We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Delightful Place at the Beach”
Review of Tropi Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropi Rock Resort
Ranked #93 of 131 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I'm a little late in writing this review. We stayed at the Tropi Rock for nearly six weeks in the fall (2011) and had a wonderful time. We've stayed in the area for years and had walked by this property many times. It has been purchased by the same group that had closed and was refurbishing our usual hotel, and it was suggested we stay here. It was a good decision.

The hotel is showing some age, as other reviewers have noted. We did not notice any problem with cleanliness, however. The housekeeping staff worked very hard to keep our room clean and comfortable. I assume the new owners will be refurbishing this property soon.

We rented an efficiency which had a full kitchen, eating area with dining table and four chairs, and everything one would expect a kitchen to have. It was a spacious unit and we didn't get cabin fever even after an extended stay. We phoned several family members who decided to join us and we ended up with three rooms, all joined together. It was like having a huge condo but with privacy when we wanted it. All of our family were pleased with the accommodations.

The grounds are well landscaped and are well kept; the outdoor furnishings, like the rest of the hotel, are showing some age, though, and if you are expecting the Ritz, this isn't it.The pool area is very inviting and there is complimentary outdoor coffee in the courtyard every day. Beach towels and chairs are provided for beach goers at no cost.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance and there is a bus stop a block away. Anyone who hasn't used Fort Lauderdale's public transit has missed a great way to get around at a very reasonable cost. I highly recommend it.

What can I say about Mick and Patty that others haven't already said? They were simply two of the best hotel managers I've ever encountered anywhere. Mick gave us many suggestions for restaurants and other tips. Both of them were helpful in many ways while we were visiting.

They were also quick to solve problems. Shortly after our arrival, for some reason, one of the large Italian floor tiles became loose. The more we walked on it, the looser it got. We mentioned it to Mick once and within hours a tile crew was in the room repairing it. We had no more trouble.

We will be in Fort Lauderdale again and when we are, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sldkjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

sldkjf2,
Your review of the Tropirock and the surrounding area was spot on! Thanks very much. You are correct, we are refurbishing a lot of the hotels in the area. We can't wait for you to come back and see all of the exciting things that have happened since your last stay. In fact, we just opened the Plaza Bistro, and outdoor cafe which is right next to the Tropirock. Next time you visit, you can enjoy some great food, cold drinks and wonderful atmosphere right next to the resort! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We booked our room at TropiRock last minute based on location and that fact that it was dog friendly. I'm not sure why anyone would give this place a 4 or 5 rating. The entire place needs a deep cleaning, inside and out. When I took my shoes off and walked across the room my feet were instantly covered in dirt. The bathroom floor was filthy and doesn't looked like it has been scrubbed in years, no joke. The best thing about our room was the fact that we could see the ocean through our dirty window. The blinds were all bent up and the curtain liners had sun rot. The only reason we stayed is because we couldn't find any other motel/hotel for the price that would accept dogs. I never met Mick who people rave about on here but the woman who checked us in and out was not welcoming or friendly. Maybe that is just her personality but when you're the first and last person guests see you should at least smile. Oh and how can I forget the bed....I think the name TropiROCK sums it up. I can honestly say it was the firmest mattress I have ever slept on. We did enjoy having our morning coffee in the lush gardens and being just a block from the beach was great. This place has a lot of potential but for us it fell short. I hope my review is helpful for Mick and fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Scott S,
Thanks for your feedbcak. It is helpful and we really do appreciate it. You're right, the hotel is in a prime location, and it's a pet friendly hotel which can be hard to find. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Welcoming colorful little hotel resort with everything you need. Mick very helpful and hospitable. Our room included a little fridge and a breakfast table for two which is very convenient, which also describes the location. The beach is two blocks away and there are tons of restaurants within a five mile radius. The only down side is the bathrooms could some upgrading.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirleyd234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Clean spacious shabby room.
Doors to the room are very unpleasant, as mentioned by a previous reviewer - definitely make you think they've been broken into a few times, and that methods had to be employed to prevent a repeat.
Public areas very worn out and not clean.
Pool area and furniture very worn, no cushions for loungers.
Very bizarre - full size "shop window" into each room, only a pane of glass separating you from people on the walkways - impossible to have the curtains pulled back at most times.
"Only families with well-behaved children"......hmmmm, who would admit their children aren't well-behaved - very noisy ones on our landing!
Staff pleasant.
Overall, I'd advise people to look back a few pages at all the reviews, and all the promises by the management that measures are being taken to make improvements. We forfeited a night's rent to leave early - no surprise shown by desk staff, and no questioning as to why we made this decision, so I'm guessing it's not a rare event.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fromourpointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Fromoutpointofview,
Thanks for your review. We rely on guest feedback in order to improve our hotels and will look into the items you mentioned. We are working hard every day to make the area better and hope you can come back again soon to check out our progress. Thanks again, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

A couple of weeks ago we went to Ft Lauderdale for a little winter vacation and to run their half marathon. We picked the Tropi Rocks because it sounded like a novel place. It surpassed our expectations. If you want a gym or a marble lobby or the Hilton around the corner this is not that. But if you want a nice room with an equiped kitchen and a great value for the money - this is a wonderful place. Mick and Patty were great & I would say that we became "friends" with Mick by the 2nd day. Its 1 1/2 blocks off the beach. They give you beach towels and beach chairs to take to the beach. They cared and had lots of personal suggestions of unique places to eat and see. We happen to rent a scooter from a place just down the street and Mick let us keep it inside their gated tropical gardens ( small but nice) over night. It just made us feel more comfortable. We did not find anything wrong with the room we were in. It wasn't new but it was clean and comfortable. We had a good time on our trip and a lot of it had to do with the atmosphere of the Tropi Rocks.

Room Tip: Don't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A0d138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

A0d138,
Thanks so much for staying with us. You're right, it's a great place with great rates, and Mick & Patty really do think of the guests as friends. Congratulations on your half marathon. Next time you'll be able to power up with some great food right next door at the Plaza Bistro - a beautiful outdoor cafe with delicious food and a relaxing atmosphere. We hope you can come check it out soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We would have loved to have seen the Tropi Rock in its "hay day"...sincerely.The decorating/ design is very unique and the grounds lovely. Unfortunately the room we stayed in was very tired with no hot water in the shower. We were there for six nights.There was quite a bit of mold around the shower door but other than that the room was clean. The room was a kitchenette but there was no toaster,coffee maker or fry pan.I value the reviews on tripadvisor. This property had good ratings however this experience will get me to dig a little further next time.The manager Mick was a terrific person. He was extremely helpful before our booking as well as during our stay.You could not ask for a better "host".

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneHarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

AnneHarland,
We're sorry you had some problems with the hot water. We'll make sure to get that fixed asap. We are pleased to hear that Mick took good care of you. Anyone who has ever stayed at this resort understands just how special Mick is. We hope you can come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

nice owners. but has no gym. no tennis. needs lot of up dating. very good coffee

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

DominickA,
Thanks for staying at The Tropirock. We're doing a lot of improvements throughout the entire area, and we hope you can come back again soon to check them out. Thanks again, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Beach Gardens
#69 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
253 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#58 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
763 reviews
Universal Palms Hotel
#106 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Winterset Hotel
#75 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
360 reviews
Central Beach
Fala Hotel
Fala Hotel
#45 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
425 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#22 of 131 in Fort Lauderdale
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropi Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Rock Resort

Address: 2900 Belmar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £69 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropi Rock Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries, Fort Lauderdale Beach has traditionally been among America's top tropical destinations. We're warm year-round. We offer endless world-famous beaches and world-class venues. In this spirit, we spared no expense updating the quintessential Tropirock Hotel - evoking memories of the golden age of travel when rooms were stylish and attentive service made you feel exceptional. Tropirock's now one of North Beach Village's most popular boutique hotels - where seascapes, watersports and heated pools arouse family fun but at an extraordinary value. Walk just 3-minutes to sunny beaches and unforgettable dining or 10,000 family entertainment options! And when you return, you'll find our Village Hosts with their concierge-like services attentive to your family's needs. We'll help everyone feel uniquely comfortable and delighted. Our motto, "Under promise and over deliver," speaks of Tropirock's value. After all, our attention to detail is evident in our use of custom tiled floors, fine woods and creative decor. Our spacious rooms have state-of-the-art flat screens and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi is complimentary and there are never resort fees. Book Tropirock today and today your beach holiday begins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropi Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Rock Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Tropi Rock Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing