We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel near the cruiseport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Ranked #29 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
boston,massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel near the cruiseport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is where I stay most of the time I'm in Fort Lauderdale as I like to location. One does not need to drive as there are plenty of shops with in walking distance, not to mention restaurants and a mall with a wine store and groceries for last minute items.

The prices for rooms here are reasonable and breakfast is included.

Room Tip: I prefer a room on the top floor if available but for a short stay it really makes no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
n1lrt,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying with us. We value you as a past guest and your comment is very important to us. It is nice to hear that all went well and that our location was perfect for you. We are surrounded by so many nice restaurants and shops... all within walking distance. We are a great location for all travelers especially pre/post cruisers. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team. They strive daily to provide our guests with the exceptional service you expect and deserve while visiting our beautiful hotel.
Again, thank you and enjoy your week!
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    299
    125
    38
    23
See reviews for
217
350
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights pre-cruise. Front desk folks are great and very obliging. Location is perfect for pre-cruise shopping and easy access to a variety of restaurants. Lack of a pool didn't bother us since it was raining both days.
Room was fine as was breakfast, although the space was a little cramped.
They could really use a bigger shuttle bus. We got on OK at the airport but a few less fortunate guests got left behind and would probably have to wait half an hour or take a cab. Something bigger than a small van is needed for this purpose.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VitalSpark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
VitalSpark24,
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with others. It's nice to know that our location was convenient for you. We are a great location for all travelers. We are located just minutes from the cruise port and the convention center. The beach is less than 2 miles away and the Fort Lauderdale airport is 3.5 miles from the hotel. We value your business and hope to have you back with us soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Holiday Inn Express Conv Ctr/Cruise Port was great, centrally located, could walk to a multitude of restaurants. Shuttle was convenient to airport. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful !!! Room was clean and set up nicely.
Downsides--no pool and laundry was offsite. The hotel shuttle will not take you to the cruise ships....cheaper to rent a taxi -flat $10 versus $8 per person on suggested shuttle service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Sharon C,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with others. It's nice to know that all went well during your visit. We value you as a past guest and your comment means a lot to us. We hope to have pool facilities in the near future to make our guests' stay even better! The team strive daily to provide all guests with the excellent service they expect and deserve while stay with us. Our location is great for all travelers as we are just 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and minutes from the beach! The convention center and cruise port as just blocks away.
We hope to have you back with us real soon.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel really needs to upgrade Internet. It is very poor when the hotel is busy.
Otherwise, it is convenient to the cruise port and the shuttle over works well. Same for shuttle from airport but it too can get busy with the arrivals. Lots of restaurants and grocery and pharmacy near by. Busy at breakfast, but it works.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aml_montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
aml_montreal (montreal)
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with others. We value you as a repeat guest and your comments are very important to us. Although I am pleased to hear that our location work well for you and that you were satisfied with your stay overall. I am concerned about the internet problem you experienced. Our internet service meet the IHG requirements and should have provided you with exceptional service during your stay. This is not the norm and I assure you action steps have been taken to confirm that all is well again with the Internet speed, etc. I certainly hope to have you back with us soon. Please feel free to contact me personally to assist you at gloria.williams@bellsouth.net
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed one day after 8 day cruise to see Fort Lauderdale on Sunday 5/18/2014. The people at the front desk are wonderful and very helpful. We needed to get up early to catch 7:30 AM flight so I returned the rental car on Sunday night and the hotel pick me up at the airport and took us to the airport next morning for free. The recognized we are platinum member (unlike the Holiday Inn Express at Anaheim CA which did not care) and gave us an upgrade room. The room is very nice and it seems they painted recently. I like the shower-head which is the best one I ever had at the hotels. If we visited Fort Lauderdale again we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoangng53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Hoangng53,
Thank you so much for your kind words of compliment. It is such a pleasure to hear that all went well during your recent stay. I will be sure and share the good news with our Team! We value all guests and certainly appreciate our IHG Rewards Club Platinum members choosing to stay with us. Our goal daily is to provide our guests with the exceptional service they expect and deserve while staying at any of our IHG properties. We want to be your "home away home" location. We hope to have you back with us soon... be sure and stop by the front desk to say, "hello"!

Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'll break the pros and cons for this property.

Pro:
-Front desk is excellent. We arrive early and the room wasn't ready yet. Shenise was kind enough to offer us breakfast as well as keeping our bags so we can go around town.
-The room was very clean and tidy
-The lobby is nice to seat and relax
-Booking transportation to the cruise port was easy.

Con:
-DO NOT and I repeat do not PREPAID your transportation from the cruise port to the airport through the hotel. The company that this hotel use is a rid off. Our flight was at 12:45 pm. We walk off the ship at 9:30. We waited for this stupid shuttle for 1.5 hour. They said it will show up every 10-20 minutes, but it never did come. We finally paid and hopped on another shuttle because we know we will miss our flight if we choose to wait around even more. We called this company 10 times among the 3 of us. A few times they end up hanging up on us.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for people who cruise out of Fort Lauderdale because it's very convenient. It's about 5-10 minute away from the hotel to the port.

Room Tip: Try the Italian across the street. The service is great and the food is VERY GOOD!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Scooobydoo8826,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying with us. It is such a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and staff service. I will be sure and share the good news with Shenise and the rest of the Team. I am concerned, however about the service you received from the shuttle service return trip to the airport. I am sure the management team at ACE Tour will agree to reimburse you and please allow me to apologize on their behalf. I ask that you contact me at 954-728-2577 and let's discuss your concerns in detail. In the meantime, I hope to have you back with us real soon. Please stop by the desk to say, "hello".
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We flew into Ft Lauderdale airport and were picked up by the hotel shuttle service in a timely manner. They stop at another Holiday Inn Express on the way to this one but it was a quick stop. Check-in was easy and front desk staff was friendly and provided the type room and location we requested. Wifi worked well and the free breakfast in the morning is always nice. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The location is great for walking to shopping and restaurants, which we did the evening of our arrival. Next morning we grabbed a shuttle to the cruise port. The cost is $10 per person, cash only and an outside company, not HIE. We paid in advance for them to pick us up when the cruise returned and shuttle us to the airport. It worked fine but being cash only and not Holiday Inn affiliated, it was a little risky. It would be really nice and improve the ratings, I'm sure, if HIE would offer shuttle to cruise port. Most of us would be willing to pay a nominal amount either in the cost of the room or specifically for the shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressCC17, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Grandfan13,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience with others. It is so nice to hear that all went well during your stay. The shuttle service that transport guests from our hotel to the cruise port is reliable and trustworthy. They have accommodated our guests successfully for years. You also mentioned our location... I am happy we were conveniently located for your needs. We are the perfect location for all travelers. The Holiday Inn Express Convention Center-Cruise port hotel is only 3.5 miles from the Fort Lauderdale airport and blocks from the cruise port and convention center. The beach is less than 2 miles away! I hope that you were able to enjoy a few of the many restaurants and shopping nearby... all within walking distance. I will be sure and share your kind words of compliment with our TEAM! Again, thank you and enjoy your day.
Warmest regards,
Gloria Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#31 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ft. Lauderdale - Convention Center - Cruise Port
Extended Stay America - Ft. Laud...
#85 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#22 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th ...
#13 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port Inn
Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise...
#49 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport
Address: 1500 SE 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#22 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#26 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale hotel, an unsurpassed option among hotels near the Broward County Convention Center, Port Everglades and the Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport. We are located in the heart of it all and offer a 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle. We are located one block from the north entrance of Port Everglades. Dozens of great restaurants are within walking distance. Our premiere location is also just 2 blks. From the Broward County Convention Center and adjacent to two large shopping centers. For only $1.75 Per person, any guest may catch the bus to Fort Lauderdale Beach or to the Galleria Mall right from the front of our hotel! Enjoy a tour of the Venice of America on the Water Taxi. We are a 3 minute walk to the nearest stop. We are the closest Holiday Inn to the Las Olas Riverfront & Shops at Las Olas. Our beautifully appointed guest rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. Each room is equipped with the comforts of home-- in-room coffeemaker, hairdryer, refrigerator, microwave, iron/ironing board, 32'' remote controlled cable TV (70 channels with HBO), and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a unique hot buffet breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning in our lobby from 6:30am-9:30am weekday and 6:30am-10:00am weekends. We feature a great selection of fruit, juices, cereals, bagels, muffins, omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, yogurt, fluffy biscuits and hot pancakes. Relax in comfort in our 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Cruise-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center-Cruise Hotel
Holiday Inn Ft Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing