We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #59 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! I am not a complainer but this hotel was a nightmare. I booked this hotel by calling them directly about an hour before we arrived. When we arrived, they didn't have the room that we requested so they downgraded us to a room and dropped the price by $15. When we got to the room it smelled like mildew so I called the front desk and they moved us to an even lower downgraded room. Nothing too impressive in the room, the website makes them look so much nicer.

We woke up the next morning with bed bug bites all over us!!! We were so distraught and disgusted! We tried to speak to a manager but there wasn't one "on duty" at the time. I called they hotel and left several messages but no one ever returned my phone calls. The person taking the message told me that they would have some call me right away that it was an urgent matter but its been 5 days and still haven't heard from anyone. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittSulli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    1,254
    725
    428
    289
See reviews for
989
1,304
202
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ILLINOIS
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

I chose Bahia Mar based on the recommendation of the owner I was doing business with that weekend in Fort Lauderdale, and our transaction was at the Bahia Mar. Plus, I thought the great deal of a Court Yard view and Breakfast was good, that way I did not have to worry about breakfast for my child or myself the following morning.

Yes, they do state on the INTERNET the Court Yard view in in the Marina Building. If you have never been there before, that sounds great. The Marina Building was built in 1966 (yes, it looks like an old motel.....and no offense to the motel industry). It has 1 elevator, has 4 floors, and is a little hike from the lobby.

All photos I have seen of the Bahia Mar on the INTERNET are of the main facility built in 1975. It is about 14 to 15 stories tall, and has that modern state of the art look.

Was I surprised upon check-in that I was staying in the facility across the parking lot. Then when I got there, since the person who checked me in did not inform me where the elevator was....I wondered "what the heck is this?" So the first guest I saw come through the doors I entered, I asked where the elevators were? His response was "there aren't any!"

At that point, you can tell, this is not going well. I marched across the parking lot with my son and + 70 year old mother to ask them how they expect patrons to get to the upper levels with luggage without an elevator. Upon getting a different check-in person (who was real nice by the way), they provided me with information as to where the elevator for the Marina Building is. Now why didn't the person who checked me in do that!?!?!?!

The elevator for the Marina Building is a small hydraulic elevator. Don't expect for it to go fast or hold more than 2 people with luggage. I must admit the cleaning staff in the Marina Building was nice.

The thought of thinking I was going to get one thing and ending up with something completly different just set a bad tone for my stay.

The next morning, I was at breakfast (since I paid for the bed and breakfast package), I presented the nice tall lady (I think her name is Cyrise) with my voucher for 'bed and breakfast. She indicated it was for only one person. Again, I go to the lobby to find out what is going on. They tell me my 13 year old child eats from the Children's menu. Though the restaurant has a buffet, we all know, 13 year olds can eat since they are growing. I am instructed "the child can eat from the children's menu or I pay for the buffet". If I had known that, I never would have gotten the 'bed and breakfast package', just gotten the basic room offer with my AAA discount and be done with them. Yes, I was furious!!!!!

Upon returning to the restaurant, I choose to let my child eat from the buffet with the voucher and I just had juice until it was time for me to go take care of my business. I must admit, Cyrise was the most of all associated with that facility that made any interaction the most memorable.

I WILL NEVER STAY at the Bahia Mar resort AGAIN, but if tall Cyrise (trust me, she is one in a million in that restaurant) I would visit the facility (restaurant) just for her.

You know, if they would just tell/show you the Marina Building before booking on-line, I don't think there would be a problem. But since they show you that tall nice moder structure (built in 1975), it is misleading. It is mid-April (6 weeks later) and to this date, after sharing my thoughts on their "we want to hear from you comment card", the Bahia Mar's management still has not contacted me regarding my stay. That in my opinion is a poor way to run a business

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IWasAbleToTakeATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

My husband and I took a trip to Fort Lauderdale and stayed at the Bahia Mar. The hotel was very clean and staff was extremely hospitable. After the first night at the hotel, our room's air conditioner began blowing out a terrible smell. We contacted the front desk and they immediatly moved our room and upgraded us too!

Although we had to walk a little ways to the "strip" for dinner and shopping, we did enjoy ourselves immensly. I checked many other hotels down and around the area we stayed at and for the price and location this place was terrific. I would stay there again if I returned to Fort Lauderdale. I don't think I would bring my young children though...It's a lot of walking and the pool area is designed for older kids.

One additional thing that the Bahia Mar website and other reviews did not mention was that on the hotel grounds is a deli/food/mart. The owners are fantastic and they have everything there you could possible imagine. The food ranged from breakfast-dinner and snacks in between. It was good too. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elementaryteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Stayed for three nights/four days in early April 2010. Having read mixed reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect, but decided to give it a try. As a solo female traveler, I was concerned with safety and security, and was pleased with the Bahia Mar. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. I would stay again if I got a decent rate.
I stayed in the 5th floor of the tower building - the room was somewhat dated, but I was just basically in the room to sleep and shower, so it was totally fine. I has a problem with the room safe, ans security came up within minutes to fix the problem. I was on the beach (right across the street) most of the time, but went running each morning down the strip and downtown via Las Olas Blvd.... all very pleasant - everything was close to the hotel.
The water taxi stops at the Bahia Mar and is a great way to get around, sight-see, etc. The deli at the hotel has a great selection, Coconuts (a restaurant within walking distance) was fun, casual - good food, and YOLO downtown is an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachGirlFromRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owatonna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE I WILL STAY IN FORT LAUDERDALE!!!!!!!!!! Not only do they have wonderful food, they have a private walkway to the ocean with a ocean front room with fantastic view!!!! The bell hops / staff are the BEST EVER!!! They have the Jungle Queen connected to the parking lot also a must do if in the area! :O) ALL AROUND ITS THE BEST!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadow97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Beyond its just across the A1A and the south end of the beach. Its was close to the port for us and was a $15 cab ride from the cruise port and around $15 to the airport.

The hotel lobby was nice. I would give it a 3 star. Once you get to the elevator and hallways and rooms, it gets dirty and worn looking. Stains on carpets, our curtains had a big rip in them, air conditioning vent was packed with dust. Noisy from hallways and exterior windows were not cleaned. Tub was rusted on the drain, tiles worn, vanity needed repair, carpet was dirty in the room. Elevator was vandalized, dated and for some reason really slow. I think you get the point.

We got an online deal for $129 a night Marina view. The view was excellent, it had marine and beach view. Also the Jungle Queen cruise was a stones throw away.

Relaxed by the pool and it had a nice beach bar at it.

Check-in was difficult. They mixed up my name with a previous guest that checked in under my name. The only reason I caught it was the nightly rate was different then I saw it wasn't even my name. My last name was spelt a bit different but the first names were not even close.

Even at a discounted rate I would not return, I would like to try something a little more North on the beach.

Check parking rates. We didn't have a car but they looked steep to me.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calkirko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, IL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We greatly enjoyed our stay. Walkway across busy street to the beach and a walkway to the pool, which is heated! Rooms are nice and roomy. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#42 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,631 reviews
Bahia Cabana Beach Resort
#105 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel

Property: Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel
Address: 801 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning surroundings and 44 breathtaking acres along the Intracoastal Waterway at the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel- a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel. Located near the International Swimming Hall of Fame, the Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel is a water taxi ride away from the shops, restaurants and nightlife of Las Olas Boulevard. Stay active with water sports, indulge the option to sail away on a cruise or simply relax on the white sandy beach. Bahia Mar is only a short drive from the Fort Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale Beach - a Doubletree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Mar Beach Hotel
Bahia Mar Beach Resort
Bahia Mar Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Bahia Mar Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing