We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall A Good Stay But...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #44 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My sister and I vacationed together to celebrate her impending motherhood and 30th birthday. It was my treat so I wanted everything to be perfect. I will break down each part of my stay:

Check in: We arrived maybe 30 mins after check in time started. The line was long but the lobby was nice and comfortable. From arrival to the time we reached the check in counter was about 20 mins. After waiting 20 mins we were told that our room wasn't ready and that we could check our bags and check out the property. An hour or so later we receive a call telling us our room is ready and report back to check in counter. We are assigned a room and walk away excited to begin our vacation.

1st Room: Disgusting. View out the window was of a dark parking garage. We called up and had someone met us in the room to point out the many reasons we wanted to change rooms. Musty smell. Bloody napkin on floor. Soda stained lamp shades etc. This was a room no one had cleaned or occupied for some time.

2nd Room: Updated, beautiful view but because they were at capacity we were forced to stay in a room with a King Bed instead of the Double Queen I had originally booked. The manager seemed angry and impatient when I asked that a pull out bed be brought to the room.

3rd Room: Not as nice as the second room but it was the room type I booked so we tried to put the first 2 days of our vacation behind us and enjoy the rest of our stay.

Crowd: This hotel is pet friendly and seems to have many repeat guests. Family friendly. On our third day at the property we were accosted by an older drunk gentleman who was very chatty. The wait staff servicing the beach was very sympathetic and brought us complimentary drinks. His wife later joined him (with their yappy dog) and was pretty pissed that they were continuing to serve her hubby. Sounds horrible right? Nope! My sister and I still talk about Tony from upstate NY and his saint of a wife! He found us almost every day and shared more of his life story i.e. retiring from the sanitation department, no kids, one DUI in the beautiful state of FL. A real character.

Location: Amazing. Right on the water

Staff: Male manager was impatient angry. Housekeeper threw away a wet canvas bag we were using to take to the beach. Mostly helpful people.

Food: Eat off site. We ate breakfast one morning and it was great. The other meals (two dinners) were just average.


Overall the stay was pleasant. Tony, the location of the property and strong drinks made it a memorable trip.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the building that requires a walk through a corridor over the street. Those aren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Elisa C: Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are pleased to hear that overall your stay with us was positive, but do hope we can show you an even better experience next time! We hope to see you again soon for another relaxing weekend stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,452 - 2,458 of 3,993 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We made an unfortunate mistake to spend the night here after a long flight from the west coast. The overall condition of this hotel is run down and dirty. When you complain to the staff (acting manager) they say they are working on the problems including tons of deferred maintenance which is nothing more than a canned answer.

Lets start with the hallways, elevator, parking garage area, etc., etc. The place is filthy, you almost don't want to touch the elevator buttons due to all the filth on the panel. I would be surprised if they ever cleaned the parking garage area near the elevators in the last 20 years. Staying here gives you the feeling that you are in a crusty hotel in the seedy area of town.

If you want a hot shower, forget it. We had to let the water run for 20 minutes just to get a mildly warm shower and there was almost no water pressure. Did I mention that the bathroom door paint was coming off the door and the handle was loose. When I complained to the manager all they offered was an apology and refused to give any kind of credit back for the condition of the room. Watch out, there is the little hidden parking fee.

We spent a week traveling around Florida and this hotel was truly in a class of its own. It is truly deserving of a 1 star rating at best. Obviously Sheraton does not seem to care what kind of product they are willing to put there name on because this should be an embarrassment to them.

do yourself a favor and do not stay at this or the other Sheraton airport hotel (1825 Griffin Road
Dania, Florida 33004) as they seem to also have very negative ratings too. Did I mention that this was booked through Priceline and the rate was higher than by booking directly than with the hotel directly.

Do yourself a favor, go to the hotels individual website and read the guest comments, they are both full of negative reviews.

Be prepared to get the canned answers from the management like this one "

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us, as we are always looking for ways to improve the quality of our products. Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager"

Trust me complaining to the management here is totally useless unless you like to hear blah, blah, blah, blah, blah!!!!!!!!!

Stay away from here or you will be writing a review just like I am doing and many , many others have for both of these hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mr49phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear mr49phil: Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on some prime beach front real estate and is dog friendly which is a big bonus because I had a brand new puppy that couldn't be boarded yet.

I would have given it 4 stars but we reserved a room with beach view and we're placed on the second floor looking out to trees and no beach. We didn't complain because we checked in late at night and didn't see the view or lack thereof until the next morning and already unpacked.

Overall the room was clean and the housekeepers were very friendly and did a good job cleaning up our beachy mess each day. The pools were great especially the one by the beach house. And just so you all know, Sheraton has 3 different hotels; the main building which we stayed in, the marina building, and the beach house.

One of the coolest things the Sheraton does on Fridays and Saturdays is the live mermaid show in the pool at the main building. You can see the show from the wreck bar but we watched it from the pool which was better anyway.

Lastly, if you're looking for a quiet relaxing getaway this is probably not the best place to stay. Even with the hoopla of spring break over, this place was busy! And often loud and noisy! Our room was on the second floor of the main building with a fake turf social area right outside our door. We didn't mind because we were always out and about but after a long day at the beach having fun don't count on taking a nap before dinner.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Peggy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Peggy P: Thank you so much for sharing your review with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our beautiful and convenient location right here on Fort Lauderdale Beach as well as the great amenities we offer on-property. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel was great and the staff was amazingly accommodating. Our EVERY request was granted with the utmost enthusiasm and graciousness.

We had a great time and would stay again on our next trip to Ft.Lauderdale!

Highly recommend this property and it's staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Paula R: Thank you for sharing your kind words about our hotel staff. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to the oceanfront Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very nice beach resort, all you expect from Sheraton. Fazina and Andrew at the front desk were awesome - it was a pleasure to be at this hotel. We had an ocean view room - and you can only imagine the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaynBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear RaynBP: Thank you for the great review of our hotel and friendly staff! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff here was incredibly helpful! They helped us figure out how to get around and find good places to eat. They have a car service that has a flat rate which is about the same price as a taxi, but such a better experience! The drivers are incredibly nice! They gave us their personal numbers in case we needed anything while we were out and called to make sure we were okay and in a safe place if they were picking us up at night.

The beach was beautiful but the pool was small and crowded. If you like to sit by the pool, this is not the hotel for you. We are beach people, so it really didn't matter.

The wreck bar is cool, but the Mexican restaurant was horrible. The food was mediocre, and they charged 15 dollars for the chips and salsa, which should be free. We found all of the other restaurants we visited on the frommers website for food in Ft. Lauderdale. We didn't have a single complaint about the food ever. It is the best place for restaurant reviews!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mia S: Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your comments, and we are passing them along to the appropriate departments for further improvements. We are, however, happy that you enjoyed our beautiful location right on the beach and the service provided by our wonderful staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The VIP team made my experience exceptional! Thanks Brittany and Erica! I stayed there for my birthday celebration and I had an ocean front view (corner room) which was very nice! Once I arrived in my room I had balloons and cake! That made me feel very special. The pool and pool bar were also great! The beach was so close it was great! The only negative thing i have to say is about Dos Caminos (the restaurant onsite), the staff and service need to improve duing breakfast. It took very long to get my breakfast. Other than that, it was great for the price!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grettel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Grettel R: Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us and also the view from your oceanfront guest room. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,799 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,731 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,148 reviews
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#29 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £124 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing