We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not great....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Setting was fun, we were there right before the yacht show and the yachts were amazing. Supposedly Ralph Lauren's was right outside the China Grill. Kind of a cool hotel but worn.
The room was not overly clean. Soap scum all over the glass past of the shower. The shower was annoying and it was easy to waterlog the bathroom since only part of it was covered. The towels looked ancient.
At check-in our room was not ready. They were supposed to call us on our cell when it was ready and they never did. I finally went to check it out about 5:00 & they gave us a room, with a view of the roof and parking lot even though we are Diamond level.
One day our keys stopped working and had to be replaced, no apology. Our room was not cleaned one day, again no apology. The person I talked with told me that because we had a do not disturb sign on our door until 9:00 AM and they just didn't clean it. They did send someone to clean it after we left for the evening.
It had been raining for days when we got there and when the sun finally did come out, they decided to clean the pool area with a loud generator for hours. Several people complained but it did not make any difference. They also had a repair mess in the lobby. Other than that, the pool was lovely. We only ate a few things at the hotel, but they were all good.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade to get in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauimeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We are grateful to “mauimeplease” for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share valuable feedback. We are concerned about condition of the bathroom and have reached out to the guest to learn that location to ensure that bathroom has been deep cleaned. We’re embarrassed that our guest had a frustrating arrival experience and then was inconvenienced by a glitch in the key program; our standard is that the guest should receive an apology as well as be accompanied back to the guest room with a new key. South Florida experienced unprecedented long, heavy rains from a tropical storm over a recent week end, and the excessive water damaged more than one roof area; the roofers are here at the hotel as I write this. The South Florida tropical climate that so many enjoy visiting has the challenging effect of requiring constant maintenance to prevent water damage, including cleaning the pool deck regularly. We have reached out to “mauimeplease” to apologize in person. Carlos M. Molinet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,962 - 3,968 of 5,036 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have really enjoyed staying at this hotel before. The decor is fantastic. But this time it took me 20 minutes to check in cause there was only one person at the front desk and the line was long. Very unusual since the line was not a tour group or a bus that just got dropped off. The rooms in the tower are decorated fantastic but the furniture is showing alot of wear and tear. The tower rooms are also very small compared to alot of the hotels in the area. The 25 dollar parking fee is way to high also. All in all a great location but needs some TLC to bring it back to sparkle.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Young2by2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We appreciate repeat guests like “Young2by2” and are grateful for the valuable feedback. We want to keep our guests’ loyalty and have reached out to this guest to talk and hopefully get some specifics. A line at the front desk is rare here; without more information on when this happened, it is difficult to research why this happened to our guest. We regularly compare our pricing for parking with the hotels in the area and find we are competitive. We’re sorry that our guest felt it was too high. We have a regular preventive maintenance program and are sorry that the room “Young2b2” stayed in showed wear are tear. Carlos M. Molinet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and the service was awful.We are Hilton Honors members and we used our points so the stay was free. However,had we had to put out cash we would have made a very large complaint.We did let them know that waiting 1 hour for a cup of coffee in the lobby and then it being served in a paper cup was not what one expect from a Hilton.Our friends who stayed there one week ago.had some bad service.They chose this hotel because of the closeness to the cruise terminal.They were to leave for New Jersey right after the cruise but unfortunatly because of the snow storm in the Northeast they were delayed for two nights.They returned to the Hilton and were charged $17 for small pizza and $17 for two coffees(which included 18% gratuity.)The next morning ,as the coffee machine in the room did not work , they had to walk down to the bar and bought two coffees,this time they were charged$12.He asked for lids, as to not spill the liquid on their way back to the room and were told they did'nt have any.Eventually they found lids and the guest standing next to them also requsted lids and were told they did;nt have any.This kind of service is NOT acceptable from any hotel and from a Hilton less so. Save your money and stay at any other hotel in Fort Lauderdale.Many even offer free transportation to the port.(his hotel does not).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenjulianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We feel honored to have had royalty, “queenjulianne," stay with us and are so grateful that she took the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. It is difficult to tell whether the guest’s feedback is from a stay a couple of years ago or more recently. It is unusual for us to have a guest have a long wait for coffee; yes, we do serve it in a high quality biodegradable paper cup for purposes of efficiency, and the cups do have lids. If a guest lets us know there was an issue with the in-room Keurig coffee maker, our servers will provide complimentary coffee. We will use this review with our servers for training purposes. We compare all of our prices with our competitors in the area, and are competitive. None of our competitor hotels offers complimentary transportation to the port; those in the area that do are in a different class. Carlos M. Molinet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Although this is a great location, right on the intercoastal waterway, it is a little lacking in ammenities. One big restaurant, China Grill, is good but very expensive. The only other food option is by the pool and a small little area by the front desk which only serves bar type food. Service is a little lacking. Had to call the front desk twice to get soap for the room. Just an okay place. My room mini bar was very loud and annoying at night. towels were very worn.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the high raise building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiltonMarina, General Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

We thank local guest “flamingo72” for staying with us on what we hope was a “staycation.” Our hotel is surrounded by water on three sides, with a lovely poolside bar where one can enjoy the water, the pool and the yachts in our marina. China Grill is a unique, Asian-fusion restaurant famous from South Beach, New York and Las Vegas, with dining options at a variety of prices, including an affordable prix fixe menu and a fabulous happy hour with 2-for-1 cocktails and ½ off sushi and appetizers every day in the bar. We apologize for the slow response with soap; we recently initiated a new protocol that refers a call to a manager if a guest request was not handled within a short time. We have reached out to this guest to apologize. Carlos M. Molinet, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

a clean, well maintained hotel with excellent service and a super Chinese restaurant.

Room Tip: The showers are incredible good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMareyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This was a lovely recently renovated hotel. Positives were the pool area and most comfy beds ever! Negatives were if you book via expedia or similar you get put in rooms facing car park rather than pool or Marina rooms. All guests have to pay for parking; it's also a drive away from fort Lauderdale beach front but cheap car park on beach. handy supermarket etc near by. Fort Lauderdale itself beautiful beach and some nice restaurants - make sure you go down to the boulevard and visit the cheesecake factory restaurant-awesome and bars nearby only about 10 dollars for a taxi. Also make sure you try out water taxi from Hilton one day - lovely way to see the area from the water.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loopylass79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I've stayed here twice, and would go back in the future. The hotel itself is nice, and it's a huge property. The pool area is relaxing and picturesque. There's a restaurant outside near the pool area/marina so that's kind of a neat place to ea. I had a bbq burger there that was delicious.

The first time I stayed here, my room was immaculate clean (in the tower).
The last visit, well my bathroom could have been a little cleaner, but overall I was satisfied. On the second day/night however, nobody came to clean our room. I just called housekeeping for clean towels (and they were provided).

In my opinion, I love the location of this hotel It's situated under the 17st Causeway bridge. You can catch the water taxi just out front (if you've never taken the water taxi, give it a try! It's fun and takes you to convienient places). If you like checking out mega-yachts, this is the place. If you want to catch a cruise, the Port of Everglades is a stone's throw away...You can often see the cruiseships in the Port of Everglades (other side of causeway bridge) if you are looking out the front of the building.

A Walgreens, bagel place and Starbucks are a short walk from the hotel.

The people I encountered that work here were quite pleasant.

Room Tip: I've stayed here twice, and think the main tower or East Villas are best. If you stay in the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#44 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,408 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,489 reviews
1 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £102 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing