We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE SERVICE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #84 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE SERVICE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

The service was horrific!They gave us complimentary cocktails that we could never get. We stayed at this hotel from Monday through Wednesday and when we tried to get our complimentary drinks they said they're closed Mondays and Tuesday they were open til noon. We went before noon to get the drinks and the lady said the restaurant/bar was closed and told us to go across the street to Waffle House! We went to the front desk to ask when we could get our free drinks and they couldn't even answer us! How do you not have a clue what is going on? I am NEVER staying here again and I would not recommend it! The guy at the front desk asked us how may he help us and then backed away from the desk and never answered our questions just stayed there looking around the room. When we were first checking in there was a furious lady complaining about being robbed and coming back to the hotel to an open door to her room. Be smart and choose a different place to stay. They are rip offs and thieves!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reguila87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    357
    237
    145
    205
See reviews for
375
309
107
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We arrived early so they had a hard time finding a room for us. They finally found one. When we checked it out we saw about an 1 inch gap under the door. We noticed that it had a connecting door also. When we checked to see if it was locked we found the the dead bolt didn't work. We asked for another room. That room was somewhat better, but then later that night we saw a large cockroach crawl across the floor. When i went to kill him he dashed back under the safe. When he thought it was clear and came back out again I was waiting for him. The free breakfast wasn't much to talk about. I have a bad back and the bed was not kind to it. If I had a chance to stay here again I think I would pass.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKen32065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Kershaw, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were at this hotel Oct. 22-23, 2012. We were so pleasantly surprised when we stepped into our room. We were glad to see the tile floors. We have been in too many hotels that the carpet looks clean, but, when you step on it with bare feet, you can feel the grime. Since my husband has an ulcer on his foot, this was a welcome sight. The amenities were good for us, the bed comfortable and was a relaxing atmosphere. Our grandchidren enjoyed the pool very much and I found the pool area to be the best I've ever seen. It far exceeded the Embassy Suites in Tampa. As for the train...I grew up by a railroad track and I found it rather nostalgic to hear the trains go by. They did not interrupt my sleep. Jacques was very courteous and helpful and was pleased with the good customer service. At least at this hotel you get someone that can smile at you and give you a genuine "Thank You." Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room on ground floor if you want easy access to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Unless you enjoy hearing trains stay away
This hotel is located in such close proximirty of train tracks you will feel they are coming by your room
In addition they cater to large bus groups
Budget hotel and many better choices

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

The hotel is horrible and is in a sleezy neighborhood you have to be very afraid to go to sleep ..I strongly do not recommend this hotel at all the pictures are very deceiving . A train that runs right there and you hear it all night.do yourself a favor look some where else .so disappointed and a waste of money

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We were surprised at the grounds and overall appearance of the hotel. The room was really great with a beautiful view of the pool & tropical garden area. We received excellent service from the front desk clerk and front office supervisor Joel. We would definitely come back again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllenAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
310 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Well It was nicer than the picture from their website. Very busy hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, and modern. FAST internet, Wao better than hyatt internet and many channels to watch in cable. The pool is good, nice and big. amenities in bathroom are poor quality.

Room Tip: a room facing the pool is nicer, they also have suites and are larger than a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#91 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
6.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing