We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Pre-Cruise Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #28 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Perfect Pre-Cruise Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent one night here prior to boarding a cruise ship, and thought it was a perfect place to stay given it's very close proximity to the port. The shuttle service was seemless, and while $7 per person may seem a little steep given how close you actually are, it was well worth the money. The hotel is very clean, modern, and the breakfast provided, while understandably crowded with other cruisers, filled the void and got us ready for the congested buffet lines we'd soon be experiencing on the cruise ship. We arrived after midnight, and had no problems at all checking in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay here again next time we cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellinDaveHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    298
    125
    38
    23
See reviews for
216
350
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Like most hotels in Fort Lauderdale this hotel is overpriced for what it is. This is because the hotels know exactly when the cruises depart and price accordingly.
Room was clean and reasonably well equipped. Bed linen was awful...cheap low thread count scratchy sheets and polyester pillows.
Breakfast in the morning okay. Pleasant staff. Free wifi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadwarrior1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Roadwarrior1000,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that you found our staff to be pleasant.

On the other hand, I am disappointed to read that your stay with us was not what you expected. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room condition particularly with the bed and we are truly regret that this has negatively affected your impression of our hotel.

Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama city
Level Contributor
564 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at the Express last year for one day and I liked the location so I stayed a week this time. Boy has the hotel received a whole new makeover. The new rooms are modern and sleek with so much storage. I would defiantly stay here over the old hilton any day. The breakfast was a nice hot breakfast with eggs, sausage, pancakes and sweet rolls. Even though the hotel was full we did not have any problems catching the elevator. The front desk help was wonderful and he helped us find a restaurant each night.There are plenty of things to do within walking distance and places to eat. There is a trolley out front until 6 PM. I would defiantly stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room next to the elevator and it was very quiet. I was suprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Travelwithmisty,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others.
We value you as a repeat guest and your comment is very important to us. I will be sure and share your words of compliment with our Team! We strive daily to provide all guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve during their stay. The Holiday Inn Express
Convention Center Hotel is the perfect location for all travelers. We are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and blocks from the entrance to the cruise port and convention center. We certainly hope to have you back with us soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night prior to a recent cruise. As others have mentioned, the front-desk staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we decided to go for a late lunch. The clerk provided us with some bottled water, restaurant suggestions and even a couple of free drink coupons. Upon check-in, we found our room to be quite spacious and clean - couldn't ask for more. There is a free breakfast buffet with the usual fare - cereal, Danish, eggs and toast. The breakfast room is not very large but we were there on a Monday morning and had no problem finding a table. I don't know how crowded it would have been on a weekend with several cruise ships in port. I didn't notice any outdoor seating which would have been nice.

No need to rent a car when staying here as there is shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We'd definitely look to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcicruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Rcicruiser,
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that all went well. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team! For future visits please note that located at the front of our hotel are 2 benches for guests to enjoy sitting outside. I am sorry to hear you did not see these. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center-Cruise port is the perfect location for all travelers as we are 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and blocks from the entrance to the cruise port and convention center. We look forward to your next visit.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The staff were very helpful -- all except one gal in the breakfast buffet one morning, room was clean, and location was perfect. Rooms are not very soundproof, and you can hear every conversation up and down the hallway. Breakfast buffet was perfect. There are many shopping and eating venues close by. Free shuttle service to the airport was nice and driver was very friendly and personable.

Room Tip: No pool or spa available -- it is a value hotel, not a resort. Room 401 has a great view of the cau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genevaraye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. I am pleased to hear that your view from your room was nice and that overall you enjoyed your stay. I am concerned, however, that not all staff members were friendly and welcoming. I will be sure and share your comment with our Team and I assure you action will be taken to ensure all guests receive exceptional service . We value you as a past guest and your comment is very important to us. I hope to have you back with us soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

When we take a cruise from Fort Lauderdale, we have found that the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center/ Cruise Port fits our needs. The location is very close to the cruise port. We take a cab, although you can also sign up for their paid shuttle to the port. The place is basic, no pool, but well maintained and in easy walking distance to restaurants and stores. The free airport shuttle and free internet are most appreciated. The best feature is the excellent free breakfast under the supervision of Ms. Margaret Mack. She keeps the breakfast room well stocked and clean. We always appreciate the fine work she does and it's another reason for us to patronize this hotel. This time we stayed one night pre and post cruise.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their view blocked by a building, although we don't mind. We're there for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hillsideeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hillsideeast,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay with others. It's so nice to hear that all went well during your stay and that our location worked well for you. I will be sure and share the good news with Margaret Mack and the rest of our Team! We strive daily to provide all guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve while staying with us.
As you've mentioned, the Holiday Inn Express Convention Center Cruise Port is conveniently located. We are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale International airport and blocks away from the entrance to the cruise port and convention center. The Fort Lauderdale beach is just over the bridge! I look forward to your next visit. Be sure and stop by the desk to say, "hello".
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here overnight before boarding our ship. Very friendly staff. It is an older hotel, but refurbished and upgraded in general. Nice TV, good A/C. A little pricey but it is convenient. If we come to Ft. Lauderdale again, we'll probably stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Mooney1,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. It is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team! They strive daily to provide all guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve while staying with us. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center is the perfect location for all travelers as we are 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and just blocks from the entrance of the Broward County convention Center and cruise port. Our rates are seasonal as most south Florida hotels are. I hope to have you visit us again soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#83 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing