We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Universal Palms Hotel
Ranked #92 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Colonia
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Horrible beds”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The bed squeezed and springs moved every time I moved. The train blowing and whistling by made for a terrible night sleep. The plus side to the hotel is, that pool! The pool was beautiful and serene! Loved the pool lobby is nice too

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillannefromnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    360
    247
    151
    217
See reviews for
385
321
108
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Omg.. where do I start. I guess at check-in. I was there for my baby sisters wedding, and i didn't know that she had requested rooms together, but I identified myself and the girl gave me a room key (on the first floor). We didn't recieve drink vouchers as we were promised on the website (which was fine seeing as we were exhausted). It had rained that day so the parking lot was a lake, so that made the short drive to the room exciting. After finding a dry spot so we could get out of the car without swimming we opened the door to our room to find concrete floors, and a room that smelled like mildew. We were too tired to care and we went to shower only to find no soap and no shampoo (there were dispensers for each, both empty). The beds were rock hard, the a.c. was almost louder than the trains that passed by every hour...almost. The bar in the lobby seems as though it was never opened, the t.v. was staticky with no channels, and the guest services people were rude. All that I could have dealt with. Seriously. But my baby sisters wedding reception was the kicker. Apparently they can't serve alcohol past 9 p.m. even though she had leased the room til 1 a.m. And they didn't tell her this until 8:55 p.m. Then when the few people who decised to stay and hang were eating cake, the staff started cleaning up the room like nobody was there. I don't mean taking the empties and staying out of the way. I mean rudely grabbing bottles and blowing out candles at tables people were still sitting at! Her coordinator stood at the door glowering at everyone, and acting like we ruined his night because we were hanging out at 9:15 in a room that was leased until 1 a.m. I Have never been in a more bootleg establishment, and I will NEVER go there again. It's cheap...all around.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

During the 30+ years I have been 'on the road' this is one of, if not the, worst hotel I have ever stayed at!

It advertises full hot breakfast buffet - but this morning when I asked where it is served... I was told it is only available Friday and Saturday. I picked up one of the 10 bright yellow signs around the lobby that promise a full breakfast buffet - and asked the receptionist to comment.... after a moment of thought she said "Ho, they must have forgotten to put the days it is available'!

Trains - if you like trains this is the place for you... for those that like to sleep.... stay away.
The trains run next to this note 24/7 and sound their horns as they approach the level-crossing outside the hotel...... It sounds like the train are IN the room with you.

The advertised restaurant is not open.

The quality of the room furnishings is abysmal.

The bed is the cheapest hardest, noisiest (cheap springs!) and most uncomfortable imaginable.

The cleanliness of the room is akin to the NYC subway.

The doors to the room show marks of where someone tried (or succeeded) to open them with a crowbar.

My advise - sleep in your car - you will get a better night's sleep!

Room Tip: If you need a good room - for a good night's sleep - chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Beds were not comfortable .No fridge in the room .No free breakfast offered
Too expensive per night for the few amenities.Two seniors will go to a different hotel next stay.
The location was good for being close to the Isle of Capri Casino

Room Tip: Ask for pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricknjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel just to sleep and have a good and cheap breakfast when you wake up, then this hotel is nice...nice service, room clean...you get what you pay but in this case I'm impressed. ..we pay 51$per night and stay two nights and for that price we are more than satisfied. ..close to the 95 and the turnpike. ..beautiful beaches near by...holliwood and las olas ft. The closest the better and those are my favorite 2... the one thing that I hate a little bit was the noisy train that passes by but it's ok...best are good the air conditioning worked great. ..clean bathroom. ..nice neighborhood. ..what else would we ask for...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very nice place ,if you are not looking for luxury 5 star stay . Very clean and neat ,you can tell that management is really putting an effort into cleanliness and service . It's a hotel with 5 star mind set ,good job ,will keep coming back . Also , front desk ladies (Maritxa ) ,awesome customer service and willingness to attend needs and requests .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to give it a try but only in a poolside room as we didn't want to hear the train noise. I spoke to 2 different people who assured me we would be poolside. When we got there Maritxa grabbed my confirmation paper and disappeared into the back for about 10 min. without any explanation. Then Danella came out and I told her what had happened. She told me that we were not down for poolside and the person who had made the reservations for me was no longer there. She said there were no rooms available poolside but then if I were to pay more there were some rooms! I agreed as we were tired of standing there and just wanted to get into the room. The pool area does not look as it does in the pictures. The pool is small and there are homeless people living in the "lush tropical gardens". It is a bad part of town and we didn't feel safe. Even poolside you hear the train horn, even with the loud AC on and the tv on you hear it! Not only do you hear that but you hear everything going on at the pool. There was a fight in the pool area at 5am one morning and then there was a group of very loud teens at the pool 2 nights in a row making a lot of noise until after midnight. The in room safe is a joke, it's on the floor and rusted! The room is old and the beds are very squeaky, you can't get in or out of it without making noise. There were no washcloths, conditioner, bath mat, teabags, micro, or fridge in our room. The shampoo and soap are in dispensers which don't work very well. The air conditioner worked but it was extremely loud. The only good thing was the 2 ladies who worked in the restaurant/bar (you get 2 free drinks at check in) Cindy and Reeva (not sure of the spelling). They were awesome and we enjoyed our meal & drinks. Oh, one thing I forgot to mention that we had in the room..... A WORM!!! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Also when I checked out they didn't even look at me or ask me how my stay was! I guess they know how everyone's stay is... TERRIBLE!!

Room Tip: You hear the train no matter where you are it's right next to the hotel and you can't get aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cinipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cypress Creek
Hampton Inn Ft. Lauderdale - Cyp...
#54 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
724 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
213 reviews
6.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
827 reviews
6.2 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Palms Hotel

Property: Universal Palms Hotel
Address: 4900 Powerline Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309-3113
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Palms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Universal Palms Hotel is one block from Lockhart Stadium in the Cypress Creek business district, 11 miles from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, and 4 miles from the beach. Adjacent to Interstate 95, the hotel is four miles east of Florida's Turnpike and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, nine miles from downtown Fort Lauderdale (Las Olas Boulevard), 10 miles from Port Everglades and Coconut Creek Casino, 13 miles from Sawgrass Mills, and 24 miles from Sawgrass Recreation Park (Everglades). Hotel amenities include the sundeck and pool, garden courtyard and exercise room. The hotel also offers free parking, Wi-Fi access in lobby and pool areas, and one of the largest pools in Ft. Lauderdale. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Universal Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palacio Fort Lauderdale
Hotel El Palacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing