We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If all you are looking for is a bed and a nice pool you found your place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #107 of 132 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Pro's
Quick check in.
Nice pool and outside area
Friendly front desk staff

Con's
No hot water (excuse was cruise go'ers use it up every morning)
No soap in broken dispenser (no bars all dispensers)
No conditioner (for hair)
LOUD air conditioning unit
Bugs (small white) entered room when a gummy vitamin was left on nightstand
Deactivated card key at midnight when returning to room (demagnitized?)
No HD channels
Bar and pool close at midnight
Breakfast buffet only 3 mornings a week
One elevator
Walls are paper thin so you can hear people on the outside hooting and hollering at all hours of the night as if they are inside of your room.

An overall OK experience, we were merely looking for a bed and this was essentially that.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abraam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very noisy place....Fancy name but average hotel......Queen beds were smaller than Queen beds.....Staff very friendly.....Didn't seem to be in the best of neighborhoods.....Pool area was very nice.....Cindy in the Bar & Grille was a hoot....Great food in the Bar & Grille.....Stayed there before and after our cruise.

Room Tip: Maybe choose inside room near pool.....Maybe not so noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I really enjoy my stay at this hotel , clean nice and at front desk very nice people"Julien" is a very polite ,and nice person . He knows how to talk to customer and how to fix the hotel mistakes . I wish him all the luck

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Souriante81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Jeff and Maritxa at the front desk were very helpful and VERY FRIENDLY. I've been living in hotels for work for about 5 years. Jeff and Maritxa are some of the best people I have met at any hotel. This is a great place and great people.

Room Tip: I like the top floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel needs some TLC. It could be a nice property but the exterior is dirty and not kept up. The exterior needs to be power washed and the landscaping needs to be manicured, also the parking lot need to be swept and cleaned. The rooms were clean enough and somewhat upgraded but the mattresses on the beds were innerspring mattresses and aside from being uncomfortable they squeaked every time you moved while on them.

The wifi does not work in the rooms 99% of the time and when it does it is so weak it drops out constantly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had to wait until check-in at 2;30(we got there at 10).They directed us to the pool area which was beautiful and serene.(until the train goes by, an airplane overhead, or motorcycles in the parking lot rev their engine.)But it was nice. Things looked gorgeous till you got up close. The pool ladder was broken, one of several fountains was malfunctioning and the tiles around the pool were loose. There are several cracks in the swimming pool, which didn't bother me, but just lead to the opinion that general upkeep was not great. Same with the rooms, cracks in the cement, paint peeling, all upkeep stuff. But it was for one night, and I got a good deal. On maps, it shows the hotel right next to the airport, but in reality the airport is 20-30 mins away.My son loved it that a Waffle House was next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainenewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed a short time, but I had a great experience the staff is super friendly, and the rooms are great, I would come back and stay here on my next trip to ft Lauderdale, the pool is also wonderful, it is a great atmosphere, don't hesitate to come and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purple4emmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#62 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
946 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Suites
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#47 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
219 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royal Beach Palace
Royal Beach Palace
#34 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95 Inn
Best Western Ft. Lauderdale I-95...
#68 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#25 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
1,539 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#77 of 132 in Fort Lauderdale
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £64 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing