We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Disappointment- Bad customer service- Used to be a favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Always loved the spa here, so I booked a suite for a weeks' vacation with my husband. The first two nights were to be a room and the the rest of the week [when it became available] an oceanfront suite. after 30 minutes in registration line we were led to a small, dark room which can only be described as a dungeon. One small window with a view of the roof and parking lot. I was told that despite our reservation, the suite would only be available for the final 2 days, and we would have to stay in the little dungeon room.

The service in the hotel restaurant [breakfast] was dismal, the hostess was rude to several of the guests, the buffet food was below average, and basic condiments such as butter, and cream for coffee were missing. The front desk was unresponsive to our complaints about the room, and housekeeping never appeared till after 4PM [to be fair, it was really busy].

We were able to book a suite at the W, and what a world of difference! Great service, accommodations, and food. I feel bad, because I have stayed at the Harbor Beach Marriott and enjoyed its wonderful spa for years, but I will not be coming back. Although I noticed the service and accommodations have been going downhill for the past few years, this trip convinced me that its time to switch. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lclchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay; as it wasn't completely satisfactory. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations this time with our room accomadations or restaurant service and our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and we thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. Please feel free to reach out to me at the property so we can discuss further, as I would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,579 - 1,585 of 3,021 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We are Marriott fans, we always stay at Marriott hotels, no matter the brand. That said, I have to say that our stay here was just ok. Great service at check in, fantastic drinks and service in the bar, but our dinner at the beach level restaurant was fair. After dinner we walked down to the beach. We could not believe the amount of trash that was thrown about. I do not kinow if hotel guests were the cause of this trash, but we saw no effort on the part of hotel staff to clean it up until 10:00 the next morning. Our room was very average, we were disappointed. We stayed for one night before a cruise, and if we sail out of Port Everglades again, we will look elsewhere for a hotel. BONUS: They offered a 9:00am happy hour!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beegirl615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay as it wasn't completely satisfactory. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and we can assure you that it is not the norm for us to hear comments about the beach cleanliness and restaurant quality of service. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations this time and our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and we thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I went to this hotel to celebrate my husbands B-day we had a wonderful time.
Customer service in all departments was excellent from check-in to pool attendants (all).
They made my husband feel special recognizing his special day every where, Fabian Cortes at the pool was wonderful not just with us but with our children, he made sure we were always comfortable and our needs met. It was a wonderful experience that I know my husband and my children won't forget.
Thank you so much, I will be back hopefully soon!!!
Fabian Thank you your the bomb...
Jessica Giraldo

Room Tip: My room had a great view of the sea and pool area, loved it!! Room 659
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessi0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so perfect! The lobby is super nice and very modern and beachy without being tacky at all. The staff was very nice and very helpful when we asked about surrounding restaurants! My room was very large and had a great view of the ocean! The fitness area was really nice. The hotel had a lot of reaturants which include a Starbucks! The line went all the way down the hall but we got our drinks in about 5 minuets. The workers were super fast! The pool area is AMAZING! The waiters come and serve on you too at the pool area. The pool itself is large, an there are not too many children. This hotel is right on the beach, which makes it one of like two hotels on the beach in Fort Lauderdale! The money was totally worth it! I would recommend staying here to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was a great family spring break. The kids ages 9 and 15 loved the beach and pool. Rent a beach cover for $25 to shield the wind and provides nice shade for breaks during the day. Great food at the breakfast buffet, beach and poolside! The hotel property has been renovated in all the public areas but the rooms still need updating. The bathrooms seem to be newer than the room. Hotel staff was great and the property is very well maintained. We would recommend for families or groups since it is large and never felt crowded.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms far from the ice machine so it was quiet and we had views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We came here for February vacation after being in Miami for 2 days. This hotel has everything, no need to leave. Great for families, couples or just about anyone who wants to get away and relax in beautiful surroundings and great amenities.

Room Tip: Face the ocean so you can see the cruise ships sail away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyah62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 nite stay. Nice property. Away from the crowded strip but close enough to walk. Great beach,great service. Rooms are a little small and pool was very crowded but the hotel manages to do a very good job providing excellent service in all areas. Great concierge staff also.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#44 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,991 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,148 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#5 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,591 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,730 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2414
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £200 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathe in the crisp ocean air and soak up the Sunshine State's radiant rays during a stay at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa. Situated along a quarter-mile of private beach, our Fort Lauderdale resort provides tropical tranquility while offering easy access to Fort Lauderdale airport and top attractions including Las Olas Boulevard. Dive into our refreshing lagoon pool, take to the Atlantic for jet skiing or snorkeling, or pamper yourself at our full-service spa. When it's time to refuel, savor innovative cuisine at one of our three restaurants, sip handcrafted cocktails while relaxing under swaying palm trees or perk up with a treat from Starbucks. Looking to gather your group or celebrate a wedding or special event? Impress your guests with a celebration on the beach, or host a night to remember in our spectacular ballroom with the ocean as your backdrop. Our stylish, redesigned guest rooms and suites are an ideal oasis after your adventurous day. Plan a getaway at our resort today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Harbor Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Harbor Beach
Marriott Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing