We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was small and tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room was small and tired”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I booked into this hotel for Valentines day (Friday and Saturday night). As soon as we saw the room I went down and changed the reservation to a single night. We were in a superior ocean-front room, but found it to be small and the décor to be "tired'. The bathroom was also quite small. Not what you would expect for $550+ per night.

We wanted a place where we could relax and enjoy the view most of our time on the balcony, however the balcony is very small and it is concrete right up to your chin (while sitting).

The hotel itself is nice and the restaurant was good and the hotel staff were very nice. It happened to be a very busy weekend so there were lots of families plus conventions. so probably not the best choice for a quiet weekend.

I realize (now more than ever) that these reviews come from very different people who may have different tastes.

We are used to newer and more spacious accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to review our property. I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations for the room decor and the quality of the bed. If you could contact me directly and provide me with your room number, I certainly would want to address the bed issue. We are scheduling a complete room renovation in 2015, and I hope you can visit us again then.
I am glad that you enjoyed the service, the cleanliness, the two nice Restaurants and the location.
We sincerely appreciate your business and hope that you will continue to be a Marriott customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    891
    303
    133
    80
See reviews for
889
843
75
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,271 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is Marriott at its worst. We have found this with the chain before. Honolulu and Lax Los Angeles, for examples. This hotel charged $300 a night for a small, antiquated room with an uncomfortable bed, I mean marginally better than a Holiday Inn!

The PLUS MARKS: Friendly and helpful staff; beach location and near water taxi; clean room, and two nice restaurants: Sea Level on the beach and Riva. Good service in both.

MINUSES- very expensive; small room; very uncomfortable bed, tiny balcony; no free wifi in the room even though we have been rewards members for 30 years. The first room they gave us was not feather free as requested. Also, there was no safe in the room. We moved for achieving both amenities.

Will not stay here again!

Room Tip: Only stay in a suite or skip this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us at Marriott’s Harbor Beach Resort & Spa. Your feedback is appreciated and will be used to improve our product, as we are alwayslooking to offer the best accomodations to our guests.
I am delighted that you were given great service and enjoyed the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This resort is fabulous with regard to being on the beach and lovely pool area. If you take advantage of the spa, you are allowed access to another private pool which is very nice. I did however not like being able to use the exercise room if you didn't pay a daily rate for those privileges.

The pluses outweigh any negatives however. Being accessible to the beach and then via the board walk, allowed us to walk all the way to the restaurants and shops on the main drag. Easy quick cab ride as well if desired. The hotel restaurants were fine though venturing out led us to more diversity in cuisine.

I would definitely stay here with family or use it as a couple escape. I stayed here as a business traveler to avoid the more busy areas of Ft. Lauderdale and to enjoy some privacy.

Room Tip: The ocean front room was well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMacChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel facilities are well kept. The personnel is friendly and helpful. One feels welcomed from the moment you enter. Courtney at the Sea Bar treats you as royalty and was extremely diligent and timely in her service.
Unfortunately, the walls of the room are like paper not allowing any privacy. You hear every word from adjacent rooms and anytime someone flushes the toilet you are well aware they are done. Even the person who gets the check out bill below your door is loud at delivery. Not sure if it was the room I stayed and is a shame as otherwise the hotel is great.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CRMCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and the valuable feedback. I am sorry that your experience was not the best due to the noise from the adjacent rooms. I would definitely like to know what room you were staying in so I can address the issue.
Thank you for your praises regarding our Hotel in general, our service and Courtney in particular.
I hope that you can visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blythewood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very nice ocean view. The hotel is overpriced (i.e., room value and restaurants). The hotel is not in walking distance to many restaurants. I will avoid this hotel on my next business trip to the area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Six_One_Savvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Property.
I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy one of the three Restaurant's options we offer.
There are many means of transportation to local areas, and our concierge desk can assist you in finding the best options.
I am glad that you liked the magnificent views as we have one of the best, if not the best location in South Florida.
I hope that you can reconsider and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Love the resort been coming back for over ten years just love it. The entire staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home and no request is to big or small for them to assist with. The resort is so clean and the rooms are spacious and relaxing. We hate to leave but business is calling us in Boca Raton.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Spent one week at this resort for first time.
Pros- Large property, very clean, nice pool area, great kids club, easy beach access
Cons- not much to mention except found the food and drinks on the property to be a bit pricey other than that no complaints. We will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#6 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,486 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,020 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#16 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,650 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,837 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2414
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the crisp ocean air and soak up the Sunshine State's radiant rays during a stay at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa. Situated along a quarter-mile of private beach, our Fort Lauderdale resort provides tropical tranquility while offering easy access to Fort Lauderdale airport and top attractions including Las Olas Boulevard. Dive into our refreshing lagoon pool, take to the Atlantic for jet skiing or snorkeling, or pamper yourself at our full-service spa. When it's time to refuel, savor innovative cuisine at one of our three restaurants, sip handcrafted cocktails while relaxing under swaying palm trees or perk up with a treat from Starbucks. Looking to gather your group or celebrate a wedding or special event? Impress your guests with a celebration on the beach, or host a night to remember in our spectacular ballroom with the ocean as your backdrop. Our stylish, redesigned guest rooms and suites are an ideal oasis after your adventurous day. Plan a getaway at our resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Harbor Beach
Marriott Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing