We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hell on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #118 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Bracknell, Berks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hell on Earth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2009

1 out of 5 is being VERY generous. The lift was what you would expect from a 3rd world-country. The orange juice at breakfast was delicious, but that is the only good thing about it. You had to hold down your polystyrene cup and cereal bowl to prevent the wind blowing it down the boulevard. The room was allegedly non-smoking, but stank of smoke as soon as we walked in. The carpets were sticky, and had various iron scorch marks on them. There were also teenagers outside making lots of noise until 3am - Not what you need on a holiday. Basic accomodation is understatement.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    76
    85
    161
See reviews for
96
115
56
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2009

One of the worst I have ever experienced. Where to start? The room was terrible, we could have checked out immediately, but it was too late in the night and we weren't sure of other options.

Our first shock came when I went to the bathroom and tried to flush, and...u guessed it, it didn't work. At least the water didn't overflow, so we called up the front desk and they said we have to wait until morning.

Okay, we hardly slept that night, with all that stench, urine smell, and don't even dare to touch that TV or the refrigerator, everything sticks and stinks.


Please, avoid this at any cost. I used to like Travelodge franchises before, but now, I avoid it, period!.

  • Disliked — CLEANLINESS, SMELL
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank klalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2007

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we were appalled at the conditions of the room. The room had a strong odor of carpet deodorizer that gave me a headache. The sink in the bathroom was cracked and there was mold all over the shower walls. My son went into the bathroom in the middle of the night and saw the hugest cockroach ever in the sink.
The sheets had stains on them so we slept on top of the blankets and all of the furniture was ancient. The pool was old and looked dirty.
We plan on writing a letter to the corporate office to inform them of the horrible conditions. The only good part about this hotel was when we checked out!
I would not recommend this hotel to a homeless person.

PS. If you ride on the elevator, you take your life in your hands as part of the floor is completely rotted through.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tymas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, NC 27520
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

Because of the many bad reviews we went to the hotel to check and see just how bad it was. We were greeted with very good hospitality by Nadine at the desk and asked to see a a room with a fridge. (diabetic)
We were given the keys to room 3003 and opened the door to one of the nicest rooms we have stayed in at regular motels.
NEW carpet, NEW A/C with temp. control for room temp. Freshly painted walls, NEW clean bed clothes on king size bed. All furniture looked new. The vanity area had granite counter tops.
There was a new microwave and new small fridge in the room.
Nice large T/V with cable connection.
We plan to stay there again for our next cruise and look forward to the next trip.
Do not beleive every thing that others say in comments about this hotel.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank aplay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

Ended up there. After they had shut down the roads in Fort Lauredale and we had no access to the city.
The receptionist asked whether we needed a double bed or two twins (I assume by his question that he did indeed have king beds rooms vacant). We said that we needed a double bed. He saw two men and he said that they had none. Ignorance and homophobic behaviour is a shame for America.
Room smelt of curry!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kyrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2007

My buddy and I were looking to find a cheap place to stay and this worked out fine. Now if it were for myself and fiance, then probably would go somewhere else. Never felt like I was in danger, but have definitely stayed in better places. FYI, if you are flying in and staying for a few days, I would rent a car. This place is far enough from airport and beach to warrent.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReisK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2006

worst hotel i have EVER stayed in by far! and thats saying something!
do not stay in this dump whatever u do. funnily enough, the hotel right next door to this one which is just set back from the road is cheeper and much much better!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
Clarion Inn Fort Lauderdale
#91 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland Park
Ramada Fort Lauderdale Oakland P...
#63 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
3.8 mi away
Universal Palms Hotel
Universal Palms Hotel
#81 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#74 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tamarac East
La Quinta Inn Ft. Lauderdale Tam...
#108 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bali Hai Motel
Bali Hai Motel
#95 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Fort Lauderdale

Property: Travelodge Fort Lauderdale
Address: 1251 E Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Fort Lauderdale 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Ft. Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Travel Lodge
Fort Lauderdale Travelodge
Travel Lodge Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing