We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NOISY,.. quaint cute, small, but A/C unit is LOUD”
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winterset Hotel
Ranked #75 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 31 July 2013

we stayed here 2 nights before a monday flight to Puerto Rico.

clean, quaint, BUT LOUD, you here everything through walls and A/c unit on room is VERY loud! pool was fine, but when guest decided to party till 5;30 am then put glass beer bottle in bottom of pool, it wasnt removed until the evening the next night. REally? GLASS in a pool and staff didnt get it for 1 day? that is dangerous!
ok location, good room rate, but we would try another hotel that was a bit quieter, really, you cant believe how thin the wall are in this place.

recommend a 1st floor unit . we had 2nd floor corner unit and wedged between 2 other rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Michelle S,
We're sorry to hear about your experience but really appreciate the feedback. Guest feedback is very important so we can improve. We do have numerous hotels in our collection and hope that you will let us help you find your perfect fit next time you are in Ft. Lauderdale. We know we can do better and hope that you will give us that chance. Thanks very much for your review. Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed our visit. We walked to the beach everyday and it was minutes from the airport as well as local shops and restaurants!

Loved the mature Floridian foliage, the three well-maintained pools and the staff were very friendly. The hotel also included umbrellas and chairs for the beach. Older style of hotel but did well in updating the rooms and they were very clean. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I stayed in a standard room but my family (with children) stayed in the rooms with kitchens etc. Tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Tracy C,
Thanks so much for your review. The Winterset is very special, and we are pleased that you appreciate the older style and mature foliage. In fact, we have an Old Man Palm Tree, which is a very rare palm that is found mostly in collector's gardens. We have worked hard to preserve the native plants and mid-century modern architecture that is Winterset, and we are so happy that you noticed! Take care, NBV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Me and my husband spent 3 days at this hotel. We loved the location (just 5 minutes walking from the beach and the ocean front boulevard with all the restaurants and shops). The hotel itself was a jewel too: very clean and welcoming. It has also a beautiful garden with a couple of tables where you can sip your morning coffee. Right outside our room was a pool and jacuzzi which we were lucky to have just for the two of us. And what i really loved was the fact that the pool was open 24/7. The staff was super friendly as well. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Mariana C,
We'd love to have you back too! Guests can relax by the pool or lay in the hammock, surrounded by lush landscaping. It's almost hard to believe that the shops & restaurants are just walking distance away. It's the best of both worlds! Thanks very much for your review, see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed at The Winterset Nov. 2012 and Dec 2013,,Love it. They kept the charm of old south florida, with all new rooms ,,modern but still classic, we stayed on second floor over looking the pool, Our room was big and roomy with lot's of windows. Very clean. beautifully decorated rooms. Staff very nice and helpful. great location walk a couple blocks to the beach. The pool and tropical gardens are clean and beautiful. I will be back. They have 3 different room sizes, I stayed in a one bedroom and loved it ,full kitchen too, but I looked at all the rooms while I was there and all of them are beautiful, I would be happy in any of the rooms there. looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: They have 3 pools and 3 hotel builidings at The Winterset I stayed second floor in front ,but all ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenchar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Brenchar1,
What a nice way to describe the Winterset. You're absolutely right; with it's 3 buildings, tropical gardens and different room choices, it's easy to find the perfect fit. Thanks so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The location was great for us and for the most part it was nice a quiet. Priced right, affordable and still nice, clean, friendly, and a roomy suite. The Staff was extremely helpful, we asked for a toaster and they got it for us quickly.
This place is really, really clean and we loved the retro feel.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor and we stayed in the building closest to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

badminx,
We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Winterset. Our collection of boutique hotels offers a variety of styles and rates. The decor may change but one thing guests can always count on is our super friendly staff. We really love our guests and always do our very best to make sure the guests are happy! Thanks so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed with my husband in April 2013. Good location if you want to be close to the beach and still quiet. The outdoor environment with pool area Is very nice and clean. The staff is kind and welcoming. The rooms need refreshment and bed is not very comfortable. What you can expect of the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraStina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

SaraStina,
Thanks so much for your review. We have kept the mid-century modern architecture of our boutique hotels rather than knock them down and build high rises. As a result, these older buildings sometimes need extra TLC and we will definitely address the items you mentioned. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and is the best way we can improve. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We found The Winterset while trying to find an inexpensive hotel close to the Ft Lauderdale beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find this little gem of a hotel. We got the deluxe suite which included a kitchen. It was extremely clean, well laid out, and perfect for what we needed. We were less than a 10 minute walk to the beach and even had access to 3 different pools on the hotel's property. The front office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The property has a great feel to it and the location is wonderful for the beach, restaurants, and an easy taxi ride to many other attractions. I would definitely recommend staying here and will certainly do so again on my next trip to Ft Lauderdale.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Bill B,
Isn't it nice to be pleasantly surprised? We know that our guests deserve a relaxing vacation, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Winterset. We appreciate your review and thank you so much for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Beach Gardens
#69 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
248 reviews
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
103 reviews
Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#60 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,031 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
188 reviews
Central Beach
Fala Hotel
Fala Hotel
#46 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing