We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay but avoid the buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay but avoid the buffet”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The beds were comfortable but the pillows were lumpy. There was a weird squeaking sound that kept me awake. It turned out to be fridge so I unplugged it. Nice sleep after that.
Went for breakfast and since no menus were offered and none were on the table I figured the only choice was the buffet. The buffet was nicely presented but the food was gross. The eggs were a gigantic glob that you had to carve off what you wanted, the bacon was cold and like cardboard, only fat free yogurt, the butter was hard as a rock etc. You get the picture. I expected a little more from Holiday Inn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justTh3Facts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Mike F,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with others. Although I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay; I am sorry to hear of your unpleasant experience during breakfast. Our complimentary hot buffet breakfast is a Holiday Inn Express standard and only quality food items are provided for our registered guests to enjoy. I welcome an opportunity to discuss your concerns with you further. We value you as a guest in our hotel and your comments are taken seriously. I assure you steps will be taken to ensure no other guest experience the same in regards to the breakfast buffet. I hope to hear from you soon.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    309
    128
    39
    24
See reviews for
222
356
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jackson, ms
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We loved our stay here before our cruise! Very convenient to restaurants and water way taxi. The staff was very excellent and accommodating. The rooms were clean and updated and the breakfast was very good with many choices.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimibj8g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
mimibj8g,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience with others. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, breakfast and staff service. We strive daily to provide all guests with a "home away from home" experience. The Holiday Inn Express is a great location for all travelers. We are just minutes from the cruise port, convention center and the beach! The Fort Lauderdale airport is 3.5 miles from the hotel and our shuttle will pickup up our guests and drop them off... no charge. We value you as a past guest. Please know that your comments are very important to us. Again, thank you and we hope to have your back with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We were looking for a nice hotel close to the cruise port that we could stay at without any need for a car. This hotel was perfect. Convenient free transportation from the airport (note: you need to call the hotel when you have your luggage to arrange pick up) and reasonably-priced hourly shuttle service to the port. There were several places to eat within a short walk of the hotel (we recommend the sushi place directly across the street). Tamara at the front desk was very friendly and went out of her way to really make us feel at home. I feel good about our choice to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Larry H,
Thank you for your kind words of compliment! I will be sure and share the good news with Tamara and the rest of the Team. They all strive daily to provide our guests with a warm, clean and welcoming environment. It's nice to hear we were successful during your visit. We value you as our guests and your comments mean so very much to us. We hope to have you back with us real soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

lovely staff very helpful especially katianna.E
helps us find our way around the local area including recommending
all the best places to go for food and drink and booking taxis and transfers for us
thanks very much

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Jim M,
Thank you sharing your recent experience with others. I am happy to hear that our location worked well for you. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center is the best location for all travelers as we are just blocks from the Convention Center and Cruise Port. The airport is only 3.5 miles from the hotel. There are so many great restaurants nearby... all within walking distance; and we're less than 2 miles from the beach. I will be sure and share your kind words of compliment with the Team. They strive daily to provide all guests with excellent customer service which you expect and deserve while staying with us.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Third stay here & certainly didn't disappoint.
Rooms are large, quiet & staff are always very helpful.
Location is brilliant - many great restaurants, Walgreens, Publix, etc, all within very easy walking distance.
Locally Sun Trolley bus stops outside the door, & for a $1, takes you to the beach, or Galleria shopping centre.
Includes wonderful buffet breakfast.
Will def stay again :)

Room Tip: Any room we've had here has been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank snownsun1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Snownsun1234,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. It's so nice to hear that you were, once again, pleased with your accommodations. We value you as a repeat guest. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team. Hope to have you with us again soon!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We loved our stay here, the location is great. Close to the pier, close to the transit and walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the water taxi. They have a free airport shuttle and they arranged for us to have a shuttle from the hotel to the port of Miami. The shuttle was great and only $15.00 per person for a party of 13.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank scrappingmoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words of compliment. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will be sure and share the good news with the Team. We value you as a past guest and hope to have you back with us real soon!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore, Quebec
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

In view of an upcoming cruise, and never wanting to arrive on Departure Day with all the risks that this involves, we booked two nights at this hotel in order to start enjoying great weather and do a bit of shopping. We showed up at the Front Desk at about 11:30am, were told that rooms would be ready around 1pm, giving us time to go grab a salad & half-Panini at Carrabbas next door. We then went back to check in room assigned to us, top floor (neat!) 501, providing us with a great view of SE17th St. towards the bridge. One issue: the large window does not open ever slightly, leaving us with having to endure the noisy AC machine...believe you me, this contraption is not giving out white noise that can bring you to sleep...ah well...took our Ford Focus rental for day trips and came back to prepare ourselves for dinner. Indeed, we had noticed that there were three-course 19.99 gourmet meals offered at the Culinary School at the Art Institute just a stone's throw from HIE: just to get us into the mood for great meals during our upcoming cruise! But I digress...this hotel served us well. Clean and efficient, wide variety of breakfast foods, courteous staff eager to make our stay a pleasant one: we'd go back there, should a cruise out of Port Everglades were to happen again, and again, and...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Smartgrandpa,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. What a pleasure to hear that our location worked well for you. Our staff work hard to provide all guests with a warm, clean and inviting hotel. I will share your comment with the Team! Please accept my sincere apology for the noise you may have experienced in your room from the a/c unit. This will also be shared and action steps will be taken to improve this situation. We hope to have you back with us real soon!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing