We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was terrible.”
Review of Lafayette Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lafayette Motel
Ranked #115 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel was the worst experience of my life. First the rooms are way outdated. Second the pool was not heated. 3rd my kids were afraid to stay in the room so was I. There were cockroaches everywhere. In our dresser, kitchen, even outside our door. My 5 kids who are teenagers were afraid to even sleep. We had to sleep with a light on so the cockroaches wouldn't get to us. I also had to get cockroach spray at 1 in the morning because we couldn't handle it.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabyjuszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

Cheap place to stay but not good. Dirty out of date dark rooms. Not great service. Book at your own risk!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenkinscm2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I Stayed here for 1 full day prior to taking a cruise. Although it was not right on the beach and not close to the party scene it was a pleasant stay. We were able to check in early, and then the next day check out late for a small fee. There is no food outlet or store right at the site, but there is plenty a short walk up the road, where we found a nice breakfast nook, pharmacy, and plenty of shops.
Pool was well kept, room had a large refrigerator, lots of eateries will deliver there.
Housekeeping staff were terrific, and manager was also very helpful.
If you are not into real big luxury, but want something of value for a good price got there.

Room Tip: ask to check in early or request an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bostonman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

At least there were no bedbugs! But that may be because the roaches ate them. My mother stayed in the room next door and stayed up all night killing roaches. The front desk did give a can of bug spray to help. I'm just glad we didn't bring any home. The building is really old and needs updating. What can I say...you get what you pay for, nothing more.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KariLex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The absolute worst "hotel" i've ever been to in my life! Our room clearly had not been cleaned before we got there, there were tags off the previous guests clothes on the floor so if the surface was not cleaned i know nothing had actualy been washed.

The sheets and comforter were full of sand
The floor was so dirty it turned your feet black
There was mold on the ceiling in the shower
We woke up to cockroaches everywhere
Hair all over the bathroom
The sink didnt work right .. in fact i felt i was going to be dirtier if i used the shower
not only was is nasty but the door didnt even lock.. with the door closed there were half inch gaps all the way around
its not exactly in the best area, so 4 girls far away from home i felt unsafe. when we complained the man behind the counter did nothing but get mad and acted very unprofessional and was no help at all

all in all .. worst trip ever..in fact i left for home the very next morning
stay far away!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gledhill_07517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Staying in Fort Lauderdale proper for a reasonable rate in February is not an easy task, but the Lafayette Motel is an outstanding value for price and room size. The rooms are large, with the aforementioned stove/full size fridge, cupboards, etc. Yes they are somewhat rusty, but the appliances work, and that is the main thing.

The bathroom is good sized, and there is an additional sink on the outside of the room, which is nice. There is good water pressure in both the shower and the toilet flush.

The room air conditioner works okay, but does not get ice cold like I prefer. It is functional, though.

It is a two minute walk to the beach with easy access, i.e., no "private entrance" to negotiate.

There is a Hess gas station about a 15-20 minute walk north to stock up on snacks, beverages, and the like. It is on the same side of the road.

Las Olas Bld is a 5-7 minute drive south. We did not walk it, but it would a good distance, probably around 25-30 minutes.

The best part of the hotel was the staff. The owner was very friendly and helpful when the internet was not working in the lobby. He appreciates a kind word, and his Lafayette Motel is worthy of such. The other members of the staff were helpful as well, what with giving directions and such.

If you don't expect a five star hotel, the Lafayette Motel will fit the bill for most people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheap_Chump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

THE HOTEL WAS OLD AND OUTDATED.it smelled and was rundown. the refrigerator was moldy. the staff was helpful. wouldnt stay there again. it was a block from the beach. far from the main tourist area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
3.9 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#104 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,423 reviews
4.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Fort Lauderdale - Cypress Creek - Andrews Ave.
Extended Stay America - Fort Lau...
#94 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
48 reviews
1 mi away
Casitas Coral Ridge
Casitas Coral Ridge
#39 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Mile Hotel
Ocean Mile Hotel
#113 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
66 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
Crown Inn Fort Lauderdale
#96 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Hai Motel
Bali Hai Motel
#88 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Motel

Address: 2231 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-1997
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lafayette Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lafayette Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing