We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Really appreciated the location and amenities of this hotel for our pre-cruise stay. They had free airport to hotel transfers (they were waiting for us outside the terminal) and continental breakfast. They are within walking distance of all kinds of restaurants - from the fancy to the basic. The shopping center nearby also has a grocery store, a wine/beverage store, a hardware store, gift stores, a massage location (which I was thankful for - got me in that night and WAY less expensive than the cruiseship!) and live music. Sign up for a shuttle to the cruise terminal when you check in the day before. Depending upon how you booked your stay, it is either included in the price or $6 per person. The rooms are all mini-suites with plenty of room and huge flatscreens, computer hookup and desk, etc. There is a fitness center, pool and business center all on the lobby floor. The computers were a bit slow, but nice to have the option if you did not bring your own. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upper floors with a view of the cruiseport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Last minute reservation holiday weekend. Hotel met all my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The room decor is just fine. What one would expect for hyatt. The breakfast is ok, but gets
pretty crowded quick. During our second stay, we got a 6th floor room. The corridor was
not ventilated and had a musty smell. The room too was musty and the A/C was run at
low. For FL climate, the humidity and mold are killers. This combo kicked up my allergies
and i caught a cold. What would it cost to ventilate the corridors. Something the hotel
management needs to think about. I stand by the proud claim of Windsor/Wyndham that
they boast of clean air, since they ventillate the corridors too.
I got the room through priceline and is definitely not worth the retail prices hyatt charges for the room.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the room before getting into one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kumarkrishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I've stayed at many other Hyatt Place properties, and have to be honest, this one just isn't the same. I gave it a poor as compared to other Hyatt Places, but would be average against other hotels. I get the feeling this is a remodeled hotel, originally something else but now a Hyatt. the room layout is the same as other Hyatt Place's, but the furniture seemed worn, the rooms not as new or clean, and had a slight musty smell. Elevators had grafitti etched into the steel doors, a first for me at any Hyatt Place. I think the front desk help was very good, and was customer oriented. Wifi was horrible. I even suggested to the front desk manager how slow it was and to perhaps reboot the router. They said they did but still at a snail's pace. This was disappointing. Bathroom handle on toilet is broke, will not return to original position after flushing when we arrived, so you manually have to push it up. You think they would of noticed this when they were cleaning the room prior to our arrival. Physical location of property is great. Close to the beach area, close to cruise port, and close to US 1. Several restaurants(our favorite was Outback Steakhouse) within walking distance.

So, not a terrible hotel, but not up to par with other Hyatt Place's if that is what you are expecting...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

One night stay before our cruise and the location and amenities that this hotel offered were more than what we needed. Upon arriving at Ft. Lauderdale airport, we contacted the hotel front desk to arrange for complimentary shuttle pick-up. The pick up took longer than estimated due to the flood of cruise ship passengers waiting to be shuttled to the port. We weren't able to check in early so left our bags in their multiple storage areas.

Location is excellent for a stay before a cruise. Conveniently located between the airport and the cruise ship terminal. Within walking distance Harbor Shops which has several stores, restaurants and a Publix supermarket. We were able to pick up drinks and water for our cruise which proved to be a wise choice since bottled water is very expensive to purchase once on board. Hotel offered free wifi, computer terminals with printing, and self serve breakfast. Breakfast had a good selection of morning pastries, cereals, toast, jams and drinks. There was an outdoor pool which we didn't use but appeared to be well maintained and not heavily utilized. The rooms itself were spacious and tastefully decorated - simple taupe, yellow and greenish hues. Full sized couch in a living room like area. Room isn't a suite, but sure has the space that looks like a suite. Bar sink, mini fridge, desk and chair. No microwave though. Flat screen tv mounted on the wall above a wall unit which served as storage/decorative. Sink and counter is separated from the bathroom. All public and private spaces were clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and professional. Check in was a breeze.

We paid for the shuttle ($6 ea) for the short ride to the cruise port, however, I think the taxi is equally the same price for a party of two and definitely a better deal if your party consists of three or more.

Would consider staying here again before a cruise.

Room Tip: Call ahead to arrange for airport shuttle pickup. Otherwise taxi is about $12-15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frugalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

There's plenty to like about this hotel, though there are several pluses and minuses for people to consider. Like many other reviewers, we booked here for a pre-cruise stay (2 nights before boarding a cruise). The free airport shuttle was a great benefit, though it took a while (close to 30 minutes after calling the hotel) late in the evening. The room layout and extra sitting area (with sofa bed) is great for a family of five (it can be hard to fit into the standard hotel room when you have three or more children, as most rooms are made for only four people).

The complimentary breakfast was plentiful. While they did run out a few items and it took more than a few minutes to get some items replenished, the staff did a good job of trying to keep everything in order during a busy weekend morning. As others have mentioned, many breakfast items (fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, breads/bagels, juice, coffee/tea, etc.) are included in the complimentary breakfast, though it should be noted that some hot breakfast items (such as eggs) are available for an extra charge.

The location is generally convenient for a brief stay, but people should know that it's not directly on a main street (it's kind of hidden on some side streets) or primary attraction area. It's an easy walk to a few restaurants and shops, if you're looking for a meal or a few last minute items before boarding a cruise.

The only issues we had were relatively minor, but should be mentioned. The fitness center has only a few machines (two treadmills and a bike) and one of the machines was a bit spotty at times. The other (bigger) issue was the general musty, cleansing odor in our hallway and room. I think that they recently cleaned the carpets (a good thing), but the room had a distinct musty smell of cleaning supplies for the two days we stayed there. The staff was apologetic, but couldn't do much to resolve the problem. The biggest problem was the internet connection which is very slow and frequently drops. The staff appears to be aware of the issue (when I spoke with them, it was obvious that many other people had already complained), but it's unclear if anything is being done (and this is a common problem noted by many other reviewers).

In general, the staff was very friendly and responsive for most basic needs. They were very helpful in handling a last-minute, unexpected business need and even faxed a document without any charge. Overall, this Hyatt Place is a very sound (though not spectacular) choice and a reasonably good value for a brief stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTripHelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel following a cruise. The hotel does not provide transportation from the port (a minus) so the taxi was $10. We arrived in the morning and were very pleased that the hotel already had a room for us. Our room was clean, nicely equipped and was spacious with a sitting room and bedroom combination. Check in can be done at a kiosk, but when we had a problem, the check in desk was helpful. The breakfast was very nice, with a buffet and numerous options. We were given transportation to the airport and it left promptly. Our only complaint about that was the hotel would not accept reservations until a certain time (I believe 5:00pm the night before). This was a bit annoying as we had to get a reservation on the first run to catch our flight, and thus felt we had to hang around the hotel for the time to make sure we were able to sign up.

There is a strip mall very close where we were able to buy groceries and catch the tourist bus ($1) to the beach. We booked a $70 total rate through a discount website but did not feel we were treated any differently from any other booking. We also got a $20 rebate from a coupon with the booking site, so this was a great value. We would stay again and would stay at other locations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#38 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#24 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina
#43 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,933 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Marina
#56 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Address: 1851 SE 10th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: £121 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing