We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #30 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another good visit”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel really needs to upgrade Internet. It is very poor when the hotel is busy.
Otherwise, it is convenient to the cruise port and the shuttle over works well. Same for shuttle from airport but it too can get busy with the arrivals. Lots of restaurants and grocery and pharmacy near by. Busy at breakfast, but it works.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aml_montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
aml_montreal (montreal)
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. We value you as a repeat guest and your comments are very important to us. Although I am pleased to hear that our location work well for you and that you were satisfied with your stay overall. I am concerned about the internet problem you experienced. Our internet service meet the IHG requirements and should have provided you with exceptional service during your stay. This is not the norm and I assure you action steps have been taken to confirm that all is well again with the Internet speed, etc. I certainly hope to have you back with us soon. Please feel free to contact me personally to assist you at gloria.williams@bellsouth.net
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    309
    128
    39
    24
See reviews for
222
356
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed one day after 8 day cruise to see Fort Lauderdale on Sunday 5/18/2014. The people at the front desk are wonderful and very helpful. We needed to get up early to catch 7:30 AM flight so I returned the rental car on Sunday night and the hotel pick me up at the airport and took us to the airport next morning for free. The recognized we are platinum member (unlike the Holiday Inn Express at Anaheim CA which did not care) and gave us an upgrade room. The room is very nice and it seems they painted recently. I like the shower-head which is the best one I ever had at the hotels. If we visited Fort Lauderdale again we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoangng53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hoangng53,
Thank you so much for your kind words of compliment. It is such a pleasure to hear that all went well during your recent stay. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team! We value all guests and certainly appreciate our IHG Rewards Club Platinum members choosing to stay with us. Our goal daily is to provide our guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve while staying at any of our IHG properties. We want to be your "home away home" location. We hope to have you back with us soon... be sure and stop by the front desk to say, "hello"!

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'll break the pros and cons for this property.

Pro:
-Front desk is excellent. We arrive early and the room wasn't ready yet. Shenise was kind enough to offer us breakfast as well as keeping our bags so we can go around town.
-The room was very clean and tidy
-The lobby is nice to seat and relax
-Booking transportation to the cruise port was easy.

Con:
-DO NOT and I repeat do not PREPAID your transportation from the cruise port to the airport through the hotel. The company that this hotel use is a rid off. Our flight was at 12:45 pm. We walk off the ship at 9:30. We waited for this stupid shuttle for 1.5 hour. They said it will show up every 10-20 minutes, but it never did come. We finally paid and hopped on another shuttle because we know we will miss our flight if we choose to wait around even more. We called this company 10 times among the 3 of us. A few times they end up hanging up on us.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for people who cruise out of Fort Lauderdale because it's very convenient. It's about 5-10 minute away from the hotel to the port.

Room Tip: Try the Italian across the street. The service is great and the food is VERY GOOD!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Scooobydoo8826,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying with us. It is such a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and staff service. I will be sure and share the good news with Shenise and the rest of the Team. I am concerned, however about the service you received from the shuttle service return trip to the airport. I am sure the management team at ACE Tour will agree to reimburse you and please allow me to apologize on their behalf. I ask that you contact me at 954-728-2577 and let's discuss your concerns in detail. In the meantime, I hope to have you back with us real soon. Please stop by the desk to say, "hello".
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We flew into Ft Lauderdale airport and were picked up by the hotel shuttle service in a timely manner. They stop at another Holiday Inn Express on the way to this one but it was a quick stop. Check-in was easy and front desk staff was friendly and provided the type room and location we requested. Wifi worked well and the free breakfast in the morning is always nice. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The location is great for walking to shopping and restaurants, which we did the evening of our arrival. Next morning we grabbed a shuttle to the cruise port. The cost is $10 per person, cash only and an outside company, not HIE. We paid in advance for them to pick us up when the cruise returned and shuttle us to the airport. It worked fine but being cash only and not Holiday Inn affiliated, it was a little risky. It would be really nice and improve the ratings, I'm sure, if HIE would offer shuttle to cruise port. Most of us would be willing to pay a nominal amount either in the cost of the room or specifically for the shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Grandfan13,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. It is so nice to hear that all went well during your stay. The shuttle service that transport guests from our hotel to the cruise port is reliable and trustworthy. They have accommodated our guests successfully for years. You also mentioned our location... I am happy we were conveniently located for your needs. We are the perfect location for all travelers. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center-Cruise port hotel is only 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and blocks from the cruise port and convention center. The beach is less than 2 miles away! I hope that you were able to enjoy a few of the many restaurants and shopping nearby... all within walking distance. I will be sure and share your kind words of compliment with our TEAM! Again, thank you and enjoy your day.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I enjoyed my time there. I had enough room. Didn't have anything to complain about. All I could say is positive. Great location also. Walking distance from too many places to name, and maybe 10 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Don C,
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share this good news with others. We value you as a past guest and your comment is very important to us. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center hotel is the perfect location for all travelers as we are surrounded by so many great restaurants and shops. The entrance to the cruise port and convention center is only blocks away. The Fort Lauderdale airport is just 3.5 miles from the hotel. We hope to have you back with us soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

While this is an older HI property, they have done a nice job updating / upgrading the furnishings, bedding, flooring, paint and bathrooms. Everything is fresh and clean, the modern furnishings very nice and the bathrooms are redone as well. The bed is comfy and there are many selections for pillows. You should sleep like a baby! The ceilings are still low (not a lot you can do about that!) and the hallways could use some ventilation, but overall a great improvement over a few years ago. It is a great place to stay before a cruise, Port Everglades is right around the corner, & they offer a shuttle to the pier for $8/pp. (You take a taxi it is about 1/2 that, something you may want to consider). They will hold your bags for you if you do not want to go to the pier at 11AM - a really nice feature!! The hotel is with in walking distance of tons of shops, including a total wine store and lots and lots of bars and restaurants. Everyone at the front desk was super friendly and I personally think you cannot go wrong staying at this facility and we will stay again next time without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Babsyaz,
Thank you for taking the time to share a comment in regards to your recent stay. We value you as a past guest with us and your comment is very is important to us. It is nice to hear that our location worked well for you and that you found our accommodations pleasing. I will be sure and share your good news with the Team! The Holiday Inn Express-Airport/cruise is the perfect location for all travelers. As you've mentioned, we are surrounded by so many great restaurants and shopping. The Fort Lauderdale airport is just 3.5 miles away and the entrance to the cruise port and convention center is only blocks away! I hope to have you back with soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I want to say a Big Thank You to all the staff at Ft Lauderdale convention center- cruise for making our stay memorable. We stayed there from 17-24 Apr 2014 for 7 nights, and I would like to say a Special thankyou to Tamara, Shenise and Amelia, for being really friendly and helpful at the Front desk, and the General Manager, Gloria for welcoming us.
The rooms were very clean and accomodatiing with a Great view.
The location was fantastic, very convenient as there were lots of shops and restaurants near to the hotel.
Just outside the hotel, you could hop on to the Sun Trolley for $ 1.00 to take you to the Beach and the shopping Mall.
The Breakfast Buffet was also great..........with friendly and efficient staff helping in the morning, especially Denise.
Natasha from housekeeping made sure our rooms were clean and we had plenty of towels for our family.
Would definately Recommend this hotel to any Family.
Hoping to visit again SOON.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panka68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Panka68,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. What a pleasure to hear such good news! We value you as a past guest in our hotel and your comment is so very important to us. I will be sure and share the good news with the Team! They strive daily to provide all guests with exceptional service. It is so nice to hear we were successful in our efforts during your visit. We look forward to having you back with us real soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#76 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,279 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#50 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing