We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Great Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are looking for an old school, luxury resort then look no further than Lago Mar. With a quiet private beach, great pool, amenities, and rooms there is nothing more to ask for. With an Oceanfront suite you can enjoy the views and the shade, or spend time on the beach and avoid the crowds of other beaches in the area. The food is good with the pool side bar being the best ambiance. We also enjoyed working with their onsite photographer Mike, which was a nice surprise to be able to do. We didn't have any real reason to do photographs, it had been a long time and the convenience of doing them in such a picturesque location was great.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnonymousChicago0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

First off this is probably the most beautiful hotel I have ever been at. The grounds are great, the rooms large, well appointed and neat, the common areas are luxurious, The staff were friendly from the front desk to housecleaning. Everyone did their job perfectly. But its not what they say but what they don't say. The biggest omission is that no one tells you until you have this problem, there is no cash accepted at the resort. Whether its the bar their restaurants (I'll get to that in a minute) or the sundries store, soda shop or clothing store. Everything MUST be charged to your room. I sat in the lobby and heard the poor staff explaining again and again that no cash or credit cards were taken, that everything must be charged to your room, i was there an hour and heard that being explained at least 8 times. Though I understand why they do this,. It should be explained when you make reservations. The next thing they don't tell you is the two restaurants, one a more family oriented one and then then top of the line restaurant. But again that's not two restaurants they just change the name at night. As I am writing this I am looking to my right to see more complaints about the same thing, no cash accepted. What is funny to me is that right by the elevator what do you think they have in the lobby? An ATM machine!!!!!!!
Great place but it's not what they say , but what they don't say, you have to look out for.

Room Tip: The best buy is the King Suite it is huge and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldtimernr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My family stayed for three nights in June and are already planning a return trip. The rooms were nice and there are several types to choose from. We had a 1 bedroom, 1.5 bath which was perfect for 4 of us. The beach was amazing, I was worried about the channel for the ships being close to the resort and making the water choppy but it was not a problem at all, in fact we loved watching the ships pass. I recommend the beach umbrella and chairs for $25.00 a day, we got to come and go as we pleased and enjoy the shade of an umbrella during the hot afternoon hours. The food was really good although I would have preferred a larger variety. The location of the resort makes a car important if you want to travel to other areas in Fort Lauderdale, which we did and enjoyed however we also missed the peace of the beach when away from the resort. Publix is close by and with a kitchen in the room you can stock up on water/snacks etc. The staff was also top notch, from the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeeper everyone was pleasant and happy to help. With 100 % certainty I can say that this is the best family vacation we have taken in 10 years and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We did not know what to expect on July Fourth weekend..but what a joy!
We arrived Tuesday at noon, and were able to have an early check in (per availability I'm sure)
There are a lot of families that return year after year..you can tell..staff greet most by name with hugs and handshakes..
(I heard Happy Birthday quite a few times in passing) Charming!
We had an oceanfront suite with just enough kitchen..large balcony..two full baths..tons of closet space..and oh by the way, no fee to park car. No Fee To Park Car
We have been going to The Cloister pre renovation and Lyford Cay for years now..and this has that Old World Florida Charm one comes to expect, but is a lost art..not here!
Join The Club..Join The Family..we have!

Room Tip: Ocean front means just that..some rooms are pool and garden view..albeit beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102MarionV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We checked in on Wed July 2nd and were assigned a 1st floor 1 bedroom pool view suite. The only thing we could see from our balcony was bushes and palm trees. The resort was pretty much open access with no security in sight. On July 4th there was a major influx in guests do to the club members utilizing the facility. We went outside at 9am and couldn't find a pool chair anywhere. All the members arrived early with coolers and took control of the property. Apparently they have 3,000 club members who are able to utilize the facilities at there leisure. To make a long story short I wasn't happy about paying $330 a night and not being able to enjoy the resort. They should of advised us upon making the reservation that this secluded resort would turn into a zoo on the long weekend. They have approx 160 rooms and suites and it felt like a 1,000 people around the 2 pools and bar. Then we left to eat dinner downtown by the beach only to return and not being able to find a parking space. I wasn't sure if this was because of the extra club members on property or because the public was parking here to walk to the beach and see the fireworks. Security should of been more present today in my opinion. All in all was a o.k resort without any WOWS, and next time I spend $330 a night it will be somewhere else. We came here to relax and only had stress. Then my kids come back from the beach at 3pm only to find housekeeping just starting to clean our suite. Really 3pm and your just starting....

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Ryanroberto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

While the hotel and staff were very nice, we were shocked at check in by the fact that this is a "cash free hotel." Which meant that when we checked in they wanted to charge me $400.00 up front on my debit card for unforseen charges. This means that since the hotel doesnt take any cash or credit cards on sight, they charge a $75.00, per day, amount to your credit card. This is for anything that costs money beyond the room...for example, a pop at the hotel store or a cabana at the beach. I was not told about this charge and since I only use a debit card, they were going to charge me a total of 400.00 on the day we checked in and then refund any leftover amount when we checked out!!! I had to save for this trip and the amount on my card was going to be used for our vacation. I told them they couldnt take that money so we essentially could not purchase anything at the hotel, not even a water!! It is totally rediculous and made me very upset. I will never visit this hotel again just for that reason!! NOT COOL!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, General Manager at Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Kellie S, thank you for your review. Like most resorts, at time of check-in we do pre-authorize a credit card for the approximate cost of your stay at Lago Mar Resort. All hotel outlet charges are posted to your room folio. At the time of your departure you can keep all expenditures on a credit card or pay with cash if you choose. Please accept my apology for not being clear about our charging policies. I hope you reconsider and return to Lago Mar Resort in the future. Contact me at 954-523-6511 if you have any further questions or concerns.
Best regards, James Pancallo, GM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Family coming off the Allure for one night stay found a wonderful resort. Close to cruise port and airport. Would have appreciated complimentary transfers. Room requested was delivered and very, very spacious. Staff was friendly and food was good,though a little pricey. Best part for granddaughter was the pool. Beach was close and they had playground equipment on the sand.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front. View was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaB1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,090 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,656 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#67 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,070 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,054 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £156 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing