We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We have returned to Holiday Inn Express Cruise Port Several Times.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We have returned to Holiday Inn Express Cruise Port Several Times.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

When we take a cruise from Fort Lauderdale, we have found that the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center/ Cruise Port fits our needs. The location is very close to the cruise port. We take a cab, although you can also sign up for their paid shuttle to the port. The place is basic, no pool, but well maintained and in easy walking distance to restaurants and stores. The free airport shuttle and free internet are most appreciated. The best feature is the excellent free breakfast under the supervision of Ms. Margaret Mack. She keeps the breakfast room well stocked and clean. We always appreciate the fine work she does and it's another reason for us to patronize this hotel. This time we stayed one night pre and post cruise.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their view blocked by a building, although we don't mind. We're there for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hillsideeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hillsideeast,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with others. It's so nice to hear that all went well during your stay and that our location worked well for you. I will be sure and share the good news with Margaret Mack and the rest of our Team! We strive daily to provide all guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve while staying with us.
As you've mentioned, the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center Cruise Port is conveniently located. We are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale International airport and blocks away from the entrance to the cruise port and convention center. The Fort Lauderdale beach is just over the bridge! I look forward to your next visit. Be sure and stop by the desk to say, "hello".
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    294
    122
    38
    22
See reviews for
211
345
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here overnight before boarding our ship. Very friendly staff. It is an older hotel, but refurbished and upgraded in general. Nice TV, good A/C. A little pricey but it is convenient. If we come to Ft. Lauderdale again, we'll probably stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Mooney1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team! They strive daily to provide all guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve while staying with us. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center is the perfect location for all travelers as we are 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and just blocks from the entrance of the Broward County convention Center and cruise port. Our rates are seasonal as most south Florida hotels are. I hope to have you visit us again soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Updated bed and bath, refrigerator and microwave, free breakfast, free wifi, lot of shopping/retail in walking distance

Room is dank/musty smelling,bed is not comfortable, poor pillow quality, no fan in bathroom, tv mounted but does not swivel, no comfortable seating in room, shuttle van does not display property name, fair breakfast, no pool

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
MK,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. While I am happy to read that you overall enjoyed your stay. I am concerned about the comment in regards to the condition of your room. Please note that this in not the norm. Our rooms are cleaned and inspected daily to ensure that our guests experience clean and fresh accommodations while staying with us. I welcome the opportunity to discuss these issues with you personally. We value you as a past guest and your comments are taken seriously. We absolutely want to improve in any area necessary and not allow future guests to experience anything less than excellent service and clean rooms. Our hotel shuttle van used for airport service does have our Holiday Inn Express Logo and the hotel name (Holiday Inn Express Conv. Center). I look forward to hearing from you as I would love to have you back with us soon!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed an night prior to the cruise. The price was expensive but expected over spring break. We called the hotel upon our arrival at the airport for a pick up with their free shuttle. We were picked up after about a 10-15 minute wait. Overall the hotel is clean and the staff is polite. Breakfast was good and had a few choices. My only feedback is the amount of waste that one goes through for the breakfast. I would hope that Holiday Inn would consider using reusable plates and cutlery to minimize the impact they have on the environment. I would stay here again prior to a cruise.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyoulikegravy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Missyoulikegravey83,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We absolutely value you as a past guest and your comments are important to us. We appreciate your kind words of compliment and I will be sure and share these with our Team! The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center/Cruise port hotel is the perfect location for all travelers. We are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and minutes from the cruise port and convention center. The beach is less than 2 miles from our beautiful hotel. I look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Mainland B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights early March. Was not aware of having to call hotel for pickup at airport. However after 15 min. wait I grabbed a cab. arrived at Hotel at 1:30pm and expected to wait but they booked me in almost immediately. Room had been remodeled and was very clean. Bed was comfortable and slept well. Breakfast was help yourself to a good selection of items and hot. Hotel is close to good restaurants and variety of shopping and grocery stores. My last day I asked for a hour later checkout and this was no problem. No pool or spa. Overall good experience and great staff.

Room Tip: I always request a quiet room away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pstcrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Pstcrik,
Thank you so much for your kind words of compliment. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team. They strive daily to provide all guests with the excellent service they expect and deserve while staying with us. We value you as a past guest and your comment is very important to us. We look forward to your next visit.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The staff are all lovely and upon check in very helpful!The room is a great size with a huge bed! Super comfy.
Free breakfast includes a range of things, I needed late check out and they were more than happy to help!
Would definitely stay again!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank MsKezzaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Kezzak25,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. We value you as a past guest and your comment is very important to us. Our Team strive daily to provide all guests with a warm, clean and fresh environment. It's nice to hear that we were successful during your stay. Our location is perfect for all travelers as we are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and minutes from the Cruise port entrance and convention center. We hope to have you back with us real soon!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights after a cruise. Location is close to the cruise port and to the airport as well. We tried to check in early and they couldn't do it but no big deal, we came back at about 2:30 pm and they got us in. Staff were very pleasent and went out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. The rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. Our room could have been a little cleaner as we found a few clothes tags on the floor but nothing to serious. We got a descent rate but it was after a cruise when hotels are a little less busy. Be aware they do not have a pool at this hotel, they do have a small workout room. I would stay here if I could get a good rate as there are other options in the near area.

Room Tip: Check rates here, the Renassaince, and the Embassy Suites as all of these are close to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albertafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Alberta family,
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. The Holiday Express SE 17th Street is the perfect location for all travelers as we are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and minutes from the entrance of Port Everglades and the Broward County Convention Center. The team here strive daily to provide all guests with the excellent service you expect and deserve. Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay. We value you as a past guest and assure you extra measures are being taken daily to ensure all rooms and common area are inspected properly and ready for guest arrivals. We hope to have you back with us soon!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#79 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#21 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing