We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, upgraded rooms at a fantastic price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #96 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night. Wish we could have stayed more. Nice lobby, free parking, comfortable and upgraded rooms, beautiful pool area and bar. Busy at nights, weekends. Definitely a.must return for summer

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
There are newer reviews for Universal Palms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Me and my family stay for 4 days. The place needs a update rush! The house keeping very is bad. A lot of people smoking in the hallways. Since you got in smells like is very old and humid. Front desk personal was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shir05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We found this hotel on the last legs of our Florida vacation in December. It is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet in the restaurant is second to none for hotel breakfast!! Very reasonable prices. Pool area is beautiful. The pool is a bit too hot, but very nice. Lovely outdoor seating for dining at night. Staff beyond friendly. Lots of computers to use with a printer. Very nice area, lots around for dining, shopping and close to the airport. Wish we had found it sooner.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3rd floor and no noise, pool view which was very nice at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debb17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everything is good except the rail tracks ..just one ice machine works in the entire hotel..stairs and ice bending looks old and dirty ..but overall..it was good stay and confortable... the staff are very nice and friendly... maritxa was very kind ...its a lovely lady!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank carlosdegwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is more of a motel than a hotel. Access to rooms is via outside and not a hotel lobby. The rooms seemed clean, however, there were bugs crawling on some of the furniture. The location is in the middle of an industry area. There are barely any restaurants open in the area; there was only a Chili's, IHOP, and some small pizza shops. There isn't any entertainment in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berns R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

i will like to express my experience at this hotel by the front desk staff especially Ms Maritxa to be outstanding, they were very professional , cordial and most importantly gracious. The rooms is very clean and spacious and will recommend this to every one that want the best in travel accomondation

Room Tip: just book this hotel and you will get a good room
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Augustine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel was a very good place to stay before heading on our cruise and affordable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area was beautiful and the pool was warm. The staff was very helpful at the front desk. The soda machines won't take our dollar bills and they had change for us. The staff also gave us three rooms by the pool because the rooms with city views had a loud train go thru every hour at night. We barely heard it in our rooms. I would definitely stay at this hotel again before going on a cruise

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool are very quiet at night. The rooms with the city view have a train coming...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethKoopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cypress Creek
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cyp...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
731 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#78 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
215 reviews
6.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#29 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,432 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Tamarac
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Laud...
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
411 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Northeast
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Nor...
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £46 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing