We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #48 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent hotel right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

we stayed here pre cruise for a weekend. loved everything! the hotel is refurbished and looks really nice. we had a corner room in the tower with a view of the port and beach. the hotel has 2 pools and a private beach. the beach bar is a great place to grab a drink or a snack. they will also come to you if you are at the beach or pool. we also liked the 2 restaurants- dos caminos and the wreck bar. they had nightly happy hour specials. the hotel also gave us a booklet with coupons to use at the sheraton or at the nearby westin. we would definitely stay here again if we visit fort lauderdale.

Room Tip: ask for a tower room. the rooms at the beach area get very loud because of everyone using the hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leroythelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear jamie n: Thank you for sharing your fantastic 5-star review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the top-notch service you have received from our attentive staff. It was a pleasure having you, and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    1,138
    737
    399
    317
See reviews for
1,085
1,282
186
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (800)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Although the outside of the rooms (hallways and room doors) need updating desperately. Rooms are good and clean and service is excellent. Employees are very friendly and always looking to help. The hotel location is excellent and the ammenities on the beach are great ( lounge chairs, towels, etc). The only restaurant (Dos Caminos) is a little pricey and if you are not into Mexican food, you will have to walk or drive to other places.

Room Tip: Main building is the only one with balconies, but it is the oldest building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jatpa4087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear jatpa4087: We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed our beautiful location right on Fort Lauderdale Beach. We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel cleanliness and will be sure to pass along to our housekeeping department. We look forward to welcoming you back and the near future!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This place needs new carpet. I stayed overnight and ate breakfast. Very standard overpriced stuff. It has some fun family perks. I don't have kids so I wasn't thrilled with this place. I'm sure the mermaid show was fun but overall I think this place was a bit stinky.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeeelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Deeeelaney: Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We most definitely will share with our management team for future improvements.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, so it's an older property. It's also a historic landmark so they are limited in the changes they can make. I understand people getting a little disappointed by the rooms or property for that reason only. In my opinion the location can't be beat. It's an easy walk to the touristy beach area without having to stay in the middle of the crowds. You basically have a private beach area right in front of the hotel. The service was wonderful. Derek at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helped me get checked in when there was a minor issue. David was our bellman 3 times and he was extremely pleasant and helpful and don't leave without seeing Nicole at the pool bar for a Strawberry Lemonade. She remembered us and our orders each day we went back. We stayed in 2 very different suites, both at "the bow of the boat." Suite 500 was huge with plenty of room to entertain but no balconies, and tiny bathrooms and closets. Room 400 directly below, had 2 awesome balconies, large beautifully redone bathrooms, and a walk in closet. But the living room is significantly smaller. As long as you aren't planning on having more than 5 adults in the room at one time, I'd prefer 400 over 500. This hotel isn't necessarily a "great value" property. But isn't not crazy over priced either. You are paying more for location and service and for me, I've always wanted to stay at the bow of The Yankee Clipper so I was thrilled.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank StefaniLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear StefaniLeo: Thank you for sharing your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to make it a memorable vacation experience! Customer service is very important to us, and we’re very pleased our staff met your standards. We look forward to seeing you in the future for another wonderful stay at the historic Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

While on business, stayed here given its ease to the 17tth Street Causeway (and many reasonable eateries), and prime location to the beach. About 4 blocks from Las Olas Blvd and the so-called heart of the tourist shops/bars on Ft. Lauderdale Beach, and only 1 block from one of the charter fishing boat staging areas. The Rooms are ample and give much to what would be expected for the price and being on the beach. Pool area was ample with a lively Tiki bar/grill. This hotel is a popular place for both tourist and locals alike (who want to bring their families to the beach for a simple getaway and break in their usual routine). Staff is extremely helpful, and showed no signs of stress especially since this hotel was extremely busy! This hotel has been around for a long time, but has obviously undergone periodic sprucing up and I saw little in the way of appreciable wear and tear. Convenient drive and walk to many nearby areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPhTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear RPhTraveler: Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review! We’re thrilled that to hear about your wonderful time with us at the iconic Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel. It’s great that you enjoyed our signature Sheraton amenities, service provided by our staff, and our beautiful location on the beach. We’ll be sure to pass your kudos along. Thanks again, and we can’t wait to see you soon!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

A friend booked this hotel for us. She made an excellent choice. I believe that I made a mistake in my last review. I commended the shuttle driver from Spain. Sorry. He was not the driver at Embassy Suites. He was from this hotel and shuttled us to Sawgrass Mall. A very pleasant and courteous young man. Quite enjoyed the three nights stay..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear alexandrina55: Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you again for future visits!

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
796 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

As is common theme in the reviews for this property on TA, yes it is dated, but many of the hotels in FLL are and therefore this is to some extent acceptable.
We requested a room in the Beach Building which has a spectacular view. The room was acceptable and was clean. If you get a room in the main part of the building (above reception and overlooking one of the pool), it feels more like a dated motel with the open corridors opening onto a 'courtyard' with one of the pools.
The main issue we had was with constant door slamming at all hours (many airlines obviously use the property for cabin crew so they are coming at all hours).
It is safe to say it is not of the usual Seraton standard and in that respect, I do not know why they market is as such as this only raises expectations.
We got a good rate on the hotel in June, in that respect, it offered good vale, I would however not pay 200 USD a night!!

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room in the Beach Building. The rest of the hotel feels more like a motel with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMgmtFTL, Manager at B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear UkSil: Thank you for sharing your review and letting us know about our recent experience at our hotel. We're glad you found value in your stay and enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from our guestroom. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for future stays at the Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Heather W.
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#26 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,616 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale

Property: B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1140 Seabreeze Blvd., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2426 (Formerly Sheraton Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate oceanfront experience in South Florida, look no further than B Ocean Resort in Fort Lauderdale. Located directly on the pristine white sand beach, B Ocean Resort is where you'll want to B for the ultimate beach vacation. With 486 bright and airy guest rooms and suites, B Ocean Resort features the most desirable amenities, including FreeB™ WiFi, 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, the B Active Fitness Center, and delectable dining at Dos Caminos, the famed Wreck Bar and Beach Bar & Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Hotel Florida
Yankee Clipper Motel
Sheraton Yankee Clipper Fort Lauderdale
Sheraton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing