We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with good location”
Review of Tropi Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropi Rock Resort
Ranked #90 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean with good location”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Tropi Rock is an old hotel run by a private company. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the pillows were very nice. The pool and garden area is small but nice. The location is a short 3 minute walk to the beach, about 15 minute walk to Beach Place and 15 minute walk to the Galleria Mall.

If you are looking for a place just to hang your hat while you spend time in the sun this is a good value. The staff was helpful and pleasant at all times. If you are looking to be "close to the action" you might want to look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Diane K,
Thanks for choosing the Tropirock. We recently added a new cafe (Village Cafe) to our collection and are planning a alot of exciting projects, like a covention center and a fitness center. All of these great additions will surely bring more action into the area. We can't wait for you to come back soon and see the evolving neighborhood! Thanks again for your review. NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    116
    68
    43
    25
See reviews for
83
144
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is paradise, and I think Fort Lauderdale's best kept secret. Patti greeted us and she was very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early before the 3:00 p.m. check-in. We had been on a cruise for seven days and traveled from the Port of Miami. We were dog tired and expected to sit in the lobby until check-in. However, she told us we could leave our luggage in the lobby area and where we could eat breakfast. We were allowed in our room once she had housekeeping to prepare it. That really made our day!

When we got into the room, it was so beautiful. The television is a flat screen with many cable channels. My favorite channel, Investigation Discovery, was available. So I stayed in bed the majority of my stay and watched it. It felt so good.

I'm planning a cruise for next year with my daughter and will definitely stay here instead of staying in Miami - I will just take the shuttle to the Port of Miami on the day of the cruise.

Also, Patti took the initiative to call the shuttle to pick us up in the morning to take us to the airport.

I love it here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vbryant70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Vbryant70,
Thanks so much for your review. You'll be happy to hear that we are going to soon have our own shuttle service so next year just give us a call and we'll pick you and your daughter up from the cruise. Oh and we'll make sure to have Investigation Discovery on for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This was our third trip back to this hotel. So quaint and friendly. Love the gardens. Quiet location but still within walking distance to restaurants and bars. We know it recently sold so we are hoping it stays the same!

Room Tip: Stayed in 200. A one bedroom apartment. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCPEEPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
OCPEEPS,
We are already looking forward to your 4th, 5th and 6th visits! Thanks so much for choosing the Tropirock when you're in Ft. Lauderdale. The ownership changed about 2 years ago and as you can see, it's kept that quaint, charming and friendly vibe. Don't worry, there will always be a friendly face waiting for you at the Tropirock!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANSING
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This motel is a good value for the money. It is 2 blocks, a short walk to the beach and within walking distance to many restaurants and bars. We booked it sight unseen and weren't disappointed . The room was spacious enough and clean (king bed with microwave, small fridge, and small coffee maker). Coffee is available by the pool in the morning (no cups in the room). Pool is nice with alot of vegetation and secluded areas if you want to get away from others. If the small elevator isn't working, the steps into the motel and up to the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms could be a problem for some. We arrived after 8pm and had to check in at another motel a couple of blocks away (8pm-2am no problem) but call ahead if you're going to be late. Otherwise, we will recommend and stay there again, as many of the guests we talked to have done (many repeat customers)

Room Tip: Make sure the elevator is working if your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEIL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
NEIL G,
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Tropirock. You're right, the place is very affordable and it's in a perfect location. We hope that you too will become one of our many repeat customers! Thanks again for your review, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We chose Tropi Rock Resort instead of our usual spot. It is quaint and cute and in a great location! Please keep in mind that this resort is older and not a big chain. Our room was a nice size and had a kitchen, not a kitchenette. It also had adjoining rooms on either side, which is great if you have children. The downside to the room is that the walls are VERY thin and we could hear EVERYTHING! The staff room was right outside our door so we heard their conversation most of the morning. The pool is cute and cozy however they need to some how include a hot tub! They do offer bar-b-que grills. The price is a great point-of-sale to boot! Tropi Rock is one block away from the beach and not far from the Las Olas area! We are headed back in June with kids in tow and are thinking Tropi Rock will be our place to stay instead of our usual!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Tiffany C,
Thanks so much for your review. Make sure to give us a call in June when you return. We'd love to help you plan a special vacation in North Beach Village. We are always implementing new services and hope that a kids club is in the near future. We'd be proud to be your new "usual place" in Fort Lauderdale. Thanks again, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a vacation at Tropi Rock Resort, I booked it less than 2 weeks in advance. Also, it was a school vacation week, the boat show and Patti found a way to fit us in with everything we wanted! SHE is absolutely AMAZING!! Tropi Rock is a very friendly resort where many of the guest return every year. Kinda like Cheers where everybody knows your name. The rooms are very clean. Most have full kitchens. There is a laundry facility right on sight. A very nice quiet resort that is located 1 block from the beach which took about 2 minutes to walk to. Location is awesome... beach, restaurants, shopping, drinking establishments, everything you could want all close by. The entire staff were terrific but I want to say that Patti { former owner } runs that resort like nobody's business she will go way above and beyond the call of duty to ensure everyone is happy and comfortable! She is absolutely key to the success of Tropi Rock!! I didn't want to leave so, we extended our stay for 2 more days. Once again Patti and the crew made it happen even though they were full and again very last minute on our part She put us in an apartment w/ a discounted rate! All in all I can say that I have stayed in many timeshares that have been awesome but never one that felt so homey and comfortable where they truely care about you. It's not the Ritz but I liked it even better! Loved this place 101% and cant wait to go back!!! I think I will become like so many of the people who return again and again. I met so many nice people there. Thank You so much Patti and the crew look forward to our next visit!!! <3 <3 <3

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
jpubs,
We are looking forward to your visit next year too! You can count on Patty to be there with open arms. Thanks so much for your review, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this cute family-friendly hotel. Simple, clean room with a new TV. Great pool. Just ask the kids: They loved it. Plenty close to the beach for us. Fine food and very enjoyable experience at the adjoining outdoor restaurant. We're happy as well to support a company that appears to be making an ongoing financial commitment to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Info1000, Owner at Tropi Rock Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
jfg17,
We're so happy that you and your kids enjoyed Tropirock. It's a great place with affordable rates and a prime location. We are also pleased that you took advantage of our outdoor cafe, The Plaza Bistro, right next door. Next time you visit you'll have to visit The Village Cafe, NBV's newest cafe! We hope to see you soon. Thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Winterset Hotel
#72 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Beach Gardens
#65 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#59 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,709 reviews
Sea Club Resort
#80 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropi Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropi Rock Resort

Property: Tropi Rock Resort
Address: 2900 Belmar St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4003
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropi Rock Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For centuries, Fort Lauderdale Beach has traditionally been among America's top tropical destinations. We're warm year-round. We offer endless world-famous beaches and world-class venues. In this spirit, we spared no expense updating the quintessential Tropirock Hotel - evoking memories of the golden age of travel when rooms were stylish and attentive service made you feel exceptional. Tropirock's now one of North Beach Village's most popular boutique hotels - where seascapes, watersports and heated pools arouse family fun but at an extraordinary value. Walk just 3-minutes to sunny beaches and unforgettable dining or 10,000 family entertainment options! And when you return, you'll find our Village Hosts with their concierge-like services attentive to your family's needs. We'll help everyone feel uniquely comfortable and delighted. Our motto, "Under promise and over deliver," speaks of Tropirock's value. After all, our attention to detail is evident in our use of custom tiled floors, fine woods and creative decor. Our spacious rooms have state-of-the-art flat screens and coffeemakers. Wi-Fi is complimentary and there are never resort fees. Book Tropirock today and today your beach holiday begins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Tropi Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropi Rock Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Tropi Rock Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing