We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Somewhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Ranked #53 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Stay Somewhere Else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent one night here on a month road trip of the Atlantic Coast. I was looking forward to being spoilt at the Hilton but oh wow we were so crushed? I will NEVER book at any Hilton in the world because of this hotel (and we travel a lot!). The room we were allocated was small with a view of the car park and freeway. The pool is way too small for the capacity of the hotel. The pool water is cloudy and a very uncomfortable temperature, it's more like warm bath which is what you feel like doing after swimming in it due to the gross amount of sunscreen lotions/oils and who knows what else floating in it. Our TV was broken and could only get analogue channel which had very poor reception. When we called guest services they said the problem was hotel wide however when we asked how the TV in the lobby was able to show the World Cup Soccer they couldn't answer. If your driving, beware, they slog you with a massive USD 21 a day fee. WIFI is not complimentary like all other hotels we visited on the east coast, disgraceful. I have left the best for last though. We had dinner at the poolside bar. We ordered and when the food arrived, my dinner was missing the main component, the pork sliders. They only served me a basket of fries. I had to ask where my sliders were, only to be told "sorry we ran out". I was absolutely floored that there was no offer of replacement or even an apology once the order was placed that an item was no longer available. They just dumped it on the table and hoped I wouldn't notice. Please do yourself a favour and choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SallyD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear SallyD65,
Thank you for sharing your candid experiences. Your feedback is truly important to us because it helps us to realize both our strengths and weaknesses from our guests' point of view. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations on amenities and guest room. Our pool is not heated this time of year; its temperature is the result of warm sunny days that keep the water temperature in the 80s; we will, however, address the water cleanliness issues you describe. We regret that there was a TV reception issue; our guest room delivery system is separate from the one in our public areas. Our parking fees are among the lowest in this market. We absolutely agree that the server did not handle the missing item appropriately and we should have done more to ensure your satisfaction. We will coach our team accordingly. We hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to our area in the future.
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    1,380
    988
    572
    379
See reviews for
955
1,652
237
1,025
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My entire stay at this Hilton was flawless. Service, room, area of hotel, pricing and food was excellent. I will stay here anytime I am in this area and will recommend it to my friends and family to stay here as well.

Room Tip: It is only a few dollars more to upgrade the rooms and is well worth the view and comfort for a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel, it has great accommodations and is very quiet. I was able to walk to restaurants, shopping and is very close to a nice beach. I was able to relax and enjoyed it!! The staff were very nice and welcoming!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank donalds558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Its a Hilton "resort" location with a good, but very expensive, on site China Grill. Views are nice of either the cruise port or the intercoastal waterway.

We use Hilton points to stay here. There are a lot of other choices less expensive to stay if we were paying for it.

That being said, it is well located for a pre-cruise night or two. There is good walking over to the beach area, lots of local restaurants, a Walgreen's close by, a Ross and the water taxi stops close by. The bridge is always fun to walk over and you can check out all the yachts that park along side.

The rooms are basic, not large, tiny balcony, small bathroom, but functional. Good workout room, great pool, and the buffet breakfast is good.

For a weekend or family get away, I would recommend staying over on the beach. The Mariott looks pretty impressive.

For a pre-cruise night or two, let pricing be your guide...

Room Tip: Either side is a good view. Higher = better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I was in the east terrace and it's not terrible, but is ready for some renovation. Some paint, new carpet and a new elevator would help. Some of the staff is unfriendly while others are great. A special young lady from Venezuela and Peter the bar tender are two of the great ones. The service at the pool bar is very slow.

Room Tip: I would avoid the east terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been to this property very recently and I must inform you that I have stayed in different and well known chain of hotels such as Hyatt and Starwood.

The amazing part of my stay which did make the most difference is the staff on board at the Hilton Ft. Lauderdale Marina.

I have been a Hilton HH member over 15 years and I must say among all other members of the staff one person stand out the most was the Assistance F/O Manager Ms. Zeynep Dincer she was absolutely amazing with her incredible professional attendance to my room requests and other aspects of the entire stay for a conference that I was attending.

I have to admit I will pay a visit to this location not only for business but, also for leisure in the near future. I would like to praise the Hilton Management organization for providing such an incredible staff and professional members in their capacity to welcome and take care of their guests.

Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayhan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel was the official hotel for a conference I attended. The hotel itself is nothing spectacular - seems like an older hotel that has been recently partially renovated. When I arrived, I didn't have our business credit card with me, and had difficulty checking in. The first girl I dealt with was rude. She didn't offer much explanation or help solving the problem. I went outside for a few minutes to try and make some phone calls and figure out what to do. I had been at the beach all day and needed to have my weekend rental car back to the airport in around two hours, and I needed to get checked into my hotel somehow. This is quite a stressful hiccup when you're more than a thousand miles from home. When I came back in, I dealt with a desk agent named Woodey. He was extremely kind and helpful - he was to the point, honest, and warm. He changed the tone of the stay completely.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing 17th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOfficeHFLM, Manager at Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sabrina G,
We’re happy to hear that Woodey turned your stay around, and he appreciates the headline! Please come back soon!
Warm regards,
Neal Spivack, Director of Rooms, neal (dot) spivack (at) hilton (dot) com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#84 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina

Property: Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Address: 1881 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-3015 (Formerly Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel & Yacht Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers the ultimate location on the Intracoastal Waterway. Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina is a stunning resort-style hotel close to the city's vast attractions including Las Olas Boulevard, which is alive with shops, restaurants and bars. All guest rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows delivering amazing views of downtown, the Intracoastal Waterway or the bustling Fort Lauderdale marine port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hilton Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Grande Hotel Yacht Club
Grande Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing