We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than we expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way better than we expected!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We travel each October for 5 days, and Lago Mar was our pick this year based on the reviews. We have a 4 and 7 year old, and Lago Mar was the perfect place for our family! The room was very comfortable, the staff was great, and the beach was spectacular! A very quiet, family friendly atmosphere with awesome views of the pool and the beach from the cheapest rooms. Very upscale feeling, and with a fresh renovation outside, it's very comfortable to lounge around by the pools, on the beach, or at the tiki bar.

If you are coming with your kids -

DO: rent a car. There are plenty of attractions within 20 or 30 minutes of the resort for the family. Plus, you can run down to the local Publix or Winn Dixie to get food and drinks to stock the kitchen (a total plus). I

DO: ride the Jungle Queen boat tour. It's about 3 hours of relaxation, and your kids will see a great alligator show! This tour runs at 1:30 every afternoon and is about 60 bucks for a family of 4, but totally worth it. If you don't have a car, a cab would cost about 10 dollars each way to get there.

DO: book a photo session with Michael, the resident photographer. He has a great eye and knows the great places to get fantastic pictures for your family! You can find him bartending at the tiki bar when he isn't behind the lens.

DO: leave some room to bring back sea shells in your suitcase. My girls brought back 7 lbs!

DON'T: bring towels. They provide plenty of towels in the room and turndown service is daily. There are clean, fluffy towels available for the pool and beach, too!

DON'T: get a two bedroom unit. The one bedroom unit comes with a big couch that has two separate twin pullout beds. Those worked perfect for our kids! I wouldn't recommend these for older kids or adults, though.

DON'T: buy beach toys for the kids when you get there (offsite, of course). There are plenty of people (like us) who have donated toys over the years, so there are plenty to go around!

Obviously, we were big fans of the resort, and we will go back!

Room Tip: Rooms were very comfortable! Kitchen comes with a small fridge, freezer, Keurig, toaster, microwave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank studndave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,514
    604
    129
    53
    29
See reviews for
1,195
594
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our 3 day/4 night stay at Lago Mar. We stayed in the one bedroom poolside suite. This mini vacation was everything we could want. Plenty of stuff to keep my husband and I happy along with our 10 and 8 yr old. Lagoon pool was great to lounge by while the kids swam around. The private beach was also wonderful!! It was clean, peaceful and very relaxing. We felt like we were on an island in the Caribbean. All of the staff were wonderful, they live to serve and make their guests happy. We all enjoyed our stay so much that we booked our Spring Break trip there. Can't wait to go back!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MEclasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
274 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have been coming to Lago Mar for over twenty years and stayed more than once some years. Our favorite room type is the Executive Suite in the South building because it fits our needs so well. It has a beautiful bedroom seperated from the living room area by French doors that are great when someone wants to get up earlier than the other. The bathrooms are huge with seperate stall showers and full bath tubs as well. There is a small kitchenette which is just what we need with microwave, sink, small refrigerator and table settings for maybe four. The balconies overlook either the pool area/beach or the condo units next door with an angled view of the beach. The views this trip seemed more obstructed than in the past due to the Palm trees growing much taller.
The new bar granite top in the pool side bar came out great as did the new pool surface at the larger pool.
One of the reasons we enjoy this place is that the staff are great and many or them have been here for years and always seem to remember you and welcome you back. There did seem to be some new faces this trip but they are equally friendly and helpful.
I thought the price of the breakfast buffet was high but we just chose to have breakfast either somewhere else or got some pastries from Publix.
The fact that this hotel doesn't charge for parking, WIFI or a resort fee really makes quite a difference. While some people say that the resort is a little isolated we actually look forward to being in a less hectic area directly on the beach. If you don't have a car there are many places to dine within a $5 to $10 cab ride.
We'll be comomg back for many more years and hope the Banks family continue to own this resort and keep up their quality standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

For years every time we spent 1 or more nights in Fort Lauderdale we have stayed here, and every time we come back, it feels like home. The staff remembers us, and they always make us feel welcomed. The rooms are very clean and well kept. There is nothing old except the charm here. We will not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: For 2 people the regular room is fine. The one bedroom suite is better for 3 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMA411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I came to Lago Mar while pregnant last year. I came back with hubby and baby this year. The 1 bedroom suite was clean and well furnished, but why makes it top not is the staff. we had a wonderful time and we will come back again . only 1 drawback : it should be forbidden to smoke around the family pool where kids play and swim... hope I'll be read !

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mellovesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
352 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Really nice hotel, right on the beach, great pools, handy patio bar next to the main pool. Although the breakfast buffet was good, I thought it was expensive, so if you can find a package including breakfast it would certainly be worth considering doing that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

To paraphrase Lou Gehrig's farewell speech :"I feel like the luckiest man on the face of the earth". Let me start by saying I live in the area and to be able to take a short drive to this truly idyllic place is a wonderful thing. I have been coming to Lago Mar ever since I moved to the area in 2006 and it never disappoints. A world class resort in my back yard...how much luckier can you get. The resort has been family owned since, I think, the 1950's, an accomplishment all by itself. You are made to feel welcomed by everyone who works there, and some of the faces have been there for as long as I've been going there, many longer than that. That in itself speaks volumes about the quality of the place. It is a consistent AAA Four Diamond Award winner.

The resort is a little off the beaten path of A1A (the main beach "drag" in Ft. Lauderdale), which is part of its allure. No need to cross a busy road to get to the beach, just walk out from your room, through the pool area, and there it is. A private beach that has to be the deepest beach in all of South Florida. The whole resort is beautifully landscaped and not a leaf is out of place. Two amazing pools and did I mention the BEACH!

We took advantage of a couples massage at the spa, a treat that should not be missed. The rooms are beautifully furnished and are kept up to date, as is the entire resort. My favorite is one of the executive suites that overlook the main pool. I believe most, if not all, of the rooms have a balcony that's perfect for a morning cup of coffee. You can watch the ships coming and going from the port. There is a daily breakfast buffet in the main dining room or go to the Soda Shop for lighter fare, my personal preference. They recently completed some renovations that included new decking around the pools and the most gorgeous piece of granite (green marbled) I've ever seen at the pool bar. It's close to all the attraction's in Ft. Lauderdale, we had tickets for Chicago at the Broward Performing Arts Center, a first rate theater venue. Many fine dining places are available just a short drive from the hotel (just ask the concierge), or you can dine inside or out at the hotel itself

All I can say is keep up the good work and I hope that the Bank's family continues to own and run this place for decades to come. It's a true treasure. People come from all over the world to stay here, you will hear many different languages, and its right in my back yard. How lucky can a person be.

Room Tip: My personal favorite is one of the executive suites with a view of the pool and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonCoralSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing