We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but old & not maintained hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lauderdale By The Sea Resort
Ranked #97 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice location but old & not maintained hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Like others have said has great location by the buildings are very old & needs a lot of fixing up. Our friend had to change rooms 3 times, broken toilet, broken balcony door. We changed once, our air didn't work. My daughters room had no towels and a dead roach. The breakfast was poor...the beach was nice though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    24
    29
    86
See reviews for
42
49
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

This hotel is reasonably priced but needs work on the website and in the rooms..you need to verify the type of room you want ahead of time and in which building as there is an additional charge for both a single bed and in another building which is right on the water. We had a difficult stay but the manager took our email and responded very quickly with a gracious offer to come back at their expense for a night! While things need improving i'd return just for the customer service aspect!!! We would return knowing the things we know now!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightnurseFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Bad experience,old building,no ice machine working,no towels,the door of the balcony was locked.The water was yellow. Just stay away or just dont sleep well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

I would have given a review rating of a negative value if possible. I had read the reviews on this hotel and knew it was not rated well but my daughter and I wanted to stay in a specific location and on the beach. The price wasn't bad ($84) a night for being on the beach and during Spring break HOWEVER fees and taxes added another $27 a night to the bill. The staff would NOT give me an itemized bill after several requests and my credit card was charged the first night for the entire stay. There were holes in the walls, the maids would not give us towels (they didn't have any-I had to buy bath towels), a plastic cup had been placed in a hole in the wall as a door stopper, the baseboard was pulling away from the wall, a light fixture was hanging by one wire in the hallway, stains on the carpet and bedspread, only one elevator worked and was extremely slow. If we had not arrived at 1:30am and I had the opportunity to look for other accommodations I would have moved to a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahouston421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

Please choose another hotel if you do not want to live in a totally disgusting hotel.
I had to change rooms 5 times before I got a room that went to sleep in and then the bathtub half filled with a green mess that smelled of chlorine.
After I complained to management, I got another room at one of their at the Hotel who was also very poorly maintained but had a fantastic beachfront location.
The complainant paid off this time so they try anyway.
/ / Stefan

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Travelled over US for twenty years. More than a hundred hotels, these is the worse. No room service, no towels change. Dirty as hell. Elevator doesn't work. Room door does't look. Run away!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Hallways are uneven concrete, only 1 elevator worked, "oceanview" only from 4th and 5th floors and across the street, moldy walls, wet carpet, duct tape on carpet edges, restaurant and bar closed, just plain nasty for $119 per night. Good location to shops and pier and restaurants.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Club Hotel
Ocean Beach Club Hotel
#73 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#16 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
#20 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#52 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#6 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauderdale By The Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauderdale By The Sea Resort

Property: Lauderdale By The Sea Resort
Address: 4116 N Ocean Dr, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-5423
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Resort Motor Hotel with popular guest room amenities; situated on a private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lauderdale By The Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lauderdale By The Sea Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Lauderdale Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing