We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #45 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Clearly this property is sick and tired of all the negative reviews because they're really turning up the service. From check in to check out we were beyond impressed with the service, the property and everything in between. Look, this isn't some swanky refurnished modern place that seem to be getting all the rave reviews. This is a traditional beach style resort with exceptional on-property amenities including 2-pools, private beach access and solid dinning choices. Yes, you will pay extra for valet and yes you'll pay for an umbrella on the beach if you so choose, but plan for that ahead and don't let it surprise you. My wife and I had an exception time here, didn't break the bank and creating lasting memories that we'll cherish forever. It's a must stay!

Room Tip: You'll pay extra for ocean view, but ask if you can get a 'partial ocean view' which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank QuintTatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear QuintTatro: Thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience with us during your recent stay at our property. We are delighted to know that our customer service and staff went above and beyond to make your Sheraton stay even more enjoyable. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunny Fort Lauderdale and the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,219 - 3,225 of 4,021 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the second time we stay at this hotel during our stay in Fort Lauderdale. It is very nice and clean, and we love that you can go to the beach directly from the pool. Perfect when the kids/teenagers want to swim in the pool and the adults want to stay at the beach. The fitnessroom was also very nice. The only thing we wish they had was free wifi in the guestrooms. If you don't want to pay the fee, you must go to the lobby to get online.

Room Tip: We have stayed both in the Beach building and in the South tower. It does not matter I think because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norwegian1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Norwegian1973: Thank you so much for sharing your review about your recent stay and welcome back to the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you had such a wonderful vacation and were able to take advantage of all of our great amenities and facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have stayed at this Sheraton (aka the Yankee Clipper) on several occasions, twice recently. The location and setting is perfect with beach immediately available and a very acceptable pool area, complete with poolside bar and food service. Rooms are nice regardless of where you choose to stay, although we prefer the balcony rooms in the Yankee Clipper section, even through they are more expensive. There are also two towers (without balcony rooms) and, of these two, the beachside tower is recommended because it is more convenient to amenities. Inside the Yankee Clipper portion of the hotel is the Wreck Bar with underwater windows to the pool (providing some interesting viewing) a good coffee cafe and Dos Caminos, an excellent Mexican restaurant. You have to pay for room internet access, which is irritating, but that seems to be the common factor among hotels today. If you pay, it works well and fast. You can self park without too much inconvenience if you don't want valet and the hotel staff is uniformly friendly. The clientele is a real mixed bag of American and foreign visitors, but we haven't noticed any issues with loud or obnoxious guests or noise issues in general.
Lauderdale is interesting because no hotels are allowed on the beach side of Ocean Boulevard and it has 7 miles of continuous beach that is groomed nightly. This hotel is at the southernmost end on the beach and, if you are a runner, it is the starting point along the uninterupted beach or sidewalk.

Room Tip: Oceanview balcony rooms are more expensive but worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CoachBobBoese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear CoachBobBoese: Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a relaxing stay and enjoyed all of our wonderful Sheraton amenities. We hope we can welcome you back again soon to our beautiful beachfront oasis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

It's hard to find an upscale average hotel anywhere in Florida. By that I mean that if you're not staying at a Ritz, most everything else is a hotel renovated every so often after spring breakers have destroyed it over a few seasons.

Last time I was here, it was 1999. It was Veryuch a tourist destination then and party goers had taken their toll on the place.

Today, it's cleaner, a touch more upscale with upscale staff. The place does not the sights of age it did before.

We stated in the south tower. Decent room. Nothing spectacular. Clean. Decent view of the beach but windows don't open at all. Probably because of spring breakers and lessons learned. Not a big deal but worth mentioning.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraigLieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear CraigLieberman: We read your review and are very excited to hear you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel! We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel cleanliness and all of our refreshing amenities. Thank you again for sharing your review and we look forward to your next visit to beachfront Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Your average mainstream large corporate hotel - but great location right on the beach. Beach bar with decent food. This is not 7-star luxury but a good decent hotel with clean comfortable rooms. Good choice for anyone starting or ending a cruise vacation who wants to spend a couple days extra.

Never been to Fort lauderdale before? - go to Las Olas Blvd for sure - Hollywood FL (father south) also worth a visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms in a building right on beach; others in building across the street (attached by walkway).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe4stage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Joe4stage: Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent experience with us at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback and were glad to hear your stay was enjoyable and relaxing. Again, thank you for sharing your review about your time here with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Pros:
* Location: This is the first of the beach "strip" hotels with their own private beach giving you access to all of the strip restaurants and bars but also your own private beach with beach chairs and tents.
* Food: The food options are decent -- the pool bar serves your standard fare (and very fresh) and the hotel restaurant (Dos Caminos) while not inexpensive serves great food.
* Beach: Their are staff members assigned to the beach who will provide you with towels, chairs, and an umbrella upon request. There is also beach side wait service so you don't have to leave your spot for a cool drink.

Cons:
* Noise: Very thin walls AND, the main building's balconies overlook the public beach which can be loud with music playing, etc.
* Large confusing layout: There are four buildings, 2 pools, and a private beach. None of this was explained when we checked in, we discovered it while wandering around.
* Parking Garage: The parking garage is tight and poorly designed. About 10% of the spaces are unusable due to the small size and overabundance of compact spaces. Additionally, the hotel offers parking to non-hotel guests, making it even more difficult to find a space.
* Food: From the end of lunch (~3pm) until 5:30, the only food options are room service and Starbucks. The restaurant is open for happy hour starting at 4pm but no food, not even chips, are available during the happy hour even though the ads for happy hour show food.
*Housekeeping: The housekeeping schedule was not conducive to a beach resort. Housekeeping regularly came by at 9 AM or earlier. They did not come by between 9:30 and 2:30 without a call to the front desk. Additionally, there was broken glass in our exterior hall. We contacted the front desk and told housekeeping directly about it. Even so, it took several days for the glass to be vacuumed up.

Room Tip: If you'll be using your car a lot, choose either the main or marina building. If you're spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear dptravels: Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate your mention of all the areas of your stay that you enjoyed, though we are disappointed to see where we fell short. Your feedback is very important to us and has been shared with our management team to ensure we are constantly improving our standards. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed at the Sheraton in Fort Lauderdale in late June. We had two adjoining Balcony Oceanview rooms. Checkin was quick and easy. To get to our rooms we had to use the tiny elevator and then walk outside on a tiny hallway - it was hard to pass the housekeeping cart with all our luggage! The walls in the room were very thin. Even with the adjoining doors closed I could hear the hair dryer going next door.

Trying to find the pool was an adventure. Had to walk through a parking lot and then through another building of the hotel to the pool. The bar service in the pool area was poor. Early on a Friday evening we were not once approached by waitstaff. We gave up at the bar trying to order a couple of beers, the bartender was too busy, even though there were only a few other people at the bar.

The infinity pool was very refreshing. Right outside the pool was the ocean where there were beach chairs and plenty of towel boys willing to set your towel down for you. I was surprised at how warm the ocean was! Much warmer than the Pacific over in California :) But I digress.

In one of the bars, there is a window looking into a pool. At night there was a 'mermaid' show. I didn't see it but the people I was with caught it and said it was very entertaining. One of the water taxi stops is conveniently right across the street.

Overall, the hotel was decent, but I think I would try a different hotel next time I'm in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almeister6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear almeister6: Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your honesty. Again thank you again for your feedback and for also sharing what you enjoyed most at our oceanfront property, including our pristine beaches and refreshing pools.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,825 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,743 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#28 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#18 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,614 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott North
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,452 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#31 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £129 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing