We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should have closed for rehab....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Ranked #40 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New Port Richey, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They should have closed for rehab....”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

OMG we had reservations for one night before the cruise which was August 13th. We walked info the lobby, the smell of paint and lacquer was so overwhelming that I instantly got a headache.
We asked if they had another Hilton/embassy suites close by where they could accommodate our family, no way I would bring 2 small children into that environment.
It was TERRIBLE. We felt so bad for the girls at the front desk working, having to stay and put up with overwhelming stench.
First they told us we would have to pay for the rooms because we were cancelling within 24 hours. My daughter who is a scientist told them that they should not even be there that she was certain the rates given off by the fumes was at an unacceptable level.
Finally we were given the old Hilton at the Marina as a choice and they changed their minds on charging us for rooms we could not take.
At the other hotel, we got rooms at full price at total opposite ends of the tower and hotel. No special treatment for us even as honors reward members, thanks Hilton.

Room Tip: call ahead, make sure they aren't renovating
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    1,002
    502
    239
    137
See reviews for
1,036
925
94
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a go to for me when in the Ft. Lauderdale area. It is located near the cruise port, not far from the beach or the airport, and surrounded by basic shopping, restaurants, etc. Across 17th Street is Panaretto, a wonderful Italian restaurant. Make sure you try the orangcello. The breakfast at the Embassy is well diversified and the happy hour is fun although the carb overload snacks could be a bit better. The volume of people they handle explains the need to keep the snacks simple though. A wonderful place to stay for fun or business travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have stayed at the Embassy many times over the last few years. I do enjoy the free breakfast and the managers reception. The hotel is a bit dated, but is still nice. I like to stay on the side of the hotel that faces the port, on either the 11th or 12th floor so I can see the cruise ships. Usually, I do not experience any problems and generally when I do, they are taken care of expeditiously. They are currently in the process of updating the entire hotel so I will be interested to see how it turns out. That may change my rating from Average, to Very Good or Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed for 1 week in August. Have stayed at Embassy Suites in Hampton, VA many times and have always been impressed. The Embassy Suites in Fort Lauderdale does not compare.
1. Parking is $18 a day. Parking at a hotel ONE block away is absolutely free.
2. Wifi is &9.95 a day. Wifi at hotel one block away is free.
3. The hotel was very busy with many foreign guests and young people. It was noisy. We like a more calming atmosphere.
4. The breakfast was free. They only serve pork. No turkey bacon, sausage, etc.
5. The staff was polite and friendly.

This was our 3rd year visiting F. L. and we usually stay at the hotel down the street. We don't plan to ever stay at this Embassy Suites again. It wasn't totally bad. It is just not the place for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ChelsieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I think it unethical that no mention of this is made on their website. Most hotels do give warning. The entire top 2 floors are empty and there are work crews in place. As this hotel has the traditions open atrium configuration, there is no getting away from the noise.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank stephen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Embassy Suites more than met our expectations. From the warm and professional staff to the beautiful surroundings to the delicious food we were more than satisfied. We will not forget how well we were treated by everyone we encountered and how welcome we felt during our entire stay. We have been in a lot of hotels in our lives, but we have never felt more at home than we did at the Ft Lauderdale Embassy Suites. Thanks for a visit we will never forget. Our grandsons loved it too! All of us are counting the days till we can visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
3 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The place needs a remodel, it gets a lot of wear and tear, don't lift up the chair cushions and you'll be fine. But overall you won't find a better deal. Embassy suites with their free breakfast and happy hour always brings me back. Get to breakfast early and avoid the big crowd. Go to Gilbert's for dinner which is in walking distance. Easy to get to and from airport and general good service. Would give a higher rating but the rooms I stayed in were pretty worn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisakall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,313 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#53 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,762 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Address: 1100 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#27 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenient location of the Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street hotel surrounded by shopping and dining options. This all-suite hotel is close to Fort Lauderdale attractions including Port Everglades and Fort Lauderdale Beach. Relax in a two-room suite and experience more living area, a kitchenette and work space to catch up on business. Expect a number of great amenities such as a heated outdoor pool and a modern fitness center. You can even bring the family pet. Start the day with a complimentary cooked-to-order full breakfast and savor cocktails, soft drinks and light snacks at our nightly complimentary Evening Reception (Must be legal drinking age). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Embassy Suites
Embassy Suite Ft Lauderdale
Embassy Suite Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing