stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Check in was fast and efficient. Lilly was friendly and personable. The room was appointed nicely and the bed was comfortable. There is a free happy hour every night from 5 to 7. The drinks were good and plentiful. Jorge, the bartender, was overworked, but always had a smile on his face.

A breakfast buffet with cooked to order eggs was also included in the price of the room. It was quite satisfying.

There are lots of strip malls within walking distance if you are a shopper. A Publix, Winn Dixie and several liquor stores, plus many restaurants close by, as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beach_fever_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    984
    488
    229
    130
See reviews for
989
912
90
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Big hotel with impressive lobby, water features, and koi pond. The style is Coral Gables palazzo meets Tommy Bahama. Close to the airport but by no meals an "airport hotel" in terms of presentation.

Seems popular with older pre-cruisers and rich guys going deep sea fishing. The parking lot had a lot of high series BMWs, Bentleys, and expensive (Lexus, Caddy) SUVs.

Large, well-kept rooms but they could stand updating. They seem slightly musty and could be depressing to some. All rooms get great sun, though. The lobby and public areas feel very light and airy.

Super comfy beds. Plenty of hot water at all times, with great water pressure. A/C worked fine. There's a lot of white noise coming from the lobby what with the fountains, etc., so you don't hear anyone else in the building. I really liked this part of the stay.

Massive hotel, jammed with guests, my room was totally quiet.

Excellent location. Easy 5 minute drive to beautiful Fort Lauderdale beaches; just around the corner from the port; and behind the hotel, but not obtrusive, is a nice neighborhood shopping center with a Publix (supermarket) and several local restaurants.

Parking is $18 self-parking, more for valet. People complain but it's standard in south Florida at every price point.

Good service all around. Some guests were sort of boisterous but the hotel can't control that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_in_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked the Embassy Suites again pre-cruise. You can't beat the location to the airport, Port Everglades and shopping for pre-cruise items. That said, we were disappointed in the customer service. Last year we received free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the port. We paid nothing (except tips) and did not reserve the room through a special package. Their website still indicates local transportation, so we worked under the assumption that nothing had changed. Rule one...never assume. We waited at the airport for the shuttle to arrive for about 30 minutes and then decided to call. The person who answered informed my husband that they had discontinued the shuttle and that we needed to find other transportation. Since there were four of us with a good deal of luggage, this was not an inexpensive proposition.

Going to the port, we assumed that this would be complimentary as it was last year...again, wrong. We were told that we needed to pay - after our luggage was already loaded on the shuttle. The shuttle driver was downright rude when we arrived at the port, demanding money from us. We explained that we had resolved payment at the hotel, but he still insisted on getting our room number and names.

The location of this hotel is great, but it needs refurbishing. Part of what made it a reasonable deal was the addition of the complimentary shuttle, but we will rethink whether we stay there again given the poor information and questionable customer service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonesmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The suites are nice with an bonus living room two televisions, refrigerator, microwave, iron, hairdryer and coffeemaker. Enjoyed the large room however I felt like I was back in the 80s or at my grandparents house with an older style Decor. Busy hotel that provides a great stay for all the people headed out on a cruise. The heating system in the room was a little hard to adjust. It just didn't seem to respond much when you change the temperature.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 2 nights before our cruise and one night after. 27th+28th Nov +10th Dec We found the room was good, lots of room and comfortable bed all we needed. The breakfast was a bit mediocre, don't be late as they clear up promptly. Reception staff were helpful however we found the concierge was keen to promote their own transport services which proved costly, we discovered from other guests that you could get to Fort Lauderdale beachfront cheaply with a local bus service, we would expect the hotel to inform us of this facility. Overall however, no big complaints, satisfactory for a short stay.

Room Tip: Cannot remember the exact number but it was facing the pool 7th floor(713?). No problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatbetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a terrible experience for the money. I stayed at this hotel 2 days prior to an 11 day cruise and then 1 day after the cruise. Talk about nickle and dime! The hotel even tried to charge me $8.00, (Per person), to go to the Air port. The cab ride was $12 and change before tip and I did not have to wait til the van was full. There was not even a schedule as with most SPG properties, the Air port shuttle is complementary and runs every 10, 15, or 20 minutes. I had even paid for the "Round Trip Transfers" in my rate and they still tried to charge me more. When I stated that to the front desk person, she said "it's not me, why are you upset with me, I just work here". Great response, great customer commitment. Oh, and the "Upgrade" I paid for, what a joke! $ 626.04 for the first stays and over $ 300.00 for the night after the cruise. Can you say "Raped" Very dissatisfied. R2

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Randolph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager1100, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your response and we appreciate hearing from our guests. We do have a cruise package that includes transportation for two people. Anything over two people is $8 more per person. We do offer transportation to the airport and port for a fee as do the other hotels along 17th Street. There are cabs available and we tell guests about both and let them decide what is best for them. Our transportation to the airport runs every half hour and we go to the port continuously on busy days from 11 am on. I apologize for the comments the desk clerk made and will work with them. If you feel there is a problem with your bill please feel free to contact the accounting department directly at 954-315-1303.
Don Friedman General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimini
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Suites are spacious, well equipped. AC can be regulated. 2 tv sets. Bathroom comfortable.
Fitness room on 12th floor, nice swimming pool outdoors.
Breakfast is plentiful and good. Can get quite crowded at the w/e, and lines for cooked food can get very long.
Location is good, there are shops (Publix, Ross) at walking distance, an Irish pub just across the road.
Had a very comfortable stay, even though the inside façades may look a bit like a prison. However, it is a price that I can easily pay for all the rest you get staying here.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor and it was very convenient because I could use the staircase to go to the swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiopesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#34 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,228 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing