We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Start to Our Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Lago Mar Resort for one night at the start of our 10 day vacation. The location is perfect - right on the quiet end of the beach, but just a short drive from the airport. Check-in was fast and easy. The parking lots were pretty full so it took a while to find a spot. Bell man took our luggage to our room, which was located on the second floor in the back of the hotel. Not much of a view from the balcony, but we booked an inexpensive room for a one night stay (we checked in around 6:30 pm and left at 11:00 am the next morning for the Keys).
We did have a chance to walk around the property and it was very nice. The beach was huge. We noticed a sign saying there is a fee to rent chairs and umbrellas. There were several bars and restaurants to choose from and we ended up having dinner outside of the main restaurant area on a large patio. We ordered from the bar menu because we did not want to have a huge meal after flying all day. Food was good and reasonably priced. Our room was huge! We had a separate bedroom and living room with a small refrigerator and microwave. They also had a Keurig coffee maker. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. The next morning we had breakfast at the Soda Shop, which was located almost under our room. It was very convenient and the food was delicious. Checkout was again fast and easy. A bellman was available to take our luggage from the room to the car. We left the Lago Mar feeling well rested and refreshed. The only negative was that we were there such a short time that we really didn't get to fully experience the resort or beach. But our short stay was very pleasant!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 2,478 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

The best hotel we have stayed in for many years. Perfect location on the beach.
Great pools and very friendly staff-especially at the pool bar. Remembered our drinks by day 2.
Try and get an Ocean Suite. Fantastic size of rooms and views. Very clean everywhere and no noise.
We will certainly go back again and congratulations to the family owners.

Room Tip: Floor 5 , ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Browchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My family and I spent a long weekend at lago mar hotel in the beginning of June and had a great time. Hotel was clean and service was great. We ate twice at the main dining room and the food was delicious and service was great, chef even came out to see how everything was, which you don't see anymore. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I honestly don't think I could actually say anything bad about Lago Mar!! Our room, the pools, the grounds and the staff are wonderful. The private beach is huge so you feel like your on your own private beach. We have 12 year old twins and there are so many things for them to do, they never got bored. This is definitely our family's new yearly vacation spot!!!
I read many trip advisor comments when planning our trip. So many people said that getting family portraits done by Michael Holmes, was a must. I can't even put into words how great Michael was to work with, and the portraits are absolutely amazing!! Michael Holmes' pictures truly made our vacation!!!! We will definitely book him again next year!!!
Do not hesitate booking both Lago Mar and Michael Holmes!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nashj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I had looked at the reviews and looked to make a reservation at this place - but cancelled a month out. Then I got a charge on my AMEX that they billed me for one night. When I called - they said - "sorry" - you need to keep your cancellation number.

This is never an issue for "reputable" hotel chains like Marriott, Hyatt, Hilton. The Largo Mar website evidently doesn't translate well to these types of request.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank defore4735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mr. defore4735, Please accept my apology for any misunderstanding about cancelling your reservation. Please contact me at 954-523-6511 to discuss the one night charge. Thank you,
James Pancallo, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Upon arriving, we run into Michael Wells, the assistant general manager. Lucky us, as he assisted us to the front desk and made sure we got the best room possible. It's been nothing but pleasant since we arrived. We're very grateful to find such a hands on staff, in the days where every hotel now has become so corporate it's great to find an independently owned property that's ran so eloquently as Lago Mar is. More than anything it's nice to see how many generations return year after year and now we have found a place we can bring our little ones to some day. Thank you to Michael, the amazing front desk, and all the staff at the pool, beach, at Acquario Restaurant and room service. You have made our stay even more special than we imagined it would be. ..

Signed,
Room 514 :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabsKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This resort is a must if staying in Ft. Lauderdale. We had 4 family's staying there and other family visiting from the area for 5 days. Nothing but GREAT. 2 pools....activities for the kids (ping pong, mini golf, shuffle board, hammocks, tiki huts.....and Beach front. The food was great from the outside bar and grill and the staff was great and very helpful. AA++++ from me and my family and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,617 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,177 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,825 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,030 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#17 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £165 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Splitty, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing