We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value at great location”
Review of Lafayette Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lafayette Motel
Ranked #115 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 26 March 2010

mr ray at the front desk is the best part of the hotel, even though its facilities are from the 50's this place is a spot for a quiet vacation. do not let the other revies talk u out of thi place. before i checked in i read the some of the bad revies on this site and prepared myself by bringing a fan for the subpar a/c unit which worke in my room but overall the place was clean. if you travel by car a fan will help. this place is just steps from an un crowded beach area. and if u cant walk a few steps the pool was just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elkridgeElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

Wow, where do I begin? I went to Fort Lauderdale for a wedding and stayed at Lafayette Motel. I booked on hotels.com and it did not say it was a motel. The room I reserved was supposed to have a kitchenette and one queen bed and the room had no kitchenette and two double beds. The elevators were out of date from 2008, there was a dead bird in the plant near the elevator, there was very little lighting at night and we did not feel safe. The rooms were very dirty, disgusting and very run down. I would never recommend this place and I wish I would've stayed elsewhere. I paid 88 dollars a night and that is way too much for a dump like this.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigJoeboski2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I thought the hotel was rather run down. There were a lot of small problems and inconvenience in our room. The Air conditioner only had one way it could be on, loud and on high. The toilet made a high pitch noise every time you flushed that would last about 1-2 minutes. It felt dirty even though we did not visualize the dirt, we did not want to take our shoes off in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

When staying at motels you generally run the risk of having a sub-par accommodations. This place was really, really sub-par. It was kind of nasty really. The whole building is dark and unwelcoming. The check in desk is a small stuffy "room". The person behind the front desk was friendly but that's about the highlight of this place.

The room is dark, the AC was not working, floors were dirty kind of sticky - definitely do not walk barefoot, I didn't even want to walk with my socks since I'd have to throw them away afterward. The bathroom was also just dingy feeling. There was a "kitchen", which I definitely didn't need, but it was there and it was the worst thing that you could imagine.

On the plus side there was free wireless and it was sort of close to the airport for my flight out in the morning.

Definitely would not stay in this place again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wackydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This was the absolute wost motel ever. Sticky and dirty floors, stained sheets, leaky pipes on tile floors, shower does not work properly, internet did not work from room as promised, bugs everywhere, and overall a dirty mess. if you value your health and that of your family or friends, stay elsewhere! Staff unresponsive and could not code entry cards properly, so had to have them recoded daily. Stressful visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank touristnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

It is old yes ,but it is clean and everything is in order.
The staff is so nice they do not know all the good they can do for you.They help you all the time.
The beach is 2 min. away and it is wonderful.
I can recommend this place, I was very happy that we should not live in the terrible noise in mid town Fort Lauderdale.
Many thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

Stayed 1 night here and yes, it is old motel, right on A1A which is a lot of traffic. We actually thought it was pretty ok for the 100 bucks that we paid for the night. The room was ok, pretty standard for the motels that are in the Fort Lauderdale area and that aren't new hotels built skyhigh. So - yes, we would stay there another time, but if you expect a brand new place with all new rooms, then this is not the place. If you need a place with an nice pool, and cheap room compared to some of the other motels here, then this is ok.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
3.9 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#101 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,415 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#94 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Club Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Hotel
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Suites
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
202 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Mile Hotel
Ocean Mile Hotel
#113 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
65 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bali Hai Motel
Bali Hai Motel
#89 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Motel

Address: 2231 N Ocean Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33305-1997
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £59 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lafayette Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lafayette Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing