We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but lots of issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Palmetto, FL
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice room but lots of issues”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

First of for the positive - got this room on a good deal through priceline. Only there for one night and the location was very convenient. Check in was easy and the room is nice and newly renovated....now for the bad....around 6am the banging began and didn't stop. It was so loud and annoying. We asked for a wake up call (not like we needed it with all the banging) ...never got the wake up call. Maid came in our room around 9 without even knocking. The a/c turned off around 9 as well and would not go back on so the room got very warm. When we checked in - the room was set at 86! Checked out and was never asked how the stay was ..probably b/c they knew it was not good. I would stay away from this place until all the renovation is completed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Greetings! Thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel takes pride in ensuring each guest has a great stay. Our apologies for these inconvienances you experienced in regards to the wake up call, noise from construction, etc. Our renovation will be complete September 15, 2012. We do have a time frame for any noise to be prohibited within those time frames and again apologize should that have not been the case they did not follow. All your comments are appreciated and were brought up to the attention of the hotel staff and management. Thank you again, and we do hope to see you again in the near future to give us another chance. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    448
    153
    69
    35
See reviews for
390
432
75
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We are in FLL often since our son is attending UMiami. This is our favorite hotel near the airport. The room is more suite like than a typical hotel room. Their breakfast is a lot more extensive than the usual continental breakfast. There is a supermarket 5 minutes walk away which is great if you forgot something.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you so very much for you great review of our hotel. We strive to ensure every guest has an exceptional stay, and provide to provide "service so memorable" our guests will then tell stories about us...we do hope to see you again realy soon. Thank you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Airport shuttle arrived quickly after we called and check-in was smooth. Our room was extremely roomy and clean. We walked across the street to the small shopping mall and hit Outback across the parking lot for supper. Picked up the next morning by QLS and off to Miami we went. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cec311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUDRA D, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful repsonse. We are definatley in a great location for an overnight cruise stay...please tell all your friends about us! We hope to see you again soon...Thank you and have a great rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the front and back end of our trip to Grand Bahama Island. This hotel is close to the port everglades cruise terminal and the shops and restaurants to eat and pick up last minute items before you board your ship.

The rooms are being renovated, but we did not have any issues since we were there on Friday and Saturday respectively.

We were taking the Baleria Fast ferry to the Bahamas and the Cruise shuttle they contract out too does not run that early, so we took they hotel shuttle to the convention center which is across the street from the ferry terminal.

Overall we will stay here in the future when we come to Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggieguy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments. We are very excited and pleased that you had a great experience in your stay at our hotel. We do hope that you will come back and see us in the near future...Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KCJF529
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I needed a last minute hotel and this was the place to be. The room was a great size and service was impeccable. They even allowed us to stay past check in for no extra charge. Continental breakfast was included and my stay was well worth my money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCJF529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments. It is nice to know that our guests were taken care and will come back to see us in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The next day of our stay, the room went into remodeling, all around our room looked like scorched earth left. The dirty hallways, rooms turned around, strong odors of paint ... In addition we left two jackets after our check out which finally appeared four days later when my complaints were continuous.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveborguetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Greetings! My sincere apologies to you for the stay you experienced at our hotel. We are undergoing renovations as stated on our website. We are pleased to know that you did receive your items back safely. Our goal is to provide excellent customer service, and we do hope that our guests return in the near future. We do hope that we will have another opportunity to host you once we are completely renovated so you are truly able to experience the hotel and features. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is our second stay here. The location is great, we could see the port from our room. The hotel offers a free airport shuttle, free wifi throughout the hotel, and free hot breakfast. It also offers a shuttle for the cruise for just a few dollars. It is only a $10 cab ride to the port, but cabs can be difficult to get--they are always very busy on Saturday & Sunday mornings.
The rooms are suites--ours had a King bed plus a sitting area with a pullout sofa.
We like the proximity to a small shopping center with a sportsbar, grocery store & liquor store--perfect for those last minute cruise purchase.There are also several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback ~ we truly appreciate your time in letting us know of your experience. These comments are taken very seriously to continue to improve on the service and satisfaction for each and every guest...again, thank you. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Lauderdale 17th Street
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort La...
#40 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six
#43 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,822 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Cruise Port Hotel
Renaissance Fort Lauderdale Crui...
#32 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center

Property: Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center
Address: 1851 SE 10th Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#23 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#24 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center ~ great location, conviently located 2 miles from the beach, 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades Cruise Port. In addition, we are less than 1 mile from the Ft. Lauderdale Convention Center. We offer a complimentary shuttle to the Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, a complimentay upgraded "hot AM Skillet" breakfast buffet, and 24 hour food cooked to order food options, or grab and go. We are within walking distance to Harbor Shops, Mezzaluna, and Outback to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale 17th Street Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Ft. Lauderdale Airport - North Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Place Fort Lauderdale
Hyatt Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing