We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!”
Review of Winterset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winterset Hotel
Ranked #73 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was dirty and in disrepair. The bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever slept on. The pictures on the website are old and do not represent the current conditions at this overpriced "hotel".

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJD313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
JJD313,
We were sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Winterset Hotel. We are renovating the property now and improvements include new A/C units and some new kitchens. We do appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll be able to visit us again and let us earn a better review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    116
    66
    34
    20
See reviews for
92
134
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlijn, Duitsland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

the room was great, deluxe king suite, the bed was enormous, the room spacious, all clean, great kitchen. the complex was great, 3 swimmingpools, a hottub and free beachstuff to borrow. the beach was 5min away and has an awesome boulevard!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mlooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
mlooij,
Thanks for the 5 star review! We really appreciate it. Located in the heart of North Beach Village, Winterset Hotel is a great boutique hotel. We're so happy that you let us be a part of your vacation, and we hope that you'll be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in a suite. Loved the space & kitchenette.
A really nice location. Check-in staff friendly.
The house keeping was somewhat hit & miss, but front desk did deal with it swiftly.
Clean, however the hotel could do with renovation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Nicholas T,
You'll be happy to hear that we are in the process of renovating the Winterset Hotel! We're expanding the office, replacing the A/C units and updating some kitchens. We hope that next time you visit we'll be able to earn those extra stars! Thanks so much for your review. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went to Winterset for a pre- cruise ,2 days and it was enough ,the standard room is just o.k ,the bathroom is very small , old, and moisture on the ceiling . All the doors make noise . But the hotel has a great location near to the beach and restaurants . They need another makeover .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Daniel T,
Thanks for your review. We agree with you and are working to put some TLC into Winterset so hopefully you'll be able to come back soon to see! The great thing about staying in North Beach Village is that we have a hotel for every taste and budget. Please give us a call next time you're in the area and let us help you find the perfect fit for you! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gbg., PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Although this hotel was clean and might be good for a week stay, it is not good for the night before a cruise. Even though they say it's only 4 miles from airport, it cost 22.50 by taxi to get there, and then another 21.00 to get to the cruise port the next day. Those prices are without tips. Also if you get an early flight in the day before, you cannot check into the hotel before 3PM (even if there are cleaned rooms) unless you pay an additional $25. So you waste 1/2 of your day sitting there waiting for 3:00 to come around. They only had a small UNLOCKED closet in their office to store our luggage until 3:00 came, and the office was just folding tables with computers sat on them. I did not feel safe leaving my lugguage with everyone going in and out of the office, so instead of exploring we just sat out side by the pool. No place to wash up or change clothes until we had our room. My husband wanted to get something to drink or snacks, and they kept saying two blocks away but he couldn't find anything. Several blocks to the beach but not in an area where there are food places and things to do. So we found it very expensive for the one night stay, once you add on the taxi charges. Our friends stayed right across from the port in the Crowne Plaza for less than the price of our room. We wanted to try this place because we thought it looked nice on the internet, got good reviews, and we like to give our business to private owners rather than the big brands. In this case we could have saved a bundle by going with the big brands and had more to spend on the cruise.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage stay on the ground floor. No elevators so you lug your suitcases up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
jlenzi,
We're sorry to hear about the issues you encountered, and we're sure that your next visit will prove to be much better. In fact, we recently added a store at one of our sister hotels so guests can easily get snacks & drinks. Also, we now have a shuttle service and can assist in picking up and/or dropping off guests. We hope that you'll come back and let us help earn that 5 star review. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Winterset Is part of the NBV, (North Beach Villa Resorts), a group of old properties in the North Beach area of Fort Lauderdale that have been refurbished.
The Winterset is three blocks back from the beach and the nearest restaurant (The Deck). You can catch the Water Taxi on Seville Street, a 10 minute walk away. Other shops and restaurants are in a 20-30 minute walking distance. A taxi from here to the airport/cruise port costs about $20 plus tip.
The grounds surrounding this property are beautifully landscaped. There are three lovely pools, a hot tub, sun loungers, and lots of tables and chairs. Free WiFi, which is fast and with a strong signal is available throughout the property.
The rooms aren't quite as crisp, modern and 'IKEA-ish' as pictured on their website and on other booking sites . As two couples travelling together, we had booked a one bedroom apartment and a studio. The apartment, though worn for wear, had a spacious layout and a full kitchen. The studio was really just a very small and very dated, hotel style room with a tiny microwave, a mini coffee pot and a bar fridge. The air conditioning unit was deafening.
Rooms are not ready for check-in until 3:00. Luggage storage space is very limited. Office is haphazardly run. With a makeover and an efficient office, this has the potential to be a stellar property.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
KYnI,
Thank you for your review. We are always striving to improve and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks for mentioning the landscaping. Our team of landscapers work hard and it's great that it's noticed. Thanks again for staying with us. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived late from a long 23 hour drive. We checked in and we thought it was well decorated. Very cute! Beds were comfortable. Loved the convenience of the kitchen. Great location. We walked down and around the corner to get food. We wish we could have stayed longer but had to leave for our cruise. The price was great for Ft. Lauderdale. Great location! Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nikirsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at Winterset Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
nikirsmith,
Thanks for noticing the charm in the Winterset. It's a great boutique hotel, with great rates and a great location. We hope that you will stay again and appreciate the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Nobleton Hotel
Nobleton Hotel
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
99 reviews
Beach Gardens
#68 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
244 reviews
Central Beach
The Fortuna Hotel
The Fortuna Hotel
#38 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
186 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,021 reviews
Central Beach
Tranquilo
Tranquilo
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winterset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winterset Hotel

Property: Winterset Hotel
Address: 2801 Terramar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Winterset Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O.K. - Everyone knows that Fort Lauderdale Beach is one of the best places in Florida for an unforgettable family beach getaway, but where's the very best place on our tropical barrier island and miles of golden beaches? North Beach Village is Fort Lauderdale's legendary borough, offering an ideal locale from which to explore but also unmatched boutique hotel value. With the Intracoastal Waterway and sandy beaches just a few minutes' walk away - it's easy to spark uncommon happiness and feel deeply reconnected and refreshed. And Winterset's spacious 36-rooms and three sparkling heated pools is perfect for soothing minds or mindless fun! Our updated rooms have state-of-the-art kitchens, flat screens and cozy furnishings. Rooms have a cool, Caribbean decor plus Wi-Fi, coffee and sunshine is included. We never charge resort fees. Ultimately, guests rave about Winterset and return because our above and beyond concierge-like services inspire recuperation and relaxation. Whether you dream away in our steamy hot-tub under twinkling stars, take your family on a water taxi ride to beachy restaurants or bedazzle with watersport adventures - everybody will love Winterset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Winterset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winterset Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Winterset Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing