We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Lago Mat is one of my favorite places. The staff is awesome! Everyone is friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful. We have stayed there twice in the last year and only wish I could have stayed longer. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for some place quiet and serene.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Udflyer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    592
    129
    52
    29
See reviews for
1,179
584
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

To celebrate my mother’s 85th birthday, we vacationed at Lago Mar. We originally thought that we might return to either St. Kitts or St. Martin but, due to hurricane season, we decided instead to visit Fort Lauderdale. I should preface this by stating that my parents had condos in Fort Lauderdale for years, we normally vacation in Aruba each summer and have always stayed in high-end resorts. Lago Mar was a revelation. The décor is Old Florida, Tommy Bahama-style which is exactly my cup of tea. If you’re looking for modern, minimalistic or European style, this is not the resort for you. I flew in from Baltimore and my mother flew in from Philadelphia. We were due to arrive within 15 minutes of each other but, due to a downpour, my mother’s flight was delayed by close to 3 hours. I took a taxi to the hotel and was shown to a standard hotel room. It was a lovely room in the south building but the balcony overlooked the parking lot and there was just a glimpse of the beach and ocean. I called the front desk to request, at the very least, a pool view room and was told to check the next morning for availability. The next day we were shown a 1 bedroom executive suite in the north building with a view of the lagoon pool, the putting green, the tennis court and the beach. We elected to move even though it meant I had to sleep on the pull-out sofa in the living room which turned out to be very comfortable.
The grounds are beautiful as are the pools and the massive beachfront. The mosaic tile floor in the lobby is magnificent. We ate lunch at the pool bar, breakfast at the onsite restaurant and then discovered the beachfront restaurant for lunch. We did not eat dinner onsite as we preferred to visit restaurants on the inter-coastal waterway. As others have said, the hotel is somewhat isolated but there are lots of restaurants off the 17th Street Causeway and, if you have a vehicle, nothing is very far away. All of the employees we came in contact with were very pleasant and helpful. The only improvement I can think of is to bar children younger than 18 from the adult pool. We only visited one day and there were numerous children cannon-balling into the water and one mother actually put her small daughter (approximately 4-5 years old) in the deep end of the pool (9 feet) and then wondered why she was frightened.
As an indicator of how much we enjoyed the property, we are considering skipping Aruba this summer and staying for 10 days in a 2 bedroom suite at Lago Mar. We really enjoyed our stay and miss having coffee on the balcony in the morning and watching the ships come and go.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main or north building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArubaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Lago Mar offers everything you can imagine for a fun filled Family Vacation. It's clean, friendly staff, great food, our children loved the ice cream shop! We had a one bedroom suit with a kitchen, facing the ocean! The MOST BEAUTIFUL SUNRISES YOU'D EVER SEE! Our family can not wait to go back. Lago Mar is a perfect place for any age! They accommodated a crib and high chair for our entire stay. Thank you Lago Mar!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanbeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I just returned from my first visit at the Lago Mar yesterday and I still can't believe what a wonderful time I had and what a beautiful place the Lago Mar is. I went with 2 friends to celebrate a milestone birthday. The birthday girl wanted beach and relaxation and believe me, thats what she got. From the minute we drove into the front of the building we knew this place was different.

Next up, our room. We reserved a 2 bedroom Oceanfront Suite and all I can say is WOW. This room was gorgeous. It was so large we laughed that we got our exercise just walking from the living room to the back bedroom. The beach was right outside the patio door. Everyone morning we sat there drinking coffee and watching the sunrise. The room also had 2 bathrooms and a kitchenette. It would be perfect for a group or family.

The grounds were amazing. 2 pools, tennis courts, mini golf, a towel hut with clean, fresh towels and a pitcher full of ice cold water was a nice touch for the hot days. The pool bar was hugh and a great place to get an ice cold drink during the hot days.

The staff was exceptional. Everyone was friendly and always chatting with us. Upon our arrival, We had 3 men come out to greet us. They took our bags and valeted our car (free parking too). All 3 were very friendly. The front desk staff were very welcoming. My friend and I surprised the birthday girl with having flowers & balloons delivered for a surprise. Michael in Concierge and Eric in Reservations were so helpful in setting that up. I can't thank them enough for that she was so surprised. They both went above and beyond. Tina at the front desk was always pleasant to deal with. We call numerous times for ice and Kcups. She always called back to make sure we got what we needed.

When I got home I told my family that we have found a new vacation spot. I have already told my coworkers what a wonderful time I had and that they have to visit the Lago Mar, they won't be disappointed. I am looking forward to my next visit. If airfare wasn't so high, I'd be there for Thanksgiving.

All in all, it was a perfect weekend and I honestly believe the Lago Mar had a lot to do with that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My kids learned to swim in their amazing pool. What a great hotel. Amazing rooms, great restaurants poolside, great service. Expensive but you get what you pay for. You feel like a star at the hotel. It is centrally located to everything and you can walk. What a fun place. Looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Ask for water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADNYC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 24 year old daughter for 4 nights. The room request I had put in for in advance was granted and was exactly what I had asked for. We had an executive one bedroom suite on the top floor with a view of the pool and beach. The room was very nice and the bathroom was huge!! Perfect for three adults. Also, the rooms were very quiet. We did not hear anything in the rooms next to us or in the hallways at night. Very good for sleeping!
The pool and beach area were beautiful. Has a very nice beach bar also.
The second night we were there we had our pictures taken by Michael, the photographer at the hotel. He did an excellent job! Not only does he take pictures on the beach but around the property also. He is very friendly and took some excellent pictures. Cannot recommend him enough if this is something you're thinking of doing.
What makes this hotel stand out though to me, besides the beautiful private beach, are the employees. Every employee we came in contact with went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. One morning I called down for some extra towels and they were there in 5 minutes and then called to make sure we had everything we needed. The valet and bellmen in the lobby were so friendly and helpful. Every time we left the hotel they made sure to ask if we needed directions or recommendations. I cannot say enough about the valets and the staff in the lobby. Exceptional!!
Overall, this is a beautiful property. If you plan on leaving the hotel at all though you will need a car as it is a distance from restaurants, shopping, etc. I feel this is more of a hotel for families with small children but was very pleased with our stay and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smattIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is our third time staying at the Lago Mar but I can see changes in the hotel. The rooms definitely need an updating. The beds are comfortable but the bedding is beginnng to look like a cheap hotel. When do you see bedspreads on hotel beds any more. A nice white duvet that can be washed between guests would be more appropriate. Also, I hate to see rugs in hotel rooms, I just visualize everything that's on the floor that I can's see. If you have children then this is the place for you. The lagoon pool had so many children screaming you could not hear yourself think, a better alternative was the adult pool. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindyligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing