We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff are heroes there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #59 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Just be prepared - if you get there on a day they host people for "cruises" - the lobby and all public areas - just hell.
The suitcases are everywhere, people are sleeping by the pool on their bags, like refuges, simply being afraid to leave thir bags somewhere. Hotel is in real chaos these days.
And after those cruise people leave - it is back to normal hotel again.
Normal lobby, even stylish, normal friendly staff.
I have no idea how they survive those hordes of middle aged and very loud tourist - and they truly deserve a praise for that.
They just keep doing their job/
We were not with the cruse - and the first day we couldn't even walk through the lobby. The hotel is not equipped to handle so many people at once.
They are seriously understaffed.
The second day - when cruise people were gone - we finally got to enjoy the premises.
The cafe serves great breakfast. The oriental restaurant is a gem. Talented young chef. We ate there twice. Nothing to complain. Very creative presentation. Very reasonable.
The views, the marina, the location - all these creates special ambiance.
If you happened to get there with cruise people - just run away then. Wait and come back when they are gone.
It is amazing how things get managed there under the circumstances.
The staff deserved 5 stars. The upper management, sitting somewhere in corporate offices, and having no idea what's going on here with cruises madness - deserves 1 star only.
It is a shame to abuse such a great hotel in this way.

Room Tip: If you are not on a cruise - be prepared.It is refuge zone with people sleeping on their bags by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank glamontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Glamontheroad,
Thank you for staying with us and we’re pleased you find us to be a great hotel with a special ambiance. We are the closest hotel to Port Everglades, so it is not surprising guests stay with us pre- and post-cruise. Their numbers, quantity of luggage, and departure pattern are indeed a challenge, but we are up to the task. We have a “cruise departure lounge” in our restaurant, giving us a great space, with a lovely Intracoastal view, to make our guests comfortable before leaving for the Port; it has an outside entrance where we stage buses and shuttles. The pattern happens just a few days of the week. Thanks for recognizing our team; we shared your review with everyone.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,863 - 2,869 of 4,916 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many Hilton's....I am an honors member. My husband and I decided to stay at this hotel since it was close to the airport, we were flying out the next day, and Hilton's have a good reputation. What an awful way to end our honeymoon. I asked room service to bring us up some creamer for the coffee; I told them to bring 6-8...they brought one. I went down to the front desk to ask for creamer to make sure I got enough, they told me to call room service. I had to call down two more times to get enough creamer. The room next to us was ridiculously loud; I called to complain about the noise and they did nothing. I called again and asked if security could please come up and talk to the occupants of the room. They said they would send someone, but never did. I called down and asked if they could move us to a different room and they said they could not. The sheets on our bed were like a 250 count from wal-mart....they were like sleeping on sand paper. We didn't get much sleep. I'm still shocked because normally Hilton's are a higher standard hotel than most. This Hilton was worse than a Motel 6.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank MinervaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear MinervaNichole,
The comfort of our guests is always a top priority and we appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention. We're working with our housekeeping team to address your concerns and ensure we're meeting our standards for great service delivery. Our Security Manager researched your noise complaint and learned that a Security Officer responded and found that the noise was not coming from a guest room but from hallway traffic; we apologize that he did not get back to you with his findings. It being our peak season, we were sold out that night which is the reason we could not offer a room change.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stay was comfortable, but all fixtures are dated and in need of replacing. The ceiling tiles near the lobby have a lot of water stains on them. It wouldn't cost much to replace them and make them look nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jerome H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Jerome H,
We appreciate your staying here and taking time to write a review and to complete Hilton’s guest survey. All guest feedback is extremely valuable to us. We are working hard on our guest rooms and have reported the ceiling tiles for maintenance. We hope you come back soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was not a good experience. The hotel had very limited internet service. Over priced breakfast buffet. Self park is limited and a long walk to the lobby. The staff refers to the villa elevator as the "tower of terror".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Luis C,
We're glad we had the chance to serve you during your travels to Fort Lauderdale. We're sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with us. We have tried and tried to repair two elevators in our West Villa, without success; a complete modernization was approved, one of the elevators was just replaced and the other will now be replaced. We're working to address concerns about the Internet. We hope we can invite you back for a much better stay.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Make sure to check out the room to make sure everthing is in order. When we got to our room the door on the bathroom was asbout to fall off, we made sure that we reported that did not want to get charge extra. Make sure the covers are clean!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I had a very brief stay at the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina on Jan 18, 2014, on my way out for a cruise. It is very convenient location if you are cruising, as it is a 5 minute shuttle or cab ride to the ship pier. Also, the setting is absolutely beautiful, being located right on the Marina's edge. There are even yachts docked right beside the lovely pool area. My room was average. Clean, comfortable and had an awesome view of the marina and inlet with all the boats. However, it was very overpriced for the night. I assume they have a premium price on Saturday nights for cruisers heading out on Sundays, which does NOT match the quality of their rooms, at least not the room i stayed in. The staff i encountered were all very helpful and pleasant, no complaints there. Over all, i would probably stay there again simply for the convenience and views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Anice S ,
We’re happy you enjoyed our beautiful setting here in the Venice of America. We are the closest hotel to Port Everglades and we enjoy our pre- and post-cruise guests. Thank you for mentioning our helpful, pleasant staff. We hope you return soon.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We visited this Hilton for two different stays - pre-cruise stay on January 11th and after cruise stay on January 19 & 20th. We used this hotel once again for the convenience of it's location to the port. I find it amazing how they can charge a total of $ 320.79 (taxes included) for two adults (pool view) for one night and the after cruise rate for two adults ($ 330.78 - taxes included) for intercoastal waterway view for two nights. This hotel is definitely ripping people off and it's an outrage that they are getting away with this. The hotel is in ill repair and definitely needs a face-lift. The coffee shop and restaurant prices are way overpriced as well. I suppose that's why you see the majority of it's clients at the local Walgreens picking up food and drink. The concierge staff are very friendly but this hotel definitely does not hold up to the "Hilton" name.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Inter coastal waterway would be best! But make sure they don't put you at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,222 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#34 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#45 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,309 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#23 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £101 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing