We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved Lago Mar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We loved Lago Mar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

My husband and I stayed at Lago Mar for a 3 night getaway. We absolutely loved it. This resort is anything but "tired" like some other reviews were saying. Our room looked new and our hallway and building was freshly painted and bright. We stayed in the main building and had a view of the lagoon pool. It was the "executive one bedroom suite". Very big room with a kitchen and separate living room area. We ate onsite the whole time except 1 night we went to Las Olas. Food at Lago Mar was excellent. We loved the family owned feel of it. We took a walk down to the Marriott and were so happy we didn't stay there - it was too crowded and didn't feel "homey".
The staff were very nice and friendly. I can't wait until we can go back.
I posted some pictures so all can see how nice this resort is.

  • Liked — Room/beach
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — If staying for a week you should rent a car.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beechmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,480
    583
    129
    52
    28
See reviews for
1,161
578
27
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2006

We spent three weeks at this hotel with two young children and we all had a great time. The pool was great for the kids to play. A great plus was the complimentary laundry facilities available which is great when you have kids. The range of food was limited and of average quality but there are plenty of restaurants if you drive into Fort Lauderdale (5mins). We stayed in a poolside suite which had a full kitchen, living area and bedroom with en-suite. There was free wireless internet access available. The hotel is on the beach but there is no lifeguard.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Location - 5 mins drive into Fort Lauderdale/shops
  • Tips/Secrets — A car is recommended if you want to stay at this hotel
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularTraveller2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2006

This was the second hotel we stayed at in our trip to Florida. We had previously spent just one night in a hotel close to the interational airport in Orlando (Embassy Suites) which was good value and very well run. So we had expectations that a "resort" like the Lago Mar would be even better. We were, however, dissappointed from the start. I would agree with previous reviews that this resort is tired and in need of updating, to say the least. The rooms have a desolate and dank feeling. The balconies are not attractive features and the sliding door barely worked in our room without a serious bit of effort. The communal areas looked a bit old and grubby. The hallways look more like prison or school hallways, except not as clean. The valet parking guys were very nice, but then they got tips from us two to three times a day. Didn't see any of the other staff - don't know where they were but they were not offering tip-top service or anticipating guests needs. The pool was dirty and my daughter got an ear infection that a doctor blamed on dirty water, and since the only water we had swum in up to that point was the hotel pool, then it must have been responsible. The pool bar was really grubby and unattractive. The beach is lovely, but I was appalled to find that it costs $20.00 to hire one lounger and umbrella - whether you stay there an hour or a day. The resort is expensive enough without these extra charges. Staff were not rude, just lacklustre, jaded and lacking enthusiasm and commitment. Perhaps it is worse working there than staying there and that would explain their attitudes. I would not return nor would I recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The beach was lovely.
  • Disliked — It was grubby and needed a complete renovation.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tess01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2006

Ensure that you check your bill when you leave this hotel. We stayed for 9 nights in August and the hotel tried to charge us twice for restaurant bills that we hadn't had - the latest attempt being one month after we left !
Other than this we quite enjoyed our stay, the resort is in a lovely position but some serious updating is required of public areas and rooms. You would not recognise our 'deluxe pool view room' from the photos/description on the website.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — They expect you to pay for items you haven't had or used.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check your bill carefully
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SheilaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2006

Well – where do I start . Absolutely fabulous location. Literally steps from the beach – gorgeous ocean views. Fantastic soft, white powder beach, BUT, WOW is this hotel tired and weary. I am not sure if it was just one of those instances when you have a “dud” stay but if something was going to go wrong…it sure went wrong! The first 15 mins of my arrival consisted of phone calls, dealing with housekeeping and repair people.

Walking into the room, the stench of smoke was awful. I had to air the room and request air freshener. Lamps didn’t work and had to be repaired. The toilet in the second bathroom had been used and not flushed. I soon realized after brushing my teeth that the sink in the first bathroom was blocked.

A few hours later, the entire hallway carpet was soaked and we could not walk barefoot at all. We ended up placing a wastepaper basket under the leak and spent 2 nights being lulled to sleep with the drip, drip, drip sound! Oh and air conditioning that turn on at off at will!! There was a leak on the balcony and you could only sit to the one side!

The first morning we ordered breakfast …well, not only is the hotel tired but so is the food! Our Eggs Benedict order arrived late, cold and unappetizing and lay untouched. But, the freshly squeezed orange juice seemed, indeed, freshly squeezed! The staff is friendly but, a little disinterested and ignore “Please do not disturb” signs!!

I do have to admit – when the General Manager finally called me AFTER I had checked out and was already home, he did apologize and assured me that I had not been charged. Well , I should certainly hope so!!
However, I was extremely disappointed in his attitude and response. I was told that my expectations were too high for a hotel of his hotels caliber and that not all guests could be satisfied and that perhaps I should not return!! I felt insulted and annoyed that my expectation of a clean room and basic working utilities was considered too high. I challenged the manager, asking if there was one single thing on the report of the room that was unreasonable – I wasn’t at all surprised when he answered “No Ma’am”.

If I am paying over $250 per night, for my accommodations – I certainly expect clean and working utilities – wouldn’t you?
The ONLY thing this resort has going for it is the spectacular location.

Helpful?
10 Thank travelbug2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2006

I spent the first 2 weeks of August at the Lago Mar with my husband and 2 sons aged 10 and 12 and had a great time.

Coming from the UK we have spent 2 weeks in Florida every August for the last 5 years but this is our first visit to the Atlantic coast, having previsiously visited various resorts on the Gulf of Mexico.

We searched for ages for this year's destination as we like to have lots of facilities on site as well as 2 bedroomed accommodation, kitchen etc. We were slightly disappointed that the hotel couldn't guarantee a full kitchen when taking the reservation but decided to book nevertheless.

Arrived after a long journey we didn't find the reception staff particularly welcoming. When asked if we had a suite with a full kitchen were told no, and that the hotel only had 1 2-bedroomed suite with a full kitchen. Never mind...... we went to our suite which was OK , not stunning but clean and functional. The suite was on the fifth floor, ocean front and when we went to bed we found the air conditioning to be unbelievably loud. My husband was unable to sleep due to the noise and eventually called the front desk (this was 11pm local time - 4am our body clock time). Maintanance arrived very quickly only to tell us that the AC units for the whole block were directly above our bedroom and there was nothing to be done. My husband spent that night on a very uncomfortable pull out sofa bed in the lounge and woke up in a foul mood.

He went to reception (after an excellent breakfast buffet) but again found their attitude somewhat off putting. When asking to be moved he was told the hotel was completely full and nothing could be done to help us, until possibly the next day when another suite may be available.

My husband, who travels regularly throughout the world, was appalled at the attitude and spent the remainder of the day looking for alternative accommodation on the internet.

Although we were by now both cheesed off with the place and picking fault with everything, we decided to be rational and wait until the following morning to see what was on offer. Our kids were having a ball, great pools, beach, shuffleboard, golf and lots of other children to play with.

The following morning we were moved to a suite on the third floor which thankfully was much quieter. Amazingly it also had a full kitchen!!!

After this unfortunate start we had a great holiday. Yes, the hotel is a little tired in places and isn't as plush as some of the massive hotels in Miami but it is completely relaxed for families. The children are welcome everywhere and free to roam throughout the grounds. There are plenty of things for them to do and lots of other children for them to mingle with. The pools are great and the laggoon layout is such that it never seems busy. We never had trouble getting loungers and the beach is also lovely.

I must say that I think the resort is extremely expensive. The 18% service charge on everything (even grocery purchases in the soda shop) is a rip off, especially when the staff then seem to expect an additional tip. I also think it is ridiculous to have to pay $10 (plus 18%) for a sun bed on the beach. In terms of food the breakfast buffet was delicious but we found the lunch and dinner choices to be very limited but the quality of what there was was good.

All in all we had a good holiday. We all prefer the Gulf coast, finding the people much friendlier and didn't particularly like the Fort Lauderdale area. The Lago Mar resort turned out to be a great family resort and in a nice secluded loaction yet within easy reach of restaurants, shops etc.

  • Liked — Kid friendly attitude
  • Disliked — Service charge applied universally and additional tip expected
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from 5th floor ocean front accommodation
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CJLVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2006

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Lago Mar. The resort is beautiful and the staff is great. Everyone went out of their way to greet us using our names and attend to our every need. We took a taxi to the hotel from the airport and never left the resort during our 3 day stay. We ate at the restaurant all 3 nights. It is a little pricey, but worth it. We also had massages at the spa, which were wonderful.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept. We read the other reviews that said the grounds were not kept up; however, we did not find this to be the case at all.

We had a one bedroom suite overlooking the pool located in the main building. Our room was identical to the picture on their and other websites. It was very spacious and well laid out. The bathroom was hugh with a separate tub and shower.

We will definitely visit the Lago Mar Resort again!

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — A little pricey, but worth it
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room in the main building
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kblance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing