We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst room experience in 20 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worst room experience in 20 years”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a top floor with view on the ocean but it was the worst room I got in 20 years. The last time, my experience would have been as bad was when I was in my 20s and had little money. The room size was large but furniture was the same as a smaller room so the space looked cheap. The furniture looked old and outdated. I wouldn't even put it in my cottage if it was free. On top of that, it was very noisy (4 doors in the room). We could hear the people from the rooms on both sides (very thin walls) and the hallway, the ice machine. Never going back there ever even if they paid me. Before I left, got an haircut in the salon in the basement, by the time I left, water was coming from the ceiling because they had a pipe break. Old and broken place.

We switched hotel the next day (went to the Ritz) and got a great room for half price.

On the positive, they have one of the best gym I've seen in an hotel.

Room Tip: If you're willing to pay the price at this place, just go to the Ritz instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JF T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.
You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We do have a full room renovation scheduled for 2015.
Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    868
    297
    132
    80
See reviews for
873
815
74
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Minutes from the airport and on the beach, just returned from a week at the Harbor Beach Marriott and absolutely enjoyed everything from the restaurants to the beach. The pool although crowded was very nice, Starbucks in the lobby was a big hit and the lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach were very convenient with the hot sun. They also offer cabanas by the pool but the ocean was so beautiful we spent the majority of the time there. The rooms offer views of the ocean, pool and inter coastal waterway- would recommend asking for a higher floor to enjoy the view. We felt comfortable enough at this hotel to allow our 11 & 14 yr old children to walk around the pool and beach by themselves and would not hesitate to visit again-maybe even later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to better enjoy view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were supposed to stay for 4 night but quickly left after our first night. We had booked a one bedroom suite, and we got one but it looked worst than a motel room. It was a real dump. And we had to pay close to a 1000$ for that !!! We travel around a lot and never saw anything like that. The decor is so out dated and the mattress on the sofa bed was the worse ever. We were also located across the elevator and the ice machine...so I just let you imagine the noise that was going on all night...
But I will say that the gym is great , rarely saw such a great gym. The pool area is good too if you can find a spot to sit down as so many chairs are reserved by towels.... with nobody on it.
The morning we left there was also a water pipe that broke just at the exit door on the basement level, so water was just coming down from the ceiling like crazy... Most off the doors of the hotel to go outside had sticky handle , it was just disgusting...
Mostly, that is a place that is run down and that need a big renovation... And I would love not to have asked to pay so much for such a terrible room where I had almost no sleep...
We moved to the Ritz where we are having a amazing one bedroom and guess what it is 55% less expensive than the Marriott....You can not even compare...

Room Tip: Just do not go to that place and waist your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lifelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and give us your feedback on your stay. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations for the suite and the rate.
I realize that it was a very busy week end, but at the same time we are always doing our best to deliver what was promised with impeccable service.
We are improving all the areas of the Hotel at a rapid pace, you did mention the health club which is one area along with others that were completed earlier this year. We are scheduled for a full room renovation in the very near future.
I hope that you will give us another chance should you be in the Fort Lauderdale area again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just a one night quick stop before a cruise, but we would have been happy staying for 2-3. The pool is large and clean with ambiance. They have a flag system if you want drinks or snacks. The rooms are basic but Marriott upgraded standards and comfort. Balcony small but view is beautiful ocean front. Food options nice but pricey. Breakfast buffet plentiful, delicious, but again, pricey. I looked and no concierge lounge to my knowledge, it would have been packed in this business and social venue if they did. This is a large property which means a lot of amenities. Bell Service very good with courteous, helpful staff helping us figure out best transportation options. This was a pleasant, quick stop.

Room Tip: Second floor meant we could use stairs and not wait for elevators, balcony has cement 3 foot wall in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wysfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for business - a great stay with high quality conference rooms, combined with a relaxing Florida beach style vibe - great pool area with service, activities, and clean beach area. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhalluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference this past weekend and was underwhelmed
Let's start with the room - tired and in need of a refurb.The water pressure was awful and there was no hot water. The room was clean but shabby.
The really awful part was the nickel and dime you policy at this Marriott
There is no opportunity missed to charge a guest for what should be included. Parking overnight 32.50 seriously?.. A Starbucks that marked up everything 50% over a normal price seriously? I thought I was going to get a charge for breathing the air ... It was that bad
The only saving grace was the staff - well trained professional and trying to make the best of a bad situation
This hotel left me feeling Ripped Off - there is no value here and no glamor or fabulousness just a constant money grab

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank samjacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCharlesRobert, Manager at Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on our property. I am sorry that you did not find the accommodations to your liking. We are looking forward to renovating our rooms in the very near future to remain competitive. I understand your concerns with pricing but I can assure you that we are on line with the local competition and other resorts in the area.
I am glad that you enjoyed our staff service and I hope that you can give us another chance to experience our beautiful location and our private beach.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay and loved everything about this resort. From the private beach, beautiful pool/recreation area, great food and a beautiful room overlooking the pool and the ocean. Most importantly, the hospitality at this resort was excellent. Yes it's a little pricey however coming from NY not too outrageous and always felt worth it (except for a can of soda....$4...very ott!) The staff are all extremely well trained and beyond helpful and friendly. Nothing was a problem from housekeeping, front desk, valet and bell staff, bar/restaurant staff, concierge AND they guys working really hard on the beach to set up the loungers and umbrellas! All in all we were thrilled we chose the Marriott for our getaway and cannot wait to return....already looking at dates to book. PS We experienced the resort at its busiest (Sat night/cruise business) and during the week and while busier on the weekend days I still did not feel that it was in any way more unpleasant - plenty of chair, umbrellas, shade by palm trees by pool etc. This place has it down!

Room Tip: If a room on south side, overlooking Pool area available - choose it! Ocean View included - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 3030 Holiday Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2414
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Harbor Beach Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Harbor Beach
Marriott Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Marriott Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Marriott Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing