We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Needs work but Management is right on top of things!””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lauderdale By The Sea Resort
Ranked #96 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is reasonably priced but needs work on the website and in the rooms..you need to verify the type of room you want ahead of time and in which building as there is an additional charge for both a single bed and in another building which is right on the water. We had a difficult stay but the manager took our email and responded very quickly with a gracious offer to come back at their expense for a night! While things need improving i'd return just for the customer service aspect!!! We would return knowing the things we know now!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nightnurseFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Lauderdale By The Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Bad experience,old building,no ice machine working,no towels,the door of the balcony was locked.The water was yellow. Just stay away or just dont sleep well.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I would have given a review rating of a negative value if possible. I had read the reviews on this hotel and knew it was not rated well but my daughter and I wanted to stay in a specific location and on the beach. The price wasn't bad ($84) a night for being on the beach and during Spring break HOWEVER fees and taxes added another $27 a night to the bill. The staff would NOT give me an itemized bill after several requests and my credit card was charged the first night for the entire stay. There were holes in the walls, the maids would not give us towels (they didn't have any-I had to buy bath towels), a plastic cup had been placed in a hole in the wall as a door stopper, the baseboard was pulling away from the wall, a light fixture was hanging by one wire in the hallway, stains on the carpet and bedspread, only one elevator worked and was extremely slow. If we had not arrived at 1:30am and I had the opportunity to look for other accommodations I would have moved to a different hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahouston421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Please choose another hotel if you do not want to live in a totally disgusting hotel.
I had to change rooms 5 times before I got a room that went to sleep in and then the bathtub half filled with a green mess that smelled of chlorine.
After I complained to management, I got another room at one of their at the Hotel who was also very poorly maintained but had a fantastic beachfront location.
The complainant paid off this time so they try anyway.
/ / Stefan

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aaax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Travelled over US for twenty years. More than a hundred hotels, these is the worse. No room service, no towels change. Dirty as hell. Elevator doesn't work. Room door does't look. Run away!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Hallways are uneven concrete, only 1 elevator worked, "oceanview" only from 4th and 5th floors and across the street, moldy walls, wet carpet, duct tape on carpet edges, restaurant and bar closed, just plain nasty for $119 per night. Good location to shops and pier and restaurants.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

HORRENDOUS - This below standards “hotel” should not be allowed to be listed on any travel sites . This place should be torn down, because it is in such bad shape and ownership . And shame on this hotel for such audacity to set high online room rates for the poor conditions they offer, that you don't see, while blatantly deceiving the traveler with their descriptions . The hotels photos look like our room, and make things look nice, until you see everything close up for real . Unfortunately, my wife and I had booked and paid $252 in advance for two nights, online thru' a third party travel site before seeing what we were in for. We stayed one night, trying to tolerate things, but left in disgust the next day .
Our room, we were told, was newly renovated ! The carpet may have been new, but that was all that may have been new ! Everything else was not NEW . The mattresses were quite old and sagging in the middle, and the box springs were from the Marriott ( that name stamp was still them ), were so old they were a yellow-brown discolor. The bed sheets were also thin and worn, and the pillow cases worn to threads in some places. The pillows inside were so dirty and dark yellow, we put our shirts over top for protection. The filthy curtain liners were stained all over . The old clock radio was covered in dirt and paint finger marks. So wrecked, it couldn't be set to the proper time, and the alarm and radio did not work at all . There was no phone in our room . The furniture was chipped, cracked, scratched, and probably picked up from another hotels discard . Our inside window sill was covered with heavy construction dirt . The bathtub tap dripped steady all night, it couldn't be shut off . The acrylic tub surfaces were badly worn off in patches, with a ten inch crack completely thru' the tub to the floor underneath . Outside, the doors and frames were chipped and covered with heavy rust . Rust was on almost every piece of metal around the building. Most concrete walls and doorways were badly crumbling. The open hallway concrete floors were very rough and badly chipped, or peeling off many layers of old paint . The stairwells were so dirty and coated in construction dirt . There was probably little janitorial care being done . We used the stairs because one of the two elevators was shut down by the state authorities, with an official notice on the elevator door, for not being serviced etc.. The restaurant was not in operation either . I wonder what was the problem with food serving ? The pool patio bar was closed and completely abandoned . The property around the building is entirely asphalted for parking . Our prisons may have better conditions .
Hardly anyone was staying at this five story building . I counted about 12 people, for 186 rooms !! Maybe because most of the rooms were not rented, and also some were tore apart inside, with no one working on them. There were four very shady rough guys hanging and pacing around the pool patio area, not really looking like relaxing vacationers, but staring at and "casing" the few hotel guests around. I was not at ease enjoying myself, worried about what these scarey dudes may get up to ? I wouldn’t stay here again for free, honest !
If you want to believe the few reviews that say this place is perfectly fine, please take my one suggestion, go see the rooms and property before you decide to stay and pay .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank CandD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#18 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Beach Club Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#61 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#10 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
2,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Seas
Southern Seas
#17 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauderdale By The Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderdale By The Sea Resort

Address: 4116 N Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-5423
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £91 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Resort Motor Hotel with popular guest room amenities; situated on a private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lauderdale By The Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale By The Sea Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Lauderdale Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing