We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BLARING train outside window ALL NIGHT!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #88 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BLARING train outside window ALL NIGHT!!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We booked our room through Travelocity & what we thought was a good deal turned out to be A NIGHTMARE!! BLARING TRAIN RIGHT OUTSIDE WINDOW HONKING TRAIN HORN multiple times 2-3 times per hour ALL NIGHT!! RUDE woman at front desk refused to change our room! We checked in around 4:15 & immediately left our room & returned around 8:30. After 1 hour of the train my husband called & she said it was too late & was SO RUDE. NO SLEEP AT ALL, have to work all day! LIVID!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestCouple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    358
    241
    147
    211
See reviews for
380
313
108
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Went on a quick Florida trip with my family. We did not want to stay in Miami and wanted to save on hotel since we were going to be beaching it and out all day. When we first pulled up I was like omg we are so far from everything and the area was questionable. But once inside I loved the feel, quiet, clean and loved the romantic decor. Our room smelled musty and the A/C was loud. We were next to a pipe room on the first floor that made noise. The next morning I asked to be moved because I got no sleep at all from the pipes and a/c. Front desk girl had an attitude and told me I should of ask to be changed as soon as I got the room. I was like um how would I have predicted I was going to hear all this at night... She stayed quiet and told me to come get a new key. Lol After that, we loved our stay and even though we had to drive a little further out to get to locations, we didn't mind because the rates were worth it. I would stay again if I was pinching pennies.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is nice and the staff is nice, but not much use if you literally can't sleep because of the train blaring its horns every 30 minutes on the hour. Paid for to stay the weekend, but will have to cancel and find somewhere else. My recommendation is to go elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedevill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family weekend while moving into our new house. The room we got was really nice, extremely clean, with large seating and kitchen areas and all the comfort and amenities one may need at a hotel room, including WiFi and a very silent and efficient AC. The Front Desk and the housekeeper were very professional. At dinner we were pampered by Renata, who left us all really impressed with the elegant, impeccable service she displayed from the instant we stepped in the door until we left. The atmosphere at the outside restaurant terrace at night is very pleasant. I also found the location very convenient: at a major intersection, next to I-95, we were minutes away from the beach and easily connected to the rest of Fort Lauderdale. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chunguita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Recently stayed here before our Cruise. First impression was good as the Lobby and Pool area looked nice. The room and location was Terrible! First the TV and the remote did not work and the Safe could not be opened, If this was not bad enough, The TV kept coming on in the middle of the night by itself until I unplugged it. If that wasn't bad enough, The train kept you awake as it passed by! Stay somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messenger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were part of a large group staying overnight before our cruise the next day. Manager Joel went out of his way to accommodate our group as hospitably as he could and remained attentive to our needs. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool area and bar. Dinner was great. This is not the Ritz and the neighborhood is not Central Park and though we would not choose it for a resort vacation-style stay, we felt very comfortable and safe here and we had a very enjoyable stay! Our rate for the night was fantastic (though we were in off-season)! Joel especially deserves kudos for going above and beyond for our group. We would happily stop here again for a short stay.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a poolside room. Nicer view and more quiet. Be aware there is an acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gulfportmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel has different rooms and the rating differs but the service in the reception is soooooo good . one of them called maritxa. Well, she is daaaaaa best :D . I had a problem and yeah she got ma back . she is the bes

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sultan1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
2.8 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#75 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#92 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
6.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#28 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing