We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect, Stress Free Trip with Little Ones.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect, Stress Free Trip with Little Ones.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My family with 3 and 4 year old traveled to the Lago Mar for a 3 day get away. The taxi ride from airport was quick and easy even with two kids. The check in and bell service was quick and easy , we were in our rooms in no time... The staff from front desk to cleaning and maintenance was super friendly. We had a one bedroom suite with 2 twin pullout beds and kitchenette which was more then enough room for the for of us. We had pool view but still had an ocean view from the balcony. The ocean was quick walk and very private and the pools are amazing ... There are plenty if places to eat with the kids from soda shop to grille all casual and kid friendly. They have a great playscape for kids in sand with ping pong , mini golf and shuffleboard. The kids had a blast! And if kids are having fun the parents are having fun. On checkout the concierge arranged a van for us to the airport to only $20 for all 4 of us... It is hard finding a 3 and 4 yr old friendly resort and Lago Mar exceeded our expectations from arrival until checkout..

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ryskins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    583
    129
    52
    28
See reviews for
1,162
578
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

What a fantastic family friendly resort! Rooms are very spacious and are more like an apartment than a hotel. From the night manager to bellman, service was exceptional and always there to help. If you visit with a family, your kids will have a great time with the resort offering a lagoon pool, regular pool, old fashioned soda shop, ping pong, miniature golf, volleyball, jungle gym, tennis courts, shuffle board, and of course a enormous private beach; you never have to leave the property. The main dining restaurant is phenomenal. Service and food are exceptional, and for the quality you can't beat the price!!!!! If you're looking for a place to stay, that's on the beach in Fort Lauderdale you don't need to look any further than the Lago Mar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ram6716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Although I have been many places in Florida this was my first in Fort Lauderdale. I am so glad I chose this resort as it was very charming. I absolutely loved the old southern-style decor! The lobby was striking with it's high ceilings and mosaic floors....very grand. Our room was huge! Had two queen-size beds that were incredibly comfortable with great linens. The bathroom was somewhat small but charming and had all that we required. I especially loved the line of toiletries they supplied. I appreciated having a balcony even if our view was not a good one it allowed me a private outdoor space for my morning yoga. There were some signs of wear that reminded you that this was not a newly-remodelled hotel but for me that did nothing to diminish the distinctive charm and ambiance of this resort. I loved the public "drawing room" with it varied seating arrangements of beautiful furnishings and was especially impressed that there were not one, but two, baby grand pianos! Unfortunately both were locked and my musician husband was unable to play for us.
Although I am not a much of a pool person my family spent some time at the pools and we really liked the setup with the center bar and eating area. We used the mini-golf course and outdoor chess. The beach area was huge, clean and not crowded. My youngest and I enjoyed the beach in the daytime and my husband and I love to walk the beach in the early morning.
Now, I am saving the best for last....the dining room! We had our evening meal here and were very impressed with the quality of the food, the imaginative menu and the knowledge of our servers. There was a great wine list along with amazing dessert choices! We also enjoyed the breakfast as well. Our vacation was 16 nights encompassing NYC, Florida and a Caribbean cruise and my husband and I felt this was the meal that stood out the most.
I hope to stay again sometime soon!

Room Tip: Perhaps requesting a room with a beach view would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quietbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We took our kids (6 and 3) on their first trip to see the ocean and the ease, convenience, service, cleanliness and beauty of Lago Mar made it a memorable one! Family friendly without being obnoxious there was plenty for the little ones to do from putt-putt golf to tennis. The rooms were spacious, clean and our room had a fridge and freezer that we were able to stock with breakfast, lunch, snacks (from the grocery store a few minutes away) and also some hooch for mom and dad. But we ate every dinner in their main restaurant which was always fantastic!

The beach was clean and spacious with free beach chairs. The waves were thrilling for the kids and the water was just the right temp.

Overall, loved Lago Mar! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we loved it.
The beds are real comfy and quite spacious.
Bathroom fully equipped.

Staff was real friendly and helpful.

But what's really nice, is the beach. White sands and stretched out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wonderful 5 days here for my daughters 18th birthday. Great staff, food, location and the private beach is fabulous. Make sure to have a portrait session with Mike Holmes he does a wonderful job. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second visit to Lago Mar. We were so impressed by the hotel during a conference that we attended there, that we decided to return for a short vacation.

Lago Mar is one of those places that you could "get used to." Beautiful, well kept grounds, a private beach, nice pools, a great spa, etc. Tons to do- pool, shuffleboard, chess, mini golf, playgrounds for the kids, and huge hammocks in the palm tree shade. The staff goes out of its way to make sure you are welcomed. (Special shout outs to Lane (beach attendant), Josephina (pool, towels, Tiki hut), Chris (Bar tender), the ladies in the Resort Shop and those in the Soda Fountain. They all go above and beyond to make you feel like family!)

There are really only two areas that I would expect more out of a resort of this quality. First is the food- it's not bad, it's just not what you would expect. (Breakfast buffet could use some work for sure- the omelet station/pancake station is great. The rest, not so much. We did not eat dinner on site, so I can't comment on the food at dinner.

Second is the hours kept by the pool bar. It would be so nice to be able to sit outside in the late evening and enjoy some time with friends with a beverage and/or snacks. It doesn't need to be open until midnight, but 10:00 would be nice!

Finally, housekeeping. The room is always clean- they do a nice job with that. But, quality control needs a bit of a boost. Sometimes we received 4 wash cloths, sometimes 2. Sometimes we received all new toiletries- sometimes,they didn't leave any replacement shampoo. The staff was always quick to "fix" the issue, but, this should be an easy one to take care of.

Other things to know: Rooms have small kitchenettes and refrigerators- awesome for quick snacks and keeping drinks cold. There are no ice machines (call the bell captain for ice, or do like we did and pick up a bag at a nearby shop and keep it in the freezer). This is a great place for kids- so expect a bunch of them!

Overall, we love this resort and will go back as soon as we can! Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Try to get on the fifth floor if possible. The hotel grounds have a lot of palm trees. To have an oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeldenbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,616 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing